Genre: Fiction

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Posted August 1, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780553418354
Gone Girl by Gillian FlynnGone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Published by Broadway Books on August 26th 2014
Genres: Fiction, General, Media Tie-In, Mystery & Detective, Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 560
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The #1 New York Times BestsellerOn a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne's fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick's clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn't doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife's head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy's fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he's definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

why I read this book

I am probably the last blogger to read this, but reports of mindfuckery were hard to ignore. I love me a book that leaves you feeling like you are on an emotional roller coaster.

my review

 

OMG!! That was my exact thought when I read this book. At first I was like, OK where does it get good? I am impatient when it comes to books. I KNOW you have to have world building and a backdrop but most times it seems as if it drags on. This book wasn’t like that. Not exactly. If I had read it without having any expectations, this would have been a top read of the year. As it was, I was impatient to get to the mind-fuckery part. Maybe I should stop reading reviews before I read the book. That’s an idea for another post.

The plot was fantastic. This is one of that rare book where I did not have found any plot holes. Well at first I thought so but later in the book it turned out it was a plot DEVICE. This book was as near perfect as one can get on this side of eternity. After the mind fuckery part, I was glued to my recliner reading into the wee hours of the morning. I could not put this book down.

I at first thought that Nick for sure had killed his wife and tried to cover it up. I was reading Amy’s Dairy and was like this is a story of a remorseless killer. Then I got to part two and was like OMFG!!  At first I felt sorry for Nick but the more I read, the more I came to admire Amy’s brilliance. I mean, I have been cheated on and broken up with after I had shown my true colors. I got where she was coming from COMPLETLY. At first I was bothered by what she did then I was all like. THAT WOMAN IS BRILLIANT! She deserves an award. And am I the only one that thought she painted herself into a corner in the last part of the book. I mean the story she came up with and the way she got away with murder. It was just breathtaking.

I LOVED this book. Even though the characters are jerks, I found that I could relate to them. Maybe that makes me a bitch also?

loved-it

 

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review:The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom

Posted June 5, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781401308582
Review:The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch AlbomThe Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom
Published by Pearson Education on 2012
Genres: Fiction, General
Pages: 93
Format: hardcover
Source: own
Goodreads
five-stars

Eddie is a wounded war veteran, an old man who has lived, in his mind, an uninspired life. His job is fixing rides at a seaside amusement park. On his 83rd birthday, a tragic accident kills him as he tries to save a little girl from a falling cart. He awakes in the afterlife, where he learns that heaven is not a destination, but an answer.

In heaven, five people explain your life to you. Some you knew, others may have been strangers. One by one, from childhood to soldier to old age, Eddie's five people revisit their connections to him on earth, illuminating the mysteries of his "meaningless" life, and revealing the haunting secret behind the eternal question: "Why was I here?"

 

 

my review

 

This was a reread for me. I first read this book when I was in Africa, and It made an impression on me. I was feeling kind of down a few weeks ago so I read it again. This is one of those books that no matter what kind of mood you are in, it will bring a smile to your face.

The plot is simple. A man dies, and he meets the five people that most had an impact on his life. However, it goes deeper than that. It will make you think of the people that had an impact on you and the impact that you have had on them. It is not always who-who believe it would be either. The part that I liked most is that even though he feels like he has wasted his life in the end he was excakly where he was supposed to be. He found out that he did have a big impact on people. Often we think that we lead small lives when in reality we are making an enormous impact. We should not fail to underestimate what we deem insignificant. This was a fast little book that you could read in a couple of hours, but its impact will be there long after you have finshed.

loved-it

 

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Prayers For The Stolen by Jennifer Clement

Posted March 15, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ISBN: 9780804138789
Book Review: Prayers For The Stolen by Jennifer ClementPrayers for the Stolen by Jennifer Clement
Published by Crown Publishing Group on February 11th 2014
Genres: Coming of Age, Fiction, Hispanic & Latino, Literary
Pages: 240
Format: ARC
Source: publisher
Goodreads
five-stars

A haunting story of love and survival that introduces an unforgettable literary heroine Ladydi Garcia Martínez is fierce, funny and smart. She was born into a world where being a girl is a dangerous thing. In the mountains of Guerrero, Mexico, women must fend for themselves, as their men have left to seek opportunities elsewhere. Here in the shadow of the drug war, bodies turn up on the outskirts of the village to be taken back to the earth by scorpions and snakes. School is held sporadically, when a volunteer can be coerced away from the big city for a semester. In Guerrero the drug lords are kings, and mothers disguise their daughters as sons, or when that fails they “make them ugly” – cropping their hair, blackening their teeth- anything to protect them from the rapacious grasp of the cartels. And when the black SUVs roll through town, Ladydi and her friends burrow into holes in their backyards like animals, tucked safely out of sight. While her mother waits in vain for her husband’s return, Ladydi and her friends dream of a future that holds more promise than mere survival, finding humor, solidarity and fun in the face of so much tragedy. When Ladydi is offered work as a nanny for a wealthy family in Acapulco, she seizes the chance, and finds her first taste of love with a young caretaker there. But when a local murder tied to the cartel implicates a friend, Ladydi’s future takes a dark turn. Despite the odds against her, this spirited heroine’s resilience and resolve bring hope to otherwise heartbreaking conditions. An illuminating and affecting portrait of women in rural Mexico, and a stunning exploration of the hidden consequences of an unjust war, PRAYERS FOR THE STOLEN is an unforgettable story of friendship, family, and determination.From the Hardcover edition.

why I read this bookI love heavy issue books. When I read the synopsis to this one I had to read

my review

This is not an easy book to read at times. Ladydi is just a kid in our eyes. A kid that knows way to much about the war. I have heard about the drug wars in Mexico but like most people did not know details of it. This book gives us a in-depth look at what the women actually go through. I had to keep telling myself that this is just a work of fiction. It still made me feel ALLL THE FEELINGS. I wanted to reach out and save Ladydi from her life.

This is like a panting of what life is like in a developing country. In it we see how people live in huts with dirt floors but have all the latest appliances. We see the contrast of life. We see how the government pretends to do something about the drug wars but in reality they are controlled by the drug bosses. We see the grinding poverty of a people trying hard to survive, where beauty is a recipe for disaster.

I couldn’t belive some of the things that I read. Hiding in a hole with scorpions to evade the drug mafia. If the drug mafia catches you, then you will become a sex slave. This story is about Ladydi so we do not see what happens when a girl is “stolen” but rather we get the info that Ladydi gets. At times I was frustrated cause I wanted to know exackly what happened but then again, it would have taken away from the story if it was included.

I was shocked at some of the things that the book talked about. Like when someone disappeared then there was nothing to be done. I felt a sense of injustice and rage and wanted to tell them that their lives mattered.

Many people think that one can just pull themselves out of poverty but reading this book I can see that is not always the case. Sometimes where and when we are born determines what kind of life we will have. This book showed that there is no easy answers when it comes to places like this. It also showed how bad life can be, that people will pay anything to get into the USA.

This book is a hard read, yes but it is also an important one. With people complaining about the influx od refugees this book may explain why people are so desperate to escape. I know some people lack the ability to have empathy for those less fortunate, but it is my hope that this book will bring the issue to light to all those that read it.

loved-it

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review:The Martian by Andy Weir

Posted March 5, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review:The Martian by Andy WeirThe Martian by Andy Weir
Published by Crown/Archetype on February 11th 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fiction, Hard Science Fiction, Science Fiction, Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 384
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Goodreads
five-stars

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first men to walk on the surface of Mars. Now, he's sure he'll be the first man to die there.

It started with the dust storm that holed his suit and nearly killed him, and that forced his crew to leave him behind, sure he was already dead. Now he's stranded millions of miles from the nearest human being, with no way to even signal Earth that he's alive--and even if he could get word out, his food would be gone years before a rescue mission could arrive. Chances are, though, he won't have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old "human error" are much more likely to get him first.

But Mark isn't ready to give up yet. Drawing on his ingenuity, his engineering skills--and a relentless, dogged refusal to quit--he steadfastly confronts one seemingly insurmountable obstacle after the next. But will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

why I read this bookI had heard good things about this book. Bloggers were raving about it and I can’t pass up a book that has that much hype surrounding. Plus I LOVE me a good sci-fi book.

 

 

my review

 

OMG!! I LOVED THIS BOOK SOOOOO MUCH!!! seriously y’ all I read this book in one sitting. The suspense kept me up until 6 am. I kept turning the pages and I was all like PLEASE don’t let Mark die! I loved his sense of humor. He has the same personality as me so I really connected with him.  The plot was believable. I could picture myself on Mars along with him I am not usually the kind of person to develop a crush on a fictional person but I absolutely fell in love with Mark. I found myself wishing that he was real so I could write to him or something.

I love sci-fi. I also love when said sci-fi follows the rules of physics and logic. I was really good at Science in school so I can usually tell if the author is just making shit up and disregarding rules. That is not to say if the author creates his OWN world, as long as there is some semblance of order I can accept it. This book made perfect sense. There were no plot holes or loopholes or anything like that.

As I said I loved it!! The dialogue was spot on. The characters were well developed.  The suspense was unbelievable. It kept me turning the pages. I couldn’t bear to stop I just HAD to know what was going to happen. I would recommend this book to everybody. In fact I have. I told everyone  i KNOW YOU must READ this book!

loved-it

 

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Sweetness #9 by Stephan Eirik Clark

Posted February 10, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

I received this book for free from netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ISBN: 9780316278751
Book Review: Sweetness #9 by Stephan Eirik ClarkSweetness #9 by Stephan Eirik Clark
Published by Little, Brown on August 19th 2014
Genres: Dystopian, Family Life, Fiction, Humorous, Literary, Satire
Pages: 352
Source: netgalley
Goodreads
five-stars

Fast Food Nation meets The Corrections in the brilliant literary debut T.C. Boyle calls "funny and moving."

David Leveraux is an Apprentice Flavor Chemist at one of the world's leading flavor production houses. While testing Sweetness #9, he notices that the artificial sweetener causes unsettling side-effects in laboratory rats and monkeys. But with his career and family at risk, David keeps his suspicions to himself.

Years later, Sweetness #9 is America's most popular sweetener--and David's family is changing. His wife is gaining weight, his daughter is depressed, and his son has stopped using verbs. Is Sweetness #9 to blame, along with David's failure to stop it? Or are these just symptoms of the American condition?

An exciting literary debut, SWEETNESS #9 is a darkly comic, wildly imaginative investigation of whether what we eat makes us who we are.

why I read this book

 

I was browsing on NetGalley and saw this book and loved the blurb so I requested it and was approved for it.

my review

 

I have to admit that the timing of this book is excellent. It seems the whole world is wanting grass-fed meat and is warning about the dangers of sweeteners. This book is a satire on this topic.

It starts out with two people working in an animal lab testing sweetness #9. David who is charge of the rats notices that they seem to be depressed and suicidal and stuff. He is fired after he points this out. He gets a job somewhere else and life goes on until his boss becomes sick and through a very twisting plot the truth about the sweetener comes out.

I know that the above does not seem like a lot but I don’t want to spoil the book for anyone who has not read it. The plot twist keeps on coming. You think you know where the book is going but then PLOT TWIST!. The end of the book where the whole truth comes out will leave you with your jaw on the floor.

This is a fictional work but while reading I kept thinking what if this is REAL? The world created in this book is just like our own expect for this sweetener. And to think that today we use sweetener in almost everything. Most of us don’t give a second thought to the potential effects of sweeteners so it would be easy to imagine the scenarios in this book happening.

I loved David in this book. I could really relate to him. He is a fully fleshed out character and I found myself rooting for him. I think a lot of people can relate to him trying to do the right thing even when there so much gray area. Sometimes in life it is not clear what the right thing is and this book reflects that.

I also loved that the book portrayed the marriage and the raising kids in a more realistic light. So often in books we get the sanitized version of life. This book shows all the gritty side and the messes that can come up.

The plot of the book required no suspending reality. Like I said what happens in this book is so close to our own world that one can IMAGINE the events taking place. This is the kind of book that I like best.

loved-it

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Revival

Posted December 18, 2014 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: RevivalRevival by Stephen King
Published by Hodder General Publishing Division on November 11th 2014
Genres: Fiction, Ghost, Horror, Literary, Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 384
Source: purchased
Goodreads
four-half-stars

A spectacularly dark and electrifying novel about addiction, religion, music and what might exist on the other side of life.In a small New England town, in the early 60s, a shadow falls over a small boy playing with his toy soldiers. Jamie Morton looks up to see a striking man, the new minister, Charles Jacobs. Soon they forge a deep bond, based on their fascination with simple experiments in electricity.Decades later, Jamie is living a nomadic lifestyle of bar-band rock and roll. Now an addict, he sees Jacobs again - a showman on stage, creating dazzling 'portraits in lightning' - and their meeting has profound consequences for both men. Their bond becomes a pact beyond even the Devil's devising, and Jamie discovers that revival has many meanings.This rich and disturbing novel spans five decades on its way to the most terrifying conclusion Stephen King has ever written. It's a masterpiece from King, in the great American tradition of Nathaniel Hawthorne and Edgar Allan Poe.

My Review 2

There was a lot of Hype leading up to this book. So much hype in fact, that I actually pre ordered. Everyone was saying that this would be King’s return to true horror and that I would get the tar scared out of me. I stayed up til midnight waiting for the book to download to my Nook and when it did I jumped right in.

It was a completely enthralling engrossing read. King only seems to get better with age. The only down side was it was not as scary as I thought it would be. Even at the end I was like huh? Where the horror at? hmmph this is NOT SCARY. How ever it was a damn good story. I am glad I bought it and will re read it.

Now my thoughts on the story. I was reading and the build up was good. There were a few times that I felt that the horror was starting. Jamie  and the Pastor was so fleshed out I felt as I knew them personally. I kinda feel in love with Jamie to tell you the truth. I had to keep reminding me that he was a fictional character. Even the semi love story was realistic and not that fake love crap you find in other books. After all life is not all happy endings.

The relationship between Jamie and the Pastor was OMG. King was BRILLIANT in creating a dynamic relationship between the two. You know how most books you can see what the author is TRYING to do but it just well.. it is good…but in the end you know it is just a figment of someone imagination. Not so in this book. It has EVERYTHING that a real relationship that seems to be joined by fate or hell would be.

King is even realistic in Jamie’s heroin addiction. I have never tried drugs myself but reading this I felt that I could grasp the hopelessness in which Jamie found himself before he was cured.

View Spoiler »

This book was so good that I wanted more. However the ending was sort of anti climatic. I felt that the horror was just building up then..THE END.

That was the ONLY fault I had with this book. Everything else was just perfect. Hers to hoping King writes many more books to come.

four-half-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Whiskey Tango FoxTrot

Posted November 8, 2014 by Hillary in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780316252638
Whiskey Tango FoxTrotWhiskey Tango Foxtrot by David Shafer
Published by Little, Brown on 2014-08-05
Genres: Espionage, Fiction, General, Humorous, Mashups, Political, Satire, Thrillers
Pages: 432
Format: eARC
Source: netgalley
Goodreads
five-stars

Three young adults grapple with the usual thirty-something problems--boredom, authenticity, an omnipotent online oligarchy--in David Shafer's darkly comic debut novel.The Committee, an international cabal of industrialists and media barons, is on the verge of privatizing all information. Dear Diary, an idealistic online Underground, stands in the way of that takeover, using radical politics, classic spycraft, and technology that makes Big Data look like dial-up. Into this secret battle stumbles an unlikely trio: Leila Majnoun, a disillusioned non-profit worker; Leo Crane, an unhinged trustafarian; and Mark Deveraux, a phony self-betterment guru who works for the Committee.Leo and Mark were best friends in college, but early adulthood has set them on diverging paths. Growing increasingly disdainful of Mark's platitudes, Leo publishes a withering takedown of his ideas online. But the Committee is reading--and erasing--Leo's words. On the other side of the world, Leila's discoveries about the Committee's far-reaching ambitions threaten to ruin those who are closest to her. In the spirit of William Gibson and Chuck Palahniuk,Whiskey Tango Foxtrot is both a suspenseful global thriller and an emotionally truthful novel about the struggle to change the world in- and outside your head.

My Review:

I LOVED this book. Well until I got to the end and it just ended with no real resolution. I thought maybe it is a series! I checked GoodReads and no it was an ending in the same way as David Foster Wallace. I am not smart enough to make heads or tails of authors such as David Foster Wallace. I had an English Professor attempt to explain postmodernism in college and I told the dude straight up. This stuff is bullshit, why would you write a story and not finish it? Can I write my final halfway and still get an A? Ok I UNDERSTAND it I guess, I just don’t like it. BUT I did like this book even though it ends right in a climatic scene. I mean seriously it ends so suddenly that I thought NetGalley had fucked up THEN I checked Goodreads. OK then.

That was the only thing that I did not like. It starts out as three different stories and you wonder how it will all tie in together. Now that I think of it there were a couple of stories that had no resolution but again the plot that does happen makes up for it.

It is a mash-up of several genres. I thought it was brilliantly done. It does require at some points to ignore some  laws of time and space but nothing like enlarging your brain, right? In another way it was spooky. I mean what if it REALLY happened? What if some dude was out there saving all your data then tried to sell it back to you? It looks like the author did know either as that’s where the story ends. Ok can you tell that this ending is bugging me?

I will still give it 5 stars for plot and dialogue and creativity. And guts. Extra points for guts. I mean it had to take guts not to finish the story and still publish it. Postmodernism be damned.

Am I the only one who hates books with no real ending?


liked-it

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

World War Z

Posted October 16, 2014 by Hillary in book review, fiction / 0 Comments

World War ZWorld War Z by Max Brooks
Published by Crown on 2006
Genres: Fiction, Horror, Humorous, War & Military
Pages: 342
Format: ebook
Goodreads
five-stars

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE The Zombie War came unthinkably close to eradicating humanity. Max Brooks, driven by the urgency of preserving the acid-etched first-hand experiences of the survivors from those apocalyptic years, traveled across the United States of America and throughout the world, from decimated cities that once teemed with upwards of thirty million souls to the most remote and inhospitable areas of the planet. He recorded the testimony of men, women, and sometimes children who came face-to-face with the living, or at least the undead, hell of that dreadful time. World War Z is the result. Never before have we had access to a document that so powerfully conveys the depth of fear and horror, and also the ineradicable spirit of resistance, that gripped human society through the plague years.Ranging from the now infamous village of New Dachang in the United Federation of China, where the epidemiological trail began with the twelve-year-old Patient Zero, to the unnamed northern forests where untold numbers sought a terrible and temporary refuge in the cold, to the United States of Southern Africa, where the Redeker Plan provided hope for humanity at an unspeakable price, to the west-of-the-Rockies redoubt where the North American tide finally started to turn, this invaluable chronicle reflects the full scope and duration of the Zombie War. Most of all, the book captures with haunting immediacy the human dimension of this epochal event. Facing the often raw and vivid nature of these personal accounts requires a degree of courage on the part of the reader, but the effort is invaluable because, as Mr. Brooks says in his introduction, “By excluding the human factor, aren't we risking the kind of personal detachment from history that may, heaven forbid, lead us one day to repeat it? And in the end, isn't the human factor the only true difference between us and the enemy we now refer to as 'the living dead'?”Note: Some of the numerical and factual material contained in this edition was previously published under the auspices of the United Nations Postwar Commission.Eyewitness reports from the first truly global war“I found 'Patient Zero' behind the locked door of an abandoned apartment across town. . . . His wrists and feet were bound with plastic packing twine. Although he'd rubbed off the skin around his bonds, there was no blood. There was also no blood on his other wounds. . . . He was writhing like an animal; a gag muffled his growls. At first the villagers tried to hold me back. They warned me not to touch him, that he was 'cursed.' I shrugged them off and reached for my mask and gloves. The boy's skin was . . . cold and gray . . . I could find neither his heartbeat nor his pulse.” —Dr. Kwang Jingshu, Greater Chongqing, United Federation of China“'Shock and Awe'? Perfect name. . . . But what if the enemy can't be shocked and awed? Not just won't, but biologically can't! That's what happened that day outside New York City, that's the failure that almost lost us the whole damn war. The fact that we couldn't shock and awe Zack boomeranged right back in our faces and actually allowed Zack to shock and awe us! They're not afraid! No matter what we do, no matter how many we kill, they will never, ever be afraid!” —Todd Wainio, former U.S. Army infantryman and veteran of the Battle of Yonkers“Two hundred million zombies. Who can even visualize that type of number, let alone combat it? . . . For the first time in history, we faced an enemy that was actively waging total war. They had no limits of endurance. They would never negotiate, never surrender. They would fight until the very end because, unlike us, every single one of them, every second of every day, was devoted to consuming all life on Earth.” —General Travis D'Ambrosia, Supreme Allied Commander, Europe

My Review:

It was on the first cool days of Fall when I got in the mood for a good zombie book. I had read this years ago and loved it. It was available in the library so I settled down to read. I used to get REALLY depressed with the arrival of fall but now I counter that with a good book. It works like a charm.

So The book is this Dude Max Brooks who wrote a book detailing the history of the Zombie War. I LOVE the world that the author creates. I mean if there really was zombies chasing me around I would  be shitting in my pants but from the safety of my Lazy Boy recliner this was a brilliant book. The story is believable. Well I mean you have to suspend SOME reality for the zombie part, but I think we all read books where our reaction was like ha ha like THAT would ever happen. This book even details patient zero and makes the story completely believable. Like you will fire up CNN and hear of a person becoming a Zombie somewhere in China.

So it progresses all over the world and the living has to fight back. They come up with a plan that seems brilliant until you realize how many people are going to be sacrificed but hard times calls for desperate answers. I actually found myself debating the Human Rights of the people in the book. I had to remind myself several times it was a made up story. The plot was THAT good.

I had suffered from the book doldrums before this book. After I read it I realized what I needed was some good old-fashioned stories and to lay off the non-fiction I had read. So far it has worked.

I love , love LOVE this book. This is one of those rare books I feel like I can read again and again and not get tired of it. And no I haven’t seen the movie yet. Maybe I should.

I would recommend this to everyone. I wish I was rich so that I could buy up all the books and stuff it into people hands. So, go and read it!

 

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

The Snowman

Posted June 21, 2012 by Hillary in Book Reviews, crime fiction, mystery, thriller / 0 Comments

the snowman

From Goodreads:

Internationally acclaimed crime writer Jo Nesbø’s antihero police investigator, Harry Hole, is back: in a bone-chilling thriller that will take Hole to the brink of insanity.
Oslo in November. The first snow of the season has fallen. A boy named Jonas wakes in the night to find his mother gone. Out his window, in the cold moonlight, he sees the snowman that inexplicably appeared in the yard earlier in the day. Around its neck is his mother’s pink scarf.
Hole suspects a link between a menacing letter he’s received and the disappearance of Jonas’s mother—and of perhaps a dozen other women, all of whom went missing on the day of a first snowfall. As his investigation deepens, something else emerges: he is becoming a pawn in an increasingly terrifying game whose rules are devised—and constantly revised—by the killer.
Fiercely suspenseful, its characters brilliantly realized, its atmosphere permeated with evil, The Snowman is the electrifying work of one of the best crime writers of our time

My Review: This book blew me away. I first read it on recommendation from Unfinished Person. I have to admit that I hate reading a series out of order but I did not know that it was a seris until I looked it up online. Plus it is what my library had as an ebook. I looked it up and my library has the physical books of the whole series so you know what I am going to read when I get back to Ohio.

Anyways There is this serial killer loose and Harry Hole is trying to catch him. The killer leaves a snowman in front of the house that he plans to abduct and to kill the woman. (I will never look at a snowman the same again). The snowman is symbolic as you will find out when you read the story.Harry Hole and his team go to great lengths to catch the killer which is Norway’s first serial killer.  The twist and turns are such that you will never guess who the killer is before Harry does.  There are some books that proclaim themselves thriller and mystery but this one blows all other books out of the water. Nesbo even makes the Milimum Trilogy look tame.

The reader will find themselves connecting with Harry as he hunts down the killer. You will feel his frustrations and triumphs. There will be times when you think you figured out the killer only to find that it was not the killer at all.

I hesitate to say this is a stand a lone novel because there is some back story that if you haven’t read all the books in order you will be left out. You can read it alone but u will miss some of the nuance of the story. I recommend reading the series in order.

This is a book (series) that I recommend everyone to read. You will not be disappointed.

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

The Right Guard

Posted June 11, 2012 by Hillary in Book Reviews, thriller / 0 Comments

the right guard

This book was sent to me in exchange for an honest review.

From Goodreads:

Over one million military weapons and equipment are missing from the U.S. military inventories across the country. Who is stealing the weapons and why? CIA operative Eric Brent, and his revolutionary light weapon invention, is used by CIA to flush out a secretive, “phantom” group hostile to a wildly spending, intrusive U.S. Administration that threatens to destroy the American economy and shrink individual freedoms.
Hamlet takes you through the twists and turns of the secretive world of intelligence as the undercover assignment goes astray. Eric exposes a far-reaching and well-planned movement and an event that could alter the United States forever. Strained loyalties arise as the “phantom” group appeals to Eric and his superiors. At the height of his infiltration, a former lover, Jill, reenters his life and places them both in danger. Loyal forces within the intelligence community struggle to learn who is involved and organize counter-moves yet stay undetected. Each question ends in surprise as personal and professional conflicts for Eric arise. He is forced to reach back into his high-ranking father’s Nazi Germany past… to solicit help.
The year is 1978, yet The Right Guard resembles the present state of the political and economic climate of the U.S. and a possible, eerie scenario and outcome.
The Right Guard is an exercise in gripping, fast-paced realism that keeps the reader mesmerized through the eyes of those who live in the intelligence world.

My Review: I have to admit it took me longer to get into this book than usual. The laying out of the story felt tedious and the newspaper clippings that head each chapter drew me out of the story. I know it was to add realism to the story but it did the opposite to me.

What gained my interest is when the story started moving along and when the love interest between Eric and Jill started heating up. Most love interests to me feel forced but this one felt authentic given the circumstances.  There is one thing about danger and love that really gets me. I don’t want to give any plot points away but I kind of wish that it was more fleshed out.

The second half of the book when things start really moving along is a fascinating look into the intelligence life. It was interesting to see how Eric penetrated the Right Guard and how he lived undercover. I kept expecting him to get his cover blown but it does not happen. Witch in this case is a good thing.

Even though the book is set in the 70’s it does not feel dated at all. It feels like something that can happen today.  Actually while reading the book the scenes were so real that I felt that with todays political climate maybe it could happen soon. Or maybe something like this did happen but we the public is unaware of it. That’s how well the author wrote this story.

I fell in love with Jill when she first appeared in the story. I felt like whatever she did is something that I would have done were I in her shoes. I also loved Eric. As I have stated before it was fascinating reading how he worked and I was so happy when he and Jill got together.

If you like reading about political stuff and suspense and thrillers then you will enjoy this book.

four-stars
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!