Genre: General

Book Review: This Is Where You Belong: The Art and Science of Loving the Place You Live by Melody Warnick

Posted October 17, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780143129660
Book Review: This Is Where You Belong: The Art and Science of Loving the Place You Live by Melody WarnickThis Is Where You Belong by Melody Warnick
Published by Penguin on July 4th 2017
Genres: Psychology, Mental Health, Self-Help, Personal Growth, Happiness, Social Science, Sociology, General
Pages: 320
Format: ebook
Source: bought
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

In the spirit of Gretchen Rubin's megaseller The Happiness Project and Eric Weiner's The Geography of Bliss, a journalist embarks on a project to discover what it takes to love where you live

The average restless American will move 11.7 times in a lifetime. For Melody Warnick, it was move #6, from Austin, Texas, to Blacksburg, Virginia, that threatened to unhinge her. In the lonely aftermath of unpacking, she wondered: Aren't we supposed to put down roots at some point? How does the place we live become the place we want to stay? This time, she had an epiphany. Rather than hold her breath and hope this new town would be her family's perfect fit, she would figure out how to fall in love with it--no matter what.      How we come to feel at home in our towns and cities is what Warnick sets out to discover in This Is Where You Belong. She dives into the body of research around place attachment--the deep sense of connection that binds some of us to our cities and increases our physical and emotional well-being--then travels to towns across America to see it in action. Inspired by a growing movement of placemaking, she examines what its practitioners are doing to create likeable locales. She also speaks with frequent movers and loyal stayers around the country to learn what draws highly mobile Americans to a new city, and what makes us stay. The best ideas she imports to her adopted hometown of Blacksburg for a series of Love Where You Live experiments designed to make her feel more locally connected. Dining with her neighbors. Shopping Small Business Saturday. Marching in the town Christmas parade.      Can these efforts make a halfhearted resident happier? Will Blacksburg be the place she finally stays? What Warnick learns will inspire you to embrace your own community--and perhaps discover that the place where you live right now . . . is home.

From the Hardcover edition.

 

I have to be honest. I am the type of person that packs up and moves every three years. I don’t know WHY I just get that itch that my life would be better if I were SOMEWHERE ELSE. I am a freelance ghostwriter, so I can live anywhere and maybe that is the problem. I never give anyplace a chance. I am currently in Cleveland, and I have been here a record of 5 years. I am starting to get that itch again so when I saw this book as a daily Kindle deal I grabbed it in the hopes that it would have some clues on how to love where I live. I am tired of packing up and leaving so this was the perfect opportunity to get some insight on how to NOT give in to that itch.

What I Liked

First of all, I loved how honest she was about that itch in moving. I could completely understand. I thought it was me and that I had issues but reading this I realized that America is the most mobile country on earth. It seems that almost half of us pack up and move every three to 5 years. I felt a LOT better after reading that.

I also loved her background information. Providing background information can be dangerous as some authors into boring you to tears. But not Melody Warnick her insights and information was highly useful to a person such as me who after three years thinks that ANYWHERE else would be the perfect place.  I feel lots better knowing that I am just one of millions of Americans who think the same

I loved her checklists on how to make roots and feel like you belong. I realized that I do that here in Cleveland more than any other place I have lived. Maybe it causes with my Cochlear Ear Implants I can hear now, and I became more involved in the community. for example I joined a book club at the library. I go to bookish events, and I frequent my favorite used bookstore, and I have become great friends at the little health food store I found near my apartment. In every other place I lived, I never did any of that. So I realize now that suppose I get married and move I know what to do to put down roots wherever I end up, but you know what? For the time being, I am staying here in Cleveland because I feel like I finally have a life here and THAT makes all the difference.

 

What I Did Not Like

The only complaint that I have was I wanted to hear more of HER story and not research facts all the time. She gives us little looks into her life but not as much as some other authors do. I can understand some people need privacy and are not as open, but sometimes it felt as if I was reading a textbook. I went into it expecting more of a memoir type thing so maybe that why that bugged me.

 

I enjoyed this book and learned a lot from it. I learned how to put down roots, and I realized that while I may not be out placemaking, I do get involved in the community in some ways, and that makes all the difference. I think that’s why I  have stayed here a record of 5 years. My friends can’t believe that I would stay in Cleveland for so long, but I do like it here. I would recommend this book to anyone feeling that old familiar itch to move..move…move…. Trust me I have moved dozens of times, and no place is “better” if you don’t attempt to put down some roots. So if you are one of the people who has a VIP to Uhaul then go and read this book…you can thank me later.

 

five-stars
Rating Report
Writing
five-stars
Cover
five-stars
Overall: five-stars

Book Review: Priest-Kings of Gor (Gor #3) by John Norman

Posted September 29, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780345295392
This book may be unsuitable for people under 17 years of age due to its use of sexual content, drug and alcohol use, and/or violence.
Book Review: Priest-Kings of Gor (Gor #3) by John NormanPriest-Kings of Gor by John Norman
Published by Random House Publishing Group on October 12th 1980
Genres: Fiction, Science Fiction, General
Pages: 317
Format: hardcover
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

This is the third installment of John Norman's popular and controversial Gor series. Tarl Cabot is the intrepid tarnsman of the planet Gor, a harsh society with a rigid caste system that personifies the most brutal form of social Darwinism. In this volume, Tarl must search for the truth behind the disappearance of his beautiful wife, Talena. Have the ruthless priest-kings destroyed her? Tarl vows to find the answer for himself, journeying to the mountain stronghold of the kings, knowing full well that no one who has dared approach the priest-kings has ever returned alive..

I DID IT!! I finished another book! That seems to be a constant refrain of mine this year. Anyway took me two weeks, but I read this book. It is not a bad book at all. It just my brain is funny these days, and I have no idea what is wrong with my attention span. Maybe I use it all up doing freelance client work then by the time I am done with that for the day my brain don’t wanna focus anymore. Who Knows?

A word of caution: If you are in in way a feminist then you would want to avoid the Goran Saga. I am a Bad Feminist so even though it offends me I just let it slide.

Even though there is a LOT of info dumping here and world building if you haven’t read the first two books in the series, then you will be lost with this one. So I highly recommend you start with the first book Transman of Gor and then proceed from there.

So for this book, our man Tarl is going to the Sardar to face off the Priest-Kings and to find out why they have destroyed his family and city Ko-Ro-Ba. I am not sure what I had in mind when I envisioned a Preist-King, but it sure wasn’t a giant wasp. After reading the description that John Newman provides for some reason a Giant Wasp came into my head and refused to leave. I honestly thought they would be fearsome humans but nope.

Now I can’t unthink the Giant Wasps. How Tarl keep from shitting his pants the first time he saw one I have no idea. I mean if I came face to face with a giant wasp then I probably die of a heart attack right then and there.

The book sloooowly takes us through the process of getting to know thePriest-kings and their ways. It felt slow but probably wasn’t the book is not long at all, but all that info dumping was not done seamlessly. It seemed that info dumping would take pages before anything would happen. I was like come on you are face to face with a giant wasp then u info dump for five pages… Just TELLL me what happens next damnit.

The world building as always in the Goran Saga in fantastic. John Newman was brilliant when he created Gor. I have yet to come across an author who has built such worlds as the early sci-fi people. I mean sure you can world build in 300 pages but to keep it up for 20 somethings novels. THAT takes skill. I sometimes wonder at the people behind the early Sci-Fi and how they came up with the ideas in their heads.

Yes, there are slaves in this book. Human slaves. Women mostly. So like I said if you are in any way offended by a woman being pleasure slaves then stay far far far away from this series. I found it quite fascinating how Newman was able to keep it all consistent across all of his novels. I have found with a series sometimes the author will slip and you will find inconsistencies in the story. Not so with this one.

 

Overall I enjoyed this book despite taking so damn long to read it.

 

 

four-stars
Rating Report
Plot
four-half-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Pacing
two-stars
Overall: four-stars

Book Review: Tools of Titans: The Tactics, Routines, and Habits of Billionaires, Icons, and World-Class Performers by Timothy Ferriss

Posted August 11, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

ISBN: 9781328684059
Book Review: Tools of Titans: The Tactics, Routines, and Habits of Billionaires, Icons, and World-Class Performers by Timothy FerrissTools of Titans by Timothy Ferriss
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt on December 6th 2016
Genres: Business & Economics, General, Self-Help, Personal Growth, Success
Pages: 736
Format: hardcover
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The latest groundbreaking tome from Tim Ferriss, the #1 New York Times best-selling author of The 4-Hour Workweek.  From the author:   “For the last two years, I’ve interviewed more than 200 world-class performers for my podcast, The Tim Ferriss Show. The guests range from super celebs (Jamie Foxx, Arnold Schwarzenegger, etc.) and athletes (icons of powerlifting, gymnastics, surfing, etc.) to legendary Special Operations commanders and black-market biochemists. For most of my guests, it’s the first time they’ve agreed to a two-to-three-hour interview. This unusual depth has helped make The Tim Ferriss Show the first business/interview podcast to pass 100 million downloads.   “This book contains the distilled tools, tactics, and ‘inside baseball’ you won’t find anywhere else. It also includes new tips from past guests, and life lessons from new ‘guests’ you haven’t met.   “What makes the show different is a relentless focus on actionable details. This is reflected in the questions. For example: What do these people do in the first sixty minutes of each morning? What do their workout routines look like, and why? What books have they gifted most to other people? What are the biggest wastes of time for novices in their field? What supplements do they take on a daily basis?   “I don’t view myself as an interviewer. I view myself as an experimenter. If I can’t test something and replicate results in the messy reality of everyday life, I’m not interested.   “Everything within these pages has been vetted, explored, and applied to my own life in some fashion. I’ve used dozens of the tactics and philosophies in high-stakes negotiations, high-risk environments, or large business dealings. The lessons have made me millions of dollars and saved me years of wasted effort and frustration.   “I created this book, my ultimate notebook of high-leverage tools, for myself. It’s changed my life, and I hope the same for you.”

My first thought after I turned the page of this book was that was one long ass book. I am not sure why chunkers have been intimidating me as of late. It is like I see a book over 300 pages and I run the other way. Maybe I have commitment issues, who knows. I read the Book The 4 hour Work Week, and the publishers made this book sound like this is gonna be the book to solve all of your problems. Tim himself has talked to everyone and distilled all the advice in this easy to understand Value and some such bullshit.
I can’t say much cause I ran up to sign for it at the library and when my hold finally came in I ran to the library to pick it up. I brought it home and started reading. I was all ready to learn the secrets of the Universe. Secrets that would make be happy, healthy and wealthy beyond my wildest dreams.
I should have had an inkling when I read the body part and he was all like Low Carb is the way to go. Ummm no it is no.t I am Vegan. Animal products gross me out. I mean I feel sorry for the animals in a way, but that’s not the sole reason I won’t eat meat. To me, I am just all like ewwwwww dead rotten flesh. Gross. But nope Tim was like low carb is the ONLY way to do and u need ketones and all of that crap. Do not think so Tim.
Then I was like ok so we differ on the diet, and it seems to exercise. I am all like I will just run/walk on the treadmill for an hour, and he has all of these…routines..that I am again like nope.
I should have put the book down but alas this was TIM FERRIS There had to be SOME good in this damn book.
And there was..kinda. I did make some notes on my Kindle. Like I think six notes out of 700 pages. One thing that I kept wondering is how does he fit so many routines in a day. I mean he has a morning routine a breakfast routine and on and on. Don’t he ever just look at the day and goes nope…Not gonna do today and stay in bed with a book? Oh and the books that he professes to read. They range from the obscure the art of archery to some stoic philosophy. Personally, I thought the stoic school of thought was bullshit in college, and I believe it is bullshit now. If I am gonna take after an ancient civilization is gonna be the party loving Romans. But Tim was big on the Stoics. I am like really Tim. Your life is not very stoic at the moment. In fact, it sounds like a privileged white male who is attempting t glean something from nothing. Like why oh why do I feel empty? I know I will read a stoic philosophy and eat dead rotten animals and crawl backward on the floor! Now I have a whole new perspective! Maybe I am just jealous but that what I was thinking when I was reading all of this.
In fact, this whole books reeks of white male privilege. Usually, I can tolerate some in yo face kind of privilege, but this book was way way out there with the privilege aspect of it.
I had to giggle when I came upon his real world MBA. He alertly did not want to take math classes at Stanford, so he invested 160K into some start-ups. Some failed some didn’t. I am not sure why I found this amusing. Maybe it causes after you get your MBA you supposed to know how to migrate the risks but if you are a hands on learner his way would work also.

 

There were a few Gems in Tool of Titans. Like the Wealthy part. I enjoyed that part as I need to learn about stuff such as that. I found it helpful. There are so many people who didn’t get financial advice young that need it now. Especially people who grew up as I did in Central Appalachia. There is no talk of investing there. I try to read what I can so that I can make better financial decisions but some books are just so far over my head. Not this one though. I could pretty much understand the advice in this book. Which is saying a lot since I am financially illiterate.

I think for me I am much more jaded now than when I read 4 hour work week a few years a go.  This was when I had first started my freelancing.Back then I lapped up books like this. Now though it seems to be the same information told again and again. I was even hoping to find out some neat new tech toys (I have a MAJOR case of shiny object Syndrome) but nope all the programs that are mentioned I have already tried out for myself. I could even think f BETTER programs to use than what was in the book.

I kind of wish that I could get back the time that I spent reading this book. At least I did not shell out money for it. I got my copy from the library. So there is that.
If I had to do it all over again I would have DNFed it but ah well. At least I got some financial  advice out of the book. I would encourage you to get the book from the library, and if you like it you can buy it, but for me, I felt as if I already heard it all before.

 

 

 

three-half-stars

Book Review: White Hot Truth: Clarity for Keeping It Real on Your Spiritual Path from One Seeker to Another

Posted July 17, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

ISBN: 9780997651409
Book Review: White Hot Truth: Clarity for Keeping It Real on Your Spiritual Path from One Seeker to AnotherWhite Hot Truth by Danielle LaPorte
Published by VIRTUONICA on May 16th 2017
Genres: Self-Help, General, Self-Help, Personal Growth, Happiness, Motivational & Inspirational, Spiritual
Pages: 264
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Has your self-help become self-criticism? A wise and often hilarious exploration of the conflicts between spiritual aspiration and the compulsion to improve, from Oprah Super Soul 100 member, Danielle LaPorte. Like a wise girlfriend you can totally relate to, Danielle cheerleads you to own your wisdom and self-worth by having a good laugh (and maybe a good cry) at the ways you've been trying to improve on your self-improvement. Rooted in compassion, feminism, and spiritual activism White Hot Truth is an intimate and (hilariously) relatable account of self-help tales gone wrong, and very right. If you love Brene Brown and Liz Gilbert's authenticity, and Marianne Williamson's strong spirit, you'll adore how Danielle lays bare "Boundaries for spiritual people"; the "Discipleshit" that happens when we give our power away; a "Soul-perspective" on suffering; "over tolerance" and "foolish compassion" in relationships, sneaky self-loathing; spiritual glamour. And in her poetic and brazen way, she brings it home with the hottest truth of all: You are your own guru.

As anyone who knows me knows I am a HUGE fan of Danielle Laporte. I stumbled on her about three years a go when I first read the Disiaire Map which broke me into a million pieces. Finally, I thought someone who GETS it. I am always nervous when a new book by a favorite author comes out. I mean will THIS be the book that flops? Has their magic run out? I found this on Scribed and I started to read and OMG this is her BEST book so far.

Think that it helps that I too am a New Age self-help junkie. I mean when my depression first hit this year I delayed in getting help cause maybe I was just working on some stuff. I was and am, but I also needed professional help, and I think that is where people like me run into problems we want to do it all ourselves, and sometimes we just need someone with the right degrees to point us in the right direction.

And Danelle GETS it she has been through therapy, worked with energy healers and the like. I love how she says that we need to craft our course of action to a program that fits US as a person.

I also learned a lot from this book. Like to stay away from shit you don’t fully understand. She tells of her stone story where she had some sacred stones in her apartment, and they started doing weird shit to her. She admits that she had no clue what they did exactly and thus ran into problems. Headaches that wouldn’t go away, a lump on her forehead among other things. People told her it was the stones, but she dismissed it til she no longer could. She finally got rid of them, and all the wired stuff went away also. That is an important lesson to be learned here if you don’t know 10000 percent how something works and can control it then stay far far far away. Power can be useful, but it can also be evil.

One major thing that I learned in this book is that there is something called a Functional Dr. I looked it up ad what do you know they have a clinic thingie at Cleveland Clinic. I am thinking about making an appoint if the take my insurance. The best that I understand it is that it is where East meets West and during my time in Africa I can tell you that unless you have Malaria or something that their traditional meds work a damn lot better than some of the shit that I have been given by traditional Dr’s. In fact apart from my audiologist and my shrink I try and stay far far away from Dr’s. You go in sick then you come out ten times sicker. My friend wasn’t feeling well, and she thought she just had bad allergies or something turns out she had Cancer. I have had several other friends who have had similar experiences.  And the shit traditional  Drs give you mostly just ends up making things worse. My mom has had antibiotics so much she has to take SUPER antibiotics when she gets sick now. I just wonder what she is gonna do when she becomes resistant to THAT.  Every time I felt bad in Cameroon, I would drink ginger, and that works soo much better than Zofran without making you sleep for 48 hours straight. Hmmph

I also like the chapter explaining what it is that everyone does. Like the aforementioned Functional Dr., I learned some neat things. Like what an energy worker is and how to use I love stuff like this so learning all of this is right up my alley. I also love how she keeps it real. There is no superiority complex with her that i have seen in other spiritual self-help junkies.

 

five-stars

Book Review: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead by Max Brooks

Posted July 12, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781400049622
Book Review: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead by Max BrooksThe Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks
Published by Three Rivers Press on 2003
Genres: Humor, General, Form, Parodies
Pages: 254
Format: Paperback
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The Zombie Survival Guide is your key to survival against the hordes of undead who may be stalking you right now. Fully illustrated and exhaustively comprehensive, this book covers everything you need to know, including how to understand zombie physiology and behavior, the most effective defense tactics and weaponry, ways to outfit your home for a long siege, and how to survive and adapt in any territory or terrain.
Top 10 Lessons for Surviving a Zombie Attack
1. Organize before they rise! 2. They feel no fear, why should you? 3. Use your head: cut off theirs. 4. Blades don’t need reloading. 5. Ideal protection = tight clothes, short hair. 6. Get up the staircase, then destroy it. 7. Get out of the car, get onto the bike. 8. Keep moving, keep low, keep quiet, keep alert! 9. No place is safe, only safer. 10. The zombie may be gone, but the threat lives on.
Don’t be carefree and foolish with your most precious asset—life. This book is your key to survival against the hordes of undead who may be stalking you right now without your even knowing it. The Zombie Survival Guide offers complete protection through trusted, proven tips for safeguarding yourself and your loved ones against the living dead. It is a book that can save your life.

Quick! The Dead have risen! What next? WHAT ARE YOU GONNA DO?!?! If you are smart, you would have read this book to prepare yourself waaaaaay ahead of time, and you will be ready to either defend your turf or escape to a safe place.

This book offers everything that you need to know if zombies should ever roam the earth. Max Brooks goes into a LOT of details that you will need to know. Such as the best way to escape. The best tools to use against zombies. I always have though a gun, but no that is not the BEST method.

Brooks also shows you how to escape should you need to. And a big ass truck zooming straight outta dodge is NOT the best way. In fact, a car itself is not the best way as millions of other people will have the same idea and you will be stuck in the worst traffic since time began, and then zombies will catch up to you and well. You will be zombie food. SO you need to prepare to make sure you make it to where you are going alive and with zero bites. Or you will end up in the zombie documentary “The Walking Dead” you don’t want THAT, do you? The question remains if you are escaping from a city the size of say LA where do you go? The sad fact is probably nowhere. I mean think about it how would you get OUT or even if you did where is there TO go in the desolate southern California wasteland that is covered by suburbia for miles on end and that is probably in all likelihood crawling with the living dead. So you have accepted your fate that your sorry ass is stuck in LA or New York or my case Cleveland so where TO go to ensure you have the maximum chance of survival? The book explains where not TO go mostly avoid the damn hospital. I dunno why people run to the hospital in times of crisis. But yeah that is where most people will be reanimating so BAD BAD IDEA. I must admit I was relieved when he said the inner city is the best place to go. That is like 95 percent of Cleveland, so I am safe if I can just get to the inner city without some white dude biting me. ANYWAY, there are places to go and places to avoid, and he explains the cons and pros of each and on how to choose and eliminate zombies and how to prepare for the long haul. Because it will be a long ass haul cause no help is coming. When I realized that I would have to survive the frigid Cleveland winters without modern electricity maybe I am tempted to try and make my way south but nahhhh that will be eight months of zombies being frozen so ANYWAY….

But suppose you decide to stay and to defend your turf? He shows you how to do that also. He gives an in-depth explanation of the types of weapons that are best in this scenario and how to defend your house or the prison that you and some other trusted people have decided to make your new home.

He even explains that you will need to grow your food. This makes me weep. I was manged to kill a CATUS plant so I dunno about a garden but if my life depended on it I bet I will remember to water it.

This book is a good primer for what to do in the event of a zombiepolyse. Don’t let your survival stop there, however. To survive you need to know all you can. So learn, learn, learn and may God be with all of us.

five-stars

Book Review:Crazy Sexy Diet: Eat Your Veggies, Ignite Your Spark, and Live Like You Mean It! by Kris Carr

Posted July 11, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780762774524
Book Review:Crazy Sexy Diet: Eat Your Veggies, Ignite Your Spark, and Live Like You Mean It! by Kris CarrCrazy Sexy Diet by Kris CarrSheila Buff
Published by Rowman & Littlefield on January 17th 2011
Genres: Health & Fitness, General, Diet & Nutrition, Diets, Nutrition, Self-Help, Motivational & Inspirational
Pages: 240
Format: hardcover
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The author of the best-selling Crazy Sexy Cancer Tips and Crazy Sexy Cancer Survivor takes on the crazy sexy subject of

what and how we eat, drink, and think.

Crazysexydiet.com

On the heels of Kris Carr's best-selling cancer survival guidebooks and her acclaimed TLC documentary comes her new journey into a realm vital to anyone's health. Infused with her signature sass, wit and advice-from-the-trenches style, Crazy Sexy Diet is a beautifully illustrated resource that puts you on the fast track to vibrant health, happiness and a great ass!

Along with help from her posse of experts, Carr lays out the fundamentals of her Crazy Sexy Diet: a low-glycemic, vegetarian program that emphasizes balancing the pH of the body with lush whole and raw foods, nourishing organic green drinks, and scrumptious smoothies. Plus, she shares the steps of her own twenty-one-day cleanse, and simple but delectable sample recipes.

In ten chapters with titles such as, “pHabulous,” “Coffee, Cupcakes and Cocktails,” “Make Juice Not War,” and “God-Pod Glow,” Carr empowers readers to move from a state of constant bodily damage control to one of renewal and repair. In addition to debunking common diet myths and sharing vital tips on detoxifying our bodies and psyches—advice that draws both on her personal experience as a cancer survivor and that of experts—she provides helpful hints on natural personal care, how to stretch a dollar, navigate the grocery store, eating well on the run, and working through the inevitable pangs and cravings for your old not-so-healthy life.

Crazy Sexy Diet is a must for anyone who seeks to be a confident and sexy wellness warrior.

Including contributions by:

Dean Ornish, M.D. – author and founder and president of the Preventive Medicine Research Institute

Neal Barnard, M.D. – author, founder of Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine (PCRM), author of Food for Life

Kathy Freston – author of Quantum Wellness and health advocateAlejandro Junger, M.D. – author of Clean: The Revolutionary Program to Restore the Body's Natural Ability to Heal Itself, and director of integrative medicine at Lenox Hill Hospital, NYCRory Freedman – coauthor of Skinny Bitch and health advocateMark Hyman, M.D. – author of The UltraMind Solution and pioneer in functional medicineEmily Deschanel – star of the Fox series Bones and health advocateSharon Gannon – author of Yoga and Vegetarianism, and cofounder of Jivamukti YogaWayne Pacelle – president & CEO, The Humane Society of the United StatesStacy Malkan – author and cofounder of the Campaign for Safe CosmeticsDr. Lilli Link – specialist in raw foods and integrative nutrition

Frank Lipman – author of Revive: Stop feeling Spent and Start Living Again and founder of the Eleven Eleven Wellness Center

Crazy Sexy tips for optimal health

Flood your body with alkaline nutrients * Flush stored waste products and chemicals * Reduce or eliminate animal products * *Dump sugar, you're sweet enough * Go gluten-free *Shake your booty * Wrangle the monkeys in your mind and turn down the stress * Install healthy boundaries so you don't burn out * Kill your television and Detox your In Box (Facebook too!) * Take fun seriously * Build a wellness posse support system *Be a "prevention is hot" cheerleader!

Kris Carr's television appearances have included:

- CBS Evening News with Katie Couric- The Early Show- The Today Show- Montel- Access Hollywood- The Mike & Juliet Show- Good Morning America- The Oprah Winfrey Show

Do you have any idea what it's like to feel blissfully whole and comfortable in your skin? You will. The Crazy Sexy Diet and lifestyle will give you the tools to navigate through life with clarity, balance, and flow. Health is more than just the absence of disease; it is the presence of vitality. Health is freedom from obstruction; it's living in a harmonious way that creates both inner and outer peace. . . . The Crazy Sexy Diet is loaded with wisdom, tips and advice from personal experien ce. If I feel great living and eating this way then you can feel fantastic! What I present to you is what works for me and countless other wellness warriors. This information just might save your life, or at the very least reduce the pesky cellulite. It's an awakening without the disease, knowledge without the price. Changing your mind is the biggest obstacle you face. But once you do, you'll realize that you are the one you've been waiting for. . . .

From the Introduction

I first heard of Kris Carr with her Crazy Sexy Cancer show. I thought she was courageous then I heard she had managed to put her cancer into remission by going vegan. Then a friend introduced me to Deliciously Ella. I was all like blah. I mean, everyone had reason to be worried. I topped the scale at 315 pounds. I smoked a pack a day, I did not move much, and I ate crap. I hate to say this, but it took a series of health crisis to get me to move my ass. I started coughing up blood one day, and at the ER they took an x-ray of my lungs, and they were COATED in tar. I smoked a pack a day for 21 years, so yeah. I left with some Chantix, and after about six tries and another trip to the ER, for…you guessed it… I was coughing up blood…AGAIN; the Dr told me I was playing Russian roulette with my health and mom was crying that I was gonna die soon. I quit smoking finally.

After about six months I could breathe like a normal person, and I was all proud, and then I went to the DR cause I was not feeling well and I topped the scale at my highest weight EVAR at 315 pounds. I almost crapped my pants. The Dr once again told me I was on the road to a heart attack. So after I almost had to use the cart at the food store cause I could barely walk I got my fat behind to the gym and went Paleo. I lost weight but and felt amazing, but honestly, I HATE meat. Seriously ewwwww. So that failed. I went back to eating crap. I mean I was on a first name basis at the local Burger King. This year I had one of the worst depressive episodes I have had since I was diagnosed with schizo-effective disorder in 2007. I was one notch above suicidal. I knew that I had to pull myself together and fight for me to not only to live but to thrive.

A friend urged me to watch some documentaries on Netflix, and I was hooked. What if I could beat this by changing my diet. I mean if Kris Carr could come back from stage 4 cancer surely I could get a grip on my schizo-effective disorder. So I checked her book out from the library and read it.

To be honest, I thought some of the stuff was extreme. I mean colonics? I am not sure about THAT, but overall I loved the book. I got some excellent ideas on how to incorporate some wellness stuff into my day. I mean I went gluten free vegan cold turkey. It helped that the night before I had a pizza and had the worst tummy ache in my life then I pooped out like three pounds. I am a TMI monster hee hee. I then realized that maybe gluten was not for me. SO gluten free vegan all the way here. I also am all over the essential oils and the dry brushing and all of that. I am all like  TOXINS BE GONE!!

She explains very well how your body works and how different stuff affects you. I mean this book took me about a week to read cause I was reading and taking notes. I learned ALOT in this book. Like how gluten affects some people and how meat affects you. There are some graphic pictures in the book, so if you are sensitive to that sort of thing, you may want to skip the meat chapter. I read it and was like ewwwwwww you mean they roll around in the own shit then eat THAT, and we eat it GROSS I AM NEVER EVER EATING MEAT AGAIN!

 

I highly recommend this book. It has a lot of information. It is not at all preachy. It gives you facts, and she even says that if you WANT to eat meat to get the best you can afford. Maybe after I start feeling better, I will go back to eating Applegate beef. After reading what all goes INTO the animals though, it may be tough to look at a hamburger the same way. I mean I KNOW Applegate takes care of their cows and that their cows have no antibiotics and are grass fed and grass finished. Yes, they are expensive, but at least I know that the beef from those cows won’t kill me and it is not gross to eat those cows. Heh, But to eat a hamburger from McDonald’s from Lord only knows where they get their beef..ewwwwww….

I have been pushing this book on everyone. As I type this, I am on day three of my gluten-free journey, and I can feel changes occurring in me. I know I am detoxing from all the crap and I can’t WAIT until I feel fabulous again!

 

 

five-stars

Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary Vaynerchuk

Posted May 5, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary Vaynerchuk
ISBN: 9780062273079
Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary VaynerchukJab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook by Gary Vaynerchuk
Published by Harper Collins on November 26th 2013
Genres: Business & Economics, Marketing, General, Entrepreneurship, E-Commerce, Internet Marketing
Pages: 224
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

New York Times bestselling author and social media expert Gary Vaynerchuk shares hard-won advice on how to connect with customers and beat the competition. A mash-up of the best elements of Crush It! and The Thank You Economy with a fresh spin, Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook is a blueprint to social media marketing strategies that really works. 
When managers and marketers outline their social media strategies, they plan for the “right hook”—their next sale or campaign that’s going to knock out the competition. Even companies committed to jabbing—patiently engaging with customers to build the relationships crucial to successful social media campaigns—want to land the punch that will take down their opponent or their customer’s resistance in one blow. Right hooks convert traffic to sales and easily show results. Except when they don’t.
Thanks to massive change and proliferation in social media platforms, the winning combination of jabs and right hooks is different now. Vaynerchuk shows that while communication is still key, context matters more than ever. It’s not just about developing high-quality content, but developing high-quality content perfectly adapted to specific social media platforms and mobile devices—content tailor-made for Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter, and Tumblr.

I have been hearing about Gary Vee for years but have never read him until now. I decided to see what all the hype was. I also follow him on Instagram and his personality is really…out there… So I wasn’t too sure what to expect with his books. I know this one was written a while ago so his later books might have a different tone but the tone of this book was waaaayyyyyy more subdued than how he is on Instagram.

I was also looking to learn more about social media. On that aspect, this book seemed more geared toward beginners. I DID learn some twitter tips and twitter seems to be the place where I struggle most so I did come away with some valuable insight. I am testing them to see if they still work as this book was written a couple years ago and we all know how fast social media can change. I mean he had a chapter on Vine and we all know what sad fate befell them.

He also had a chapter on SnapChat. I have to admit I REALLY don’t get SnapChat. I think I am just getting old BUT I did learn how other people use the platform so I will give it more time. People keep adding me on there so I must be doing something right. I LOVE the filters on SnapChat and now with my implants, I can hear people doing the funny voices and what can I say I am easily amused. I am also testing his recommendations for that platform.

I did find his chapter on Pinterest lacking. I mean he makes it sound like all you need is a pretty board and you will get thousands of followers which we know is not true. There is an art to using Pinterest and if you want people to actually find your pins you better have some keywords and such. I felt he could have done better on that but he is not really in the demographic so I should cut him some slack.

All in all, i felt that the overall tone of the book.  Give …give…give..give…. ask was on point. Too often I see people going straight for the asking when they haven’t really given anything yet. It takes the time to build a level of trust up to the point where people are going to part with their hard earned dollars. I recently joined a mastermind but I watched that person’s blog and stuff for TWO YEARS before I was ready to part with my cash. And this is a blogger that gives almost everything away for free. I watched and I waited……and when she launched a mastermind I decided that this was worth my money. So that tactic does work. I also have my eye on some more courses but as of now, i am just seeing what free stuff everyone puts out before I part with a 1000 dollars. I don’t care how well known they are that much money makes me want to poop my pants so it is gonna take a high level of trust before I hand over my card.

Overall I felt this book had some good tips. There were some areas that were lacking so I would recommend you get this book from a library.

 

 

four-stars

Guest Book Review: The Alpha Female’s Guide to Men and Marriage: How Love Works” by Suzanne Venker

Posted April 11, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781618688446
Guest Book Review: The Alpha Female’s Guide to Men and Marriage: How Love Works” by Suzanne VenkerThe Alpha Female's Guide to Men and Marriage by Suzanne Venker
Published by Simon and Schuster on February 14th 2017
Genres: Family & Relationships, Love & Romance, Marriage & Long-Term Relationships, Self-Help, General
Pages: 176
Goodreads

As seen on Fox & Friends
The Alpha Female's Guide to Men and Marriage shows women who have a dominating personality how to love a man.
America is in love with the alpha female. She’s the quintessential modern woman—assertive, razor sharp, and fully in control. Her success in the marketplace is undeniable, a downright boon to society. But what happens when the alpha female gets married?
She becomes an alpha wife, of course.
An alpha wife is in charge of everything and everyone. She is, quite simply, the Boss. The problem is, no man wants a boss for a wife. That type of relationship may work for a spell, but it will eventually come crashing down. Since 1970, just as women became more and more powerful outside the home—more alpha—the divorce rate has quadrupled. And it is women who lead the charge. Today, 70% of divorce is initiated by wives.
Do men just make lousy husbands? Not at that rate, says Suzanne Venker, bestselling author of The War on Men. The truth is that women don’t know how to be wives. Why would they? That’s not what they were raised to become.
But women can learn. There’s an art to loving a man, says Venker, and any woman can master it. An alpha female herself, Venker learned how to be a wife the hard way—through trial and error. Lots of error. And here’s what she knows today—the set of skills a woman needs to pursue a career, or even to raise children, is the exact set of skills that will mess up her marriage but good. No man likes to be told what to do. And no woman respects the man who does.
The Alpha Female's Guide to Men and Marriage gives women who are used to being in charge the tools they need to make their marriages less competitive and more complementary. Part memoir, part advice, this brave manifesto argues that while marriage is more challenging for the alpha female, it is possible to find peace in your marriage. In fact, it may be easier than you think.

The Alpha Female’s Guide to Men and Marriage: How Love Works” by Suzanne Venker was just the book I needed. Being a newlywed and an alpha female myself, it was helpful to read this before I went too far down the wrong marriage path and made the same mistakes that the author did! A few points that stuck out and resonated with me were:

 

 

  1. “People who lack the ability to trust compensate by taking control.” I have had trust issues ever since my boyfriend back in freshman year of high school slept with my older brother’s ex-girlfriend and the whole school knew about it except for me. I wish it didn’t affect me the way it had, but it was during a really formative time in my life and I decided then and there that I would never again be the “stupid girl”. So I hardened my heart and I guess decided to become an ‘alpha female’ so that I wouldn’t get hurt again which has correlated to not wanting to be vulnerable in relationships and taking control when I can’t trust.
  2. Another point Suzanne made was that “no relationship can last if one person is mentally preparing to get burned by the other” and that is what made me decide to change my mindset about my husband, instead of constantly trying to protect myself, I decided that we are in this together have started to be completely vulnerable in trusting him. And honestly he hasn’t given me even a millimeter of a doubt not to, so it is about time (after 6 years of being together)!
  3. “Your attitude is the single most important determiner of your success in life and marriage.” I thought this was quite extreme but honestly quite surprisingly true. Once I mentally let go of my distrust, life has become so much easier because my mind is a lot calmer, not constantly trying to find something wrong. What I used to believe was if I found out about something before it happened, I would hurt less, but even saying that aloud now sounds kind of silly. It is better to trust first until proven wrong than the other way around.
  4. “Ironically the deepest need of the wife, to feel loved, is undermined by her disrespect.” This stuck out to me because of how true it was for me in the early days while we were still dating, in order to prove that I was in charge, I would make snarky remarks or tease him in front of my family and his friends, without realizing that it was causing a rift between us. It wasn’t until he wanted to break up with me and my family started pointing my bad habits out that I decided I needed to control my tongue and start being nicer because no one wants to love someone who is mean all the time!
  5. “Be easy to please and you will be easy to love.” When I read that I was like, yea right I am going to be easy – he needs to earn my love! But Suzanne makes a good point; first off, I am already married so honestly he shouldn’t need to be constantly pursuing me, but also who wants to feel that they need to be on presentation mode all the time? She connects this way of thinking with the American culture that “easy women” aren’t the ideal. This may be true outside of marriage but once you are married it is a whole different situation.
  6. “Culture elevates women in not changing themselves, but that is ridiculous because you need to improve.” No one should change themselves for a man, but once you have decided on a man and in order to constantly be growing in the same direction, one must change! When I first met my husband we were in college, now we are both in the working world and completely different people than we were just 6 years ago. If we didn’t grow and adapt to each other, we probably wouldn’t still be together.
  7. “In the same way women release while talking, men release sexually.” I thought this was an extremely interesting point that isn’t often talked about! If my husband wasn’t around to listen to me and talk to me, I know I would go crazy and have all these pent up feelings, so to relate talking to sex is very interesting to me because I have a tangible way of understanding how he would feel if I were ever to “hold sex” against him or use it as a weapon!

 

Suzanne made lots of other interesting points in her book, which you will have to read for yourself to find out what you relate to most. Overall, it was a very easy and eye-opening read for me, partly because I agreed on a lot of her points, but also it was packed full of useful and actionable items. Definitely learned a lot from it and will be implementing these new insights in my marriage life!

I recently featured Suzanne Venker on my blog, Ladybossblogger.com, a blog that highlights female entrepreneurs via interviews – please check out her interview by clicking here.

Review: Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet: Tasting the Goodness of God in All Things by Sara Hagerty

Posted December 16, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ISBN: 9780310339953
Review: Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet: Tasting the Goodness of God in All Things by Sara HagertyEvery Bitter Thing Is Sweet by Sara Hagerty
Published by Zondervan on October 7th 2014
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, Spiritual Growth, General, Inspirational
Pages: 208
Format: eARC
Source: publisher
Goodreads
three-stars

Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet by Sara Hagerty is the story of a woman whose life expectations went unmet while her heart became re-acquainted with her first Love. God, who comes in the hunger that pain so masterfully produces, worked His way into her insides to write a love-story as universal as the barrenness that every life clothed-in-flesh wears.
 A back alley is an unsuspecting place for a brush with God. In the age of fingertip access to pipe dreams and a ceiling-less supply of ambitions, where do you find the God who was birthed in dirt and straw? Sara Hagerty found Him when life stopped working for her. It was after almost a decade of Christian life and ministry when she was introduced to pain and perplexity. God met her and moved her when life broke.
 Hagerty weaves in and out (not necessarily sequentially) stories of her conversion and teen years, dating years, infertility, adoption, early years of marriage, husband's business failure, and family health issues. The overall message is that all the tough times end up teaching her major lessons about herself and God.

my review

I rarely have such mixed feelings about a book. Normally I can tell you that I either liked it, or I hated it and I can tell you why. I really want to work on my faith. I understand that by faith I am-am more Danielle Laporte than Billy Gram. I mean I can read Pema Chadron and be all like omg she is BRILLIANT! But I read something like this book and there is SOMETHING that I have resorted to calling the holier than thou asshole test. This is where people tray and sound how the Lord had helped them but in doing so they make people like me who I will fully admit to being broken sinners feel like assholes.

For example, when I read someone like Pema Chadron I can relate to her and I feel like I am on the right path and that I am on the brink of an awaking. I feel good and I want to do good and I want all humankind to feel peace and joy and communion with our creator or the source as it is called in some circles. To me, the Creator IS the source so.

I read Something like Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet and I read about how to agreed to Give her life to the Lord at 16 and followed all the rules I feel like and asshole because at 16 I was battling drug addiction  and a mental illness and my single mother was trying to keep my ass out of Juvenile. (I am a productive member of society nowadays and I have never been in an adult jail so therapy  and medication really do work). I  feel like scum because of all I put my mom through. And that makes me not like the book.

To be fair, the writing is beautiful. It is an internal journey of a woman getting to the core of communion with God. It tells the story of how God peeled back layers and layers til what was left was a precious diamond that reflects God. I LOVED the language and how she described her internal journey. and yet…

I felt worse and worse. Like I wasn’t good enough. Like maybe I was unsavable which I know is not true. God has blessed me with a life beyond my wildest dreams and I now try and follow him, but I KNOW I am still broken in a fallen world and I will never reach the heights of holiness that this author talks about. I could feel the anger in me that all she lacked was getting pregnant. That is all she couldn’t get pregnant. I wanted to tell her to try fertility treatment or something. I hate to admit this, but I felt as if her problem was really not all that big a deal. I know couples who deal with this will disagree with me, but I somehow feel that that people who have suffered withdrawal from drugs and cancer patients and the lack have far more to deal with and so what if you can’t have a kid?

Again my feelings with this book stem from a personal nature. This is a beautiful book to read if you have only faced something of a similar nature. That language is out of this world and it is a beautiful story. So I gave it three stars.

final verdict

 

IT WAS OK

three-stars

Review: (Lumberjanes #1) by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen (Illustrator)

Posted November 10, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ISBN: 9781681594873
Review: (Lumberjanes #1) by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen (Illustrator)Lumberjanes #16 by Noelle StevensonShannon Watters
Published by BOOM! Studios on July 15th 2015
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, General, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Contemporary Women
Pages: 32
Goodreads

Which side does Jen choose, Abigail or Rosie?! While Abigail tries to lure a monster out so she can kill it (which is all kinds of crazy), Jen goes to the bearwoman for help.

my review

It was late at night during the readathon, and I needed something easy to read that would not put me to sleep. I had heard about this comic from somewhere I cant remember where but It was on scribed, so I started reading and fell in love. I wish I had comics like this when I was a teenager. I remember back in the old days all they had was Superman and Batman, and I hated both with a fiery passion. I equated comics with those two and stayed far far far away. I ca see now that comics have really changed. I wish I had given them a chance earlier but better late than never right?

I love how each girl is her own and how they are all accepted no matter what. There are the two girls who are in a sorta relationship. Instead of making a big deal out of it, they treat it just as it was another normal thing, which it is.  There is the girl who is afraid of spiders, the hyperactive one, etc. No matter what though everyone has everyone else’s back.

I also loved the fantasy aspect of it. The magical creatures, the monsters all of that. It wasn’t scary at all but more in line of a good fantasy novel.

I loved this one so much that I put a hold for volume two at my library. It must ne really popular as it will be a while before it gets to me. I really can’t wait!

final verdict

i loved it