Genre: General

Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary Vaynerchuk

Posted May 5, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary Vaynerchuk
ISBN: 9780062273079
Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary VaynerchukJab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook by Gary Vaynerchuk
Published by Harper Collins on November 26th 2013
Genres: Business & Economics, Marketing, General, Entrepreneurship, E-Commerce, Internet Marketing
Pages: 224
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

New York Times bestselling author and social media expert Gary Vaynerchuk shares hard-won advice on how to connect with customers and beat the competition. A mash-up of the best elements of Crush It! and The Thank You Economy with a fresh spin, Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook is a blueprint to social media marketing strategies that really works. 
When managers and marketers outline their social media strategies, they plan for the “right hook”—their next sale or campaign that’s going to knock out the competition. Even companies committed to jabbing—patiently engaging with customers to build the relationships crucial to successful social media campaigns—want to land the punch that will take down their opponent or their customer’s resistance in one blow. Right hooks convert traffic to sales and easily show results. Except when they don’t.
Thanks to massive change and proliferation in social media platforms, the winning combination of jabs and right hooks is different now. Vaynerchuk shows that while communication is still key, context matters more than ever. It’s not just about developing high-quality content, but developing high-quality content perfectly adapted to specific social media platforms and mobile devices—content tailor-made for Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter, and Tumblr.

I have been hearing about Gary Vee for years but have never read him until now. I decided to see what all the hype was. I also follow him on Instagram and his personality is really…out there… So I wasn’t too sure what to expect with his books. I know this one was written a while ago so his later books might have a different tone but the tone of this book was waaaayyyyyy more subdued than how he is on Instagram.

I was also looking to learn more about social media. On that aspect, this book seemed more geared toward beginners. I DID learn some twitter tips and twitter seems to be the place where I struggle most so I did come away with some valuable insight. I am testing them to see if they still work as this book was written a couple years ago and we all know how fast social media can change. I mean he had a chapter on Vine and we all know what sad fate befell them.

He also had a chapter on SnapChat. I have to admit I REALLY don’t get SnapChat. I think I am just getting old BUT I did learn how other people use the platform so I will give it more time. People keep adding me on there so I must be doing something right. I LOVE the filters on SnapChat and now with my implants, I can hear people doing the funny voices and what can I say I am easily amused. I am also testing his recommendations for that platform.

I did find his chapter on Pinterest lacking. I mean he makes it sound like all you need is a pretty board and you will get thousands of followers which we know is not true. There is an art to using Pinterest and if you want people to actually find your pins you better have some keywords and such. I felt he could have done better on that but he is not really in the demographic so I should cut him some slack.

All in all, i felt that the overall tone of the book.  Give …give…give..give…. ask was on point. Too often I see people going straight for the asking when they haven’t really given anything yet. It takes the time to build a level of trust up to the point where people are going to part with their hard earned dollars. I recently joined a mastermind but I watched that person’s blog and stuff for TWO YEARS before I was ready to part with my cash. And this is a blogger that gives almost everything away for free. I watched and I waited……and when she launched a mastermind I decided that this was worth my money. So that tactic does work. I also have my eye on some more courses but as of now, i am just seeing what free stuff everyone puts out before I part with a 1000 dollars. I don’t care how well known they are that much money makes me want to poop my pants so it is gonna take a high level of trust before I hand over my card.

Overall I felt this book had some good tips. There were some areas that were lacking so I would recommend you get this book from a library.

 

 

four-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Guest Book Review: The Alpha Female’s Guide to Men and Marriage: How Love Works” by Suzanne Venker

Posted April 11, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781618688446
Guest Book Review: The Alpha Female’s Guide to Men and Marriage: How Love Works” by Suzanne VenkerThe Alpha Female's Guide to Men and Marriage by Suzanne Venker
Published by Simon and Schuster on February 14th 2017
Genres: Family & Relationships, Love & Romance, Marriage & Long-Term Relationships, Self-Help, General
Pages: 176
Goodreads

As seen on Fox & Friends
The Alpha Female's Guide to Men and Marriage shows women who have a dominating personality how to love a man.
America is in love with the alpha female. She’s the quintessential modern woman—assertive, razor sharp, and fully in control. Her success in the marketplace is undeniable, a downright boon to society. But what happens when the alpha female gets married?
She becomes an alpha wife, of course.
An alpha wife is in charge of everything and everyone. She is, quite simply, the Boss. The problem is, no man wants a boss for a wife. That type of relationship may work for a spell, but it will eventually come crashing down. Since 1970, just as women became more and more powerful outside the home—more alpha—the divorce rate has quadrupled. And it is women who lead the charge. Today, 70% of divorce is initiated by wives.
Do men just make lousy husbands? Not at that rate, says Suzanne Venker, bestselling author of The War on Men. The truth is that women don’t know how to be wives. Why would they? That’s not what they were raised to become.
But women can learn. There’s an art to loving a man, says Venker, and any woman can master it. An alpha female herself, Venker learned how to be a wife the hard way—through trial and error. Lots of error. And here’s what she knows today—the set of skills a woman needs to pursue a career, or even to raise children, is the exact set of skills that will mess up her marriage but good. No man likes to be told what to do. And no woman respects the man who does.
The Alpha Female's Guide to Men and Marriage gives women who are used to being in charge the tools they need to make their marriages less competitive and more complementary. Part memoir, part advice, this brave manifesto argues that while marriage is more challenging for the alpha female, it is possible to find peace in your marriage. In fact, it may be easier than you think.

The Alpha Female’s Guide to Men and Marriage: How Love Works” by Suzanne Venker was just the book I needed. Being a newlywed and an alpha female myself, it was helpful to read this before I went too far down the wrong marriage path and made the same mistakes that the author did! A few points that stuck out and resonated with me were:

 

 

  1. “People who lack the ability to trust compensate by taking control.” I have had trust issues ever since my boyfriend back in freshman year of high school slept with my older brother’s ex-girlfriend and the whole school knew about it except for me. I wish it didn’t affect me the way it had, but it was during a really formative time in my life and I decided then and there that I would never again be the “stupid girl”. So I hardened my heart and I guess decided to become an ‘alpha female’ so that I wouldn’t get hurt again which has correlated to not wanting to be vulnerable in relationships and taking control when I can’t trust.
  2. Another point Suzanne made was that “no relationship can last if one person is mentally preparing to get burned by the other” and that is what made me decide to change my mindset about my husband, instead of constantly trying to protect myself, I decided that we are in this together have started to be completely vulnerable in trusting him. And honestly he hasn’t given me even a millimeter of a doubt not to, so it is about time (after 6 years of being together)!
  3. “Your attitude is the single most important determiner of your success in life and marriage.” I thought this was quite extreme but honestly quite surprisingly true. Once I mentally let go of my distrust, life has become so much easier because my mind is a lot calmer, not constantly trying to find something wrong. What I used to believe was if I found out about something before it happened, I would hurt less, but even saying that aloud now sounds kind of silly. It is better to trust first until proven wrong than the other way around.
  4. “Ironically the deepest need of the wife, to feel loved, is undermined by her disrespect.” This stuck out to me because of how true it was for me in the early days while we were still dating, in order to prove that I was in charge, I would make snarky remarks or tease him in front of my family and his friends, without realizing that it was causing a rift between us. It wasn’t until he wanted to break up with me and my family started pointing my bad habits out that I decided I needed to control my tongue and start being nicer because no one wants to love someone who is mean all the time!
  5. “Be easy to please and you will be easy to love.” When I read that I was like, yea right I am going to be easy – he needs to earn my love! But Suzanne makes a good point; first off, I am already married so honestly he shouldn’t need to be constantly pursuing me, but also who wants to feel that they need to be on presentation mode all the time? She connects this way of thinking with the American culture that “easy women” aren’t the ideal. This may be true outside of marriage but once you are married it is a whole different situation.
  6. “Culture elevates women in not changing themselves, but that is ridiculous because you need to improve.” No one should change themselves for a man, but once you have decided on a man and in order to constantly be growing in the same direction, one must change! When I first met my husband we were in college, now we are both in the working world and completely different people than we were just 6 years ago. If we didn’t grow and adapt to each other, we probably wouldn’t still be together.
  7. “In the same way women release while talking, men release sexually.” I thought this was an extremely interesting point that isn’t often talked about! If my husband wasn’t around to listen to me and talk to me, I know I would go crazy and have all these pent up feelings, so to relate talking to sex is very interesting to me because I have a tangible way of understanding how he would feel if I were ever to “hold sex” against him or use it as a weapon!

 

Suzanne made lots of other interesting points in her book, which you will have to read for yourself to find out what you relate to most. Overall, it was a very easy and eye-opening read for me, partly because I agreed on a lot of her points, but also it was packed full of useful and actionable items. Definitely learned a lot from it and will be implementing these new insights in my marriage life!

I recently featured Suzanne Venker on my blog, Ladybossblogger.com, a blog that highlights female entrepreneurs via interviews – please check out her interview by clicking here.

Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet: Tasting the Goodness of God in All Things by Sara Hagerty

Posted December 16, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ISBN: 9780310339953
Review: Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet: Tasting the Goodness of God in All Things by Sara HagertyEvery Bitter Thing Is Sweet by Sara Hagerty
Published by Zondervan on October 7th 2014
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, Spiritual Growth, General, Inspirational
Pages: 208
Format: eARC
Source: publisher
Goodreads
three-stars

Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet by Sara Hagerty is the story of a woman whose life expectations went unmet while her heart became re-acquainted with her first Love. God, who comes in the hunger that pain so masterfully produces, worked His way into her insides to write a love-story as universal as the barrenness that every life clothed-in-flesh wears.
 A back alley is an unsuspecting place for a brush with God. In the age of fingertip access to pipe dreams and a ceiling-less supply of ambitions, where do you find the God who was birthed in dirt and straw? Sara Hagerty found Him when life stopped working for her. It was after almost a decade of Christian life and ministry when she was introduced to pain and perplexity. God met her and moved her when life broke.
 Hagerty weaves in and out (not necessarily sequentially) stories of her conversion and teen years, dating years, infertility, adoption, early years of marriage, husband's business failure, and family health issues. The overall message is that all the tough times end up teaching her major lessons about herself and God.

my review

I rarely have such mixed feelings about a book. Normally I can tell you that I either liked it, or I hated it and I can tell you why. I really want to work on my faith. I understand that by faith I am-am more Danielle Laporte than Billy Gram. I mean I can read Pema Chadron and be all like omg she is BRILLIANT! But I read something like this book and there is SOMETHING that I have resorted to calling the holier than thou asshole test. This is where people tray and sound how the Lord had helped them but in doing so they make people like me who I will fully admit to being broken sinners feel like assholes.

For example, when I read someone like Pema Chadron I can relate to her and I feel like I am on the right path and that I am on the brink of an awaking. I feel good and I want to do good and I want all humankind to feel peace and joy and communion with our creator or the source as it is called in some circles. To me, the Creator IS the source so.

I read Something like Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet and I read about how to agreed to Give her life to the Lord at 16 and followed all the rules I feel like and asshole because at 16 I was battling drug addiction  and a mental illness and my single mother was trying to keep my ass out of Juvenile. (I am a productive member of society nowadays and I have never been in an adult jail so therapy  and medication really do work). I  feel like scum because of all I put my mom through. And that makes me not like the book.

To be fair, the writing is beautiful. It is an internal journey of a woman getting to the core of communion with God. It tells the story of how God peeled back layers and layers til what was left was a precious diamond that reflects God. I LOVED the language and how she described her internal journey. and yet…

I felt worse and worse. Like I wasn’t good enough. Like maybe I was unsavable which I know is not true. God has blessed me with a life beyond my wildest dreams and I now try and follow him, but I KNOW I am still broken in a fallen world and I will never reach the heights of holiness that this author talks about. I could feel the anger in me that all she lacked was getting pregnant. That is all she couldn’t get pregnant. I wanted to tell her to try fertility treatment or something. I hate to admit this, but I felt as if her problem was really not all that big a deal. I know couples who deal with this will disagree with me, but I somehow feel that that people who have suffered withdrawal from drugs and cancer patients and the lack have far more to deal with and so what if you can’t have a kid?

Again my feelings with this book stem from a personal nature. This is a beautiful book to read if you have only faced something of a similar nature. That language is out of this world and it is a beautiful story. So I gave it three stars.

final verdict

 

IT WAS OK

three-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: (Lumberjanes #1) by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen (Illustrator)

Posted November 10, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ISBN: 9781681594873
Review: (Lumberjanes #1) by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen (Illustrator)Lumberjanes #16 by Noelle StevensonShannon Watters
Published by BOOM! Studios on July 15th 2015
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, General, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Contemporary Women
Pages: 32
Goodreads

Which side does Jen choose, Abigail or Rosie?! While Abigail tries to lure a monster out so she can kill it (which is all kinds of crazy), Jen goes to the bearwoman for help.

my review

It was late at night during the readathon, and I needed something easy to read that would not put me to sleep. I had heard about this comic from somewhere I cant remember where but It was on scribed, so I started reading and fell in love. I wish I had comics like this when I was a teenager. I remember back in the old days all they had was Superman and Batman, and I hated both with a fiery passion. I equated comics with those two and stayed far far far away. I ca see now that comics have really changed. I wish I had given them a chance earlier but better late than never right?

I love how each girl is her own and how they are all accepted no matter what. There are the two girls who are in a sorta relationship. Instead of making a big deal out of it, they treat it just as it was another normal thing, which it is.  There is the girl who is afraid of spiders, the hyperactive one, etc. No matter what though everyone has everyone else’s back.

I also loved the fantasy aspect of it. The magical creatures, the monsters all of that. It wasn’t scary at all but more in line of a good fantasy novel.

I loved this one so much that I put a hold for volume two at my library. It must ne really popular as it will be a while before it gets to me. I really can’t wait!

final verdict

i loved it

 

Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: SuperBetter: A Revolutionary Approach to Getting Stronger, Happier, Braver and More Resilient -Powered by the Science of Games by Jane McGonigal

Posted October 15, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780698185500
Book Review: SuperBetter: A Revolutionary Approach to Getting Stronger, Happier, Braver and More Resilient -Powered by the Science of Games by Jane McGonigalSuperBetter by Jane McGonigal
Published by Penguin on September 15th 2015
Genres: Self-Help, Personal Growth, Happiness, Psychology, General, Games, Video & Electronic
Pages: 400
Format: ebook
Source: bought
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

An innovative guide to living gamefully, based on the program that has already helped nearly half a million people achieve remarkable personal growthIn 2009, internationally renowned game designer Jane McGonigal suffered a severe concussion. Unable to think clearly or work or even get out of bed, she became anxious and depressed, even suicidal. But rather than let herself sink further, she decided to get better by doing what she does best: she turned her recovery process into a resilience-building game. What started as a simple motivational exercise quickly became a set of rules for “post-traumatic growth” that she shared on her blog. These rules led to a digital game and a major research study with the National Institutes of Health. Today nearly half a million people have played SuperBetter to get stronger, happier, and healthier.
But the life-changing ideas behind SuperBetter are much bigger than just one game. In this book, McGonigal reveals a decade’s worth of scientific research into the ways all games—including videogames, sports, and puzzles—change how we respond to stress, challenge, and pain. She explains how we can cultivate new powers of recovery and resilience in everyday life simply by adopting a more “gameful” mind-set. Being gameful means bringing the same psychological strengths we naturally display when we play games—such as optimism, creativity, courage, and determination—to real-world goals.
Drawing on hundreds of studies, McGonigal shows that getting superbetter is as simple as tapping into the three core psychological strengths that games help you build:
   • Your ability to control your attention, and therefore your thoughts and feelings    • Your power to turn anyone into a potential ally, and to strengthen your existing relationships    • Your natural capacity to motivate yourself and super-charge your heroic qualities, like willpower, compassion, and determination
SuperBetter contains nearly 100 playful challenges anyone can undertake in order to build these gameful strengths. It includes stories and data from people who have used the SuperBetter method to get stronger in the face of illness, injury, and other major setbacks, as well as to achieve goals like losing weight, running a marathon, and finding a new job.
As inspiring as it is down to earth, and grounded in rigorous research, SuperBetter is a proven game plan for a better life. You’ll never say that something is “just a game” again.
From the Hardcover edition.

my review

I am a huge gamer, and I also have been playing the Superbetter game ever since it came out. I had to admit that I really did not know HOW to play to get the most out of it, but after reading this book I feel as if I have a better grasp of the game.

She tells about how playing games can help us in real life everyday problems. I have to admit that I had never thought about taking my gaming obsession and applying it to real life problems. I mean really, How can World Od Warcraft help me when I am depressed. After reading this book, I realized that the skills in WOW like asking for help, working in a team, etc. can translate into the “real” world. I applied that to my life. I started asking for help and was surprised at how many people responded. It seems that there were a lot of people who wanted to help me but wasn’t sure how. I went back and started playing superbetter again and this time I knew HOW to play to get results. I got some of my friends to sign up for allies. And I can honestly feel that my depression and anxiety symptoms have become manageable.

I also love how she input tricks and power-ups into the book. Like for example anxiety and excitement is physically the same thing so if you feel anxious just make yourself think you are excited, and it becomes bearable. I tried this once, and it worked. I prefer to cut down on anxiety by the way of benzos but if you do not have access to them, then this is a good trick.

Another good trick is to breath in for 4 seconds and then breathe out for 8. This apparently does something to your nervous system and can stop anxiety and migraines and stuff. She admits that it is not perfect but most of the times she can get by without medication. I have wondered if this would help me. I am not to keen to try it though as even thinking about my anxiety gives me anxiety. I have learned that when I feel overwhelmed if breath like that then I can calm down.

I have added my power ups to the mix. Like I am trying to eat healthily so when I want junk food I eat a piece of fruit. When I feel horrible mediate and stuff like that. I still like all people with a serious chronic condition have bad days, but now they are fewer and farther spaced. I spend less time in bed curled into a fetal position not so patiently waiting for the end of time and more out and about and living. So the program works. I would recommend this to anyone with a  serious chronic condition. It is a great tool to make the living with your condition easier and enables you actually to make a life worth getting out of the bed.

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times by Pema Chödrön

Posted October 13, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781590302262
Review: When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times by Pema ChödrönWhen Things Fall Apart by Pema Chödrön
Published by Shambhala Publications on January 11th 2005
Genres: Religion, Buddhism, General
Pages: 185
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

There is a fundamental opportunity for happiness right within our reach, yet we usually miss it—ironically, while we are caught up in attempts to escape pain and suffering. Drawn from traditional Buddhist wisdom, Pema Chödrön's radical and compassionate advice for what to do when things fall apart in our lives goes against the grain of our usual habits and expectations. There is only one approach to suffering that is of lasting benefit, Pema teaches, and that approach involves movingtowardpainful situations with friendliness and curiosity, relaxing into the essential groundlessness of our entire situation. It is there, in the midst of chaos, that we can discover the truth and love that are indestructible. Included in the book are:
   •  Ways to use painful emotions to cultivate wisdom, compassion, and courage    •  Methods of communicating that lead to openness and true intimacy with others    •  Practices for reversing negative habitual patterns    •  Techniques for working with chaotic situations    •  Tools for cultivating compassionate, energetic social action

my review

I heard about Pema Chodron while reading the Desire Map. I am in Love with Danielle Laporte so anything she says to read I will, even if it is just the back of a cereal box. So when I saw her talking about reading Chadron, I went to the library e-book website, and this is the only book they had by her.

Recently I have become interested in spirituality. I am reading up on Buddhism and Reki and all of that. Funny story. I first started reading about Buddhism and it sounded familiar. Then I realized that the stuff they teach you how to deal with Shizoeffective disorder IS Buddhism! All the detach from you emotions and respond from a place of safety, and all of that is all Buddhism. I guess telling people to give it all up to God is not detailed enough to tell people. I thought it was really interesting.

When I first saw the title of this book, my first thought was, but my life is not falling apart. I decided to read it anyway and It was a good book. Chadron talks about the ending of her marriage and how everything in her life fell apart so she started practising Buddhism and was put back together. This hit me to my core. This is exactly how I feel. I felt that when I had my psychotic break in 2007 I exploded into a million pieces and it took a decade to put myself back into a functional human being. I feel like I am whole again I still got cracks that explode under enough pressure. I read book such as this in the hopes of healing those cracks in my psyche.

I wish I had read this book a long time ago. It would have been helpful. Or maybe I wasn’t ready, and now I am. Before I would have made fun of such advice as to transcend your ego and respond from a place of peace, love and safety. That was because I lacked all three, so I lashed out, and the universe gave it right back to me. After a decade and some strong pills, I feel like I can have enough distance from my emotions to take a breather and calm down and respond from a better place. I am still in the process of doing this ALL THE TIME, but I am better than before.

 

four-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart Tolle

Posted September 9, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ISBN: 9781577314806
Book Review: The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart TolleThe Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle
Published by Namaste Pub. on 2004
Genres: Inspiration & Personal Growth, Spirituality, General
Pages: 235
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

It's no wonder that The Power of Now has sold over 2 million copies worldwide and has been translated into over 30 foreign languages. Much more than simple principles and platitudes, the book takes readers on an inspiring spiritual journey to find their true and deepest self and reach the ultimate in personal growth and spirituality: the discovery of truth and light. In the first chapter, Tolle introduces readers to enlightenment and its natural enemy, the mind. He awakens readers to their role as a creator of pain and shows them how to have a pain-free identity by living fully in the present. The journey is thrilling, and along the way, the author shows how to connect to the indestructible essence of our Being, "the eternal, ever-present One Life beyond the myriad forms of life that are subject to birth and death." Featuring a new preface by the author, this paperback shows that only after regaining awareness of Being, liberated from Mind and intensely in the Now, is there Enlightenment.

my review

 

 

I had read A new Earth and loved it so much that I just had to read more by this authour. I hate to say it, but I did like this as much as I liked A New Earth. However, this is not to say that I disliked this book. I feel that it offers a lot of good insights. Eckhart Tolle explains that the best way to have happiness and enlightenment is to live in the now. I admit it SOUNDS easy, but it was hard to wrap my head around this concept. I keep thinking of the future and what it will bring etc. Eckhart Tolle says this will bring anxiety and I admit I do feel anxious. Ever since I have read this I have tried to follow this. Every time I catch myself thinking about the past or present I remind myself that there is only now and what I have at this moment is enough.

 

Eckhart Tolle spent two years living on park benches prior to writing this book living in the now. I wish I could experience such transmittal joy. Maybe if I try hard enough I can. I have no idea. I did not notice how insane my brain could make me before reading this book. I have a habit of going through things over and over in my mind. I was wondering as I read this book if that is why I have anxiety so bad. Cause I keep worrying about stuff that is in the past or future.

The one thing that I did not like about this book was the question and answer format. A New Earth was written like a typical non-fiction book. The Power of now is written in a question and answer format. I felt that it did not go deeply into any one explanation in the book. Other than that thought I felt that it was a good book with a good message.

 

 

four-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose by Eckhart Tolle

Posted August 21, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781101010891
Book Review: A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose by Eckhart TolleA New Earth (Oprah #61) by Eckhart Tolle
Published by Penguin Publishing Group on August 29th 2006
Genres: Self-Help, Spiritual, Personal Growth, Happiness, General
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The bestselling book by one of the 21st century’s most innovative and exciting spiritual thinkers
 With his bestselling spiritual guide The Power of Now, Eckhart Tolle inspired millions of readers to discover the freedom and joy of a life lived "in the now." In A New Earth, Tolle expands on these powerful ideas to show how transcending our ego-based state of consciousness is not only essential to personal happiness, but also the key to ending conflict and suffering throughout the world. Tolle describes how our attachment to the ego creates the dysfunction that leads to anger, jealousy, and unhappiness, and shows readers how to awaken to a new state of consciousness and follow the path to a truly fulfilling existence.
A New Earth was an Oprah Book Club pick and reads as a traditional narrative, offering anecdotes and philosophies in a way that is accessible to all. Illuminating, enlightening, and uplifting, A New Earth is a profoundly spiritual manifesto for a better way of life—and for building a better world.

my review

 

I am a self-development junkie. I also LOVE Danielle Laporte so when she mentioned this book in her book I put it on hold at the library right way.

I like to think that certain books show up when you need them most in life and when you are ready to hear the message. Like there is some Grand Librarian in the sky that plans and doles out just the right book for everyone. This book was an eye opener for me. I have read the reviews on GoodReads making fun of this book but hear me out. I have been trying for a long time to force some changes in my life. Most I did ok but some it seems that I am hell bent on sabotaging myself. In A NEW EARTH, it discusses how our ego gets in the way. We think that the ego is US when it is not really. In order to move forward in life and goals, we need to get beyond the ego. Now there are a million books out there that will tell you the same thing. This book actually shows you how to do it. Like I have heard and read about Zen but I never really understood it. After reading this book, I understand that it is the real true us beyond our egos. I know how woo-woo that sounds, but it is true. I am still working on transcending my ego. It is not as easy as he makes it sound, but it is worth a shot.

The other fascinating thing he talks about in this book is the pain-body. When I first started on that section I was all like OOOKKKKK maybe this is a tad too far but after reading I thought about it, slept on it and decided he has a lot of valid points. I mean we have all seen the angry people band together and to kick each other and all of that so maybe we do attract people with the same pain-body as ourselves. He also mentions that the pain body needs the pain to feed off of so if you starve it then it will…dimmish. At least that is what I think he said. It gets a little woo woo around here so don’t quote me on it.

This is not a book for everyone and even Eckhart Tolle himself says that at the beginning of the book. Tolle says that people who have already “awakened” will get the most out of it. He also says that if you are not yet awakened it will sound like mumbo jumbo. I am not at all sure about that. I like to think other people understand and like this book but if you read the reviews on GoodReads you can see that is not the case.

 

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Posted August 1, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780553418354
Gone Girl by Gillian FlynnGone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Published by Broadway Books on August 26th 2014
Genres: Fiction, General, Media Tie-In, Mystery & Detective, Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 560
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The #1 New York Times BestsellerOn a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne's fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick's clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn't doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife's head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy's fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he's definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

why I read this book

I am probably the last blogger to read this, but reports of mindfuckery were hard to ignore. I love me a book that leaves you feeling like you are on an emotional roller coaster.

my review

 

OMG!! That was my exact thought when I read this book. At first I was like, OK where does it get good? I am impatient when it comes to books. I KNOW you have to have world building and a backdrop but most times it seems as if it drags on. This book wasn’t like that. Not exactly. If I had read it without having any expectations, this would have been a top read of the year. As it was, I was impatient to get to the mind-fuckery part. Maybe I should stop reading reviews before I read the book. That’s an idea for another post.

The plot was fantastic. This is one of that rare book where I did not have found any plot holes. Well at first I thought so but later in the book it turned out it was a plot DEVICE. This book was as near perfect as one can get on this side of eternity. After the mind fuckery part, I was glued to my recliner reading into the wee hours of the morning. I could not put this book down.

I at first thought that Nick for sure had killed his wife and tried to cover it up. I was reading Amy’s Dairy and was like this is a story of a remorseless killer. Then I got to part two and was like OMFG!!  At first I felt sorry for Nick but the more I read, the more I came to admire Amy’s brilliance. I mean, I have been cheated on and broken up with after I had shown my true colors. I got where she was coming from COMPLETLY. At first I was bothered by what she did then I was all like. THAT WOMAN IS BRILLIANT! She deserves an award. And am I the only one that thought she painted herself into a corner in the last part of the book. I mean the story she came up with and the way she got away with murder. It was just breathtaking.

I LOVED this book. Even though the characters are jerks, I found that I could relate to them. Maybe that makes me a bitch also?

loved-it

 

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God by Francis Chan, Danae Yankoski

Posted July 28, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781434768513
Book Review: Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God by Francis Chan, Danae YankoskiCrazy Love by Francis ChanDanae Yankoski
Published by David C. Cook on 2008
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, General
Pages: 186
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

God is love.  Crazy, relentless, all-powerful love.  Have you ever wondered if we're missing it?
It's crazy, if you think about it. The God of the universe--the Creator of nitrogen and pine needles, galaxies and E-minor--loves us with a radical, unconditional, self-sacrificing love. And what is our typical response? We go to church, sing songs, and try not to cuss.
Whether you've verbalized it yet or not, we all know something's wrong.
Does something deep inside your heart long to break free from the status quo? Are you hungry for an authentic faith that addresses the problems of our world with tangible, even radical, solutions? God is calling you to a passionate love relationship with Himself. Because the answer to religious complacency isn't working harder at a list of do's and don'ts-it's falling in love with God. And once you encounter His love, as Francis describes it, you will never be the same. Because when you're wildly in love with someone, it changes everything.
Learn more about Crazy Love at www.crazylovebook.com. Check out Francis Chan's video blog at francischanblog.blogspot.com.  

my review

I have been aching to get closer to God lately. I thought this book sounded good. It seemed like it was written by someone who is close to God and has some good words to say about it. I did not have any pre-conceived notions going into the book.

I liked it ok. It was a refreshment to the usual do this or go to hell type books that so many of my Christian friends read. It was also extreme. I am not too sure how I would feel if God told me to give away everything and do something. Yes, I have a dream of traveling and writing but to GIVE AWAY stuff and trust God? I am ashamed to admit this, but I am not sure if I have that level of confidence in God yet. That is something that I need to work on.

The book has a message of extreme love. It involves giving away stuff and things like that. Not something most of us want to hear. Many of us want to feel vindicated, or that great material blessings are on our way. This book is the opposite of that. For me, it was a hard book to swallow as it pointed out all my weak spots. Then again that is good as I can now work on them.

it-was-ok

three-half-stars
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!