Genre: Personal Growth

Book Review: The War of Art: Break Through the Blocks & Win Your Inner Creative Battles by Steven Pressfield

Posted November 14, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ISBN: 9780446691437
Book Review: The War of Art: Break Through the Blocks & Win Your Inner Creative Battles by Steven PressfieldThe War of Art by Steven Pressfield
Published by Warner Books on 2003
Genres: Self-Help, Personal Growth, General
Pages: 165
Format: ebook
Source: bought
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
two-stars

The Art of War meets "The Artist's Way" in this no-nonsense, profoundly inspiring guide to overcoming creative blocks of every kind.

I have heard some fellow creatives say that this book helped unblock them and how it helped their creativity. I have been feeling somewhat blocked lately and thought this would be a good time to crack it open and learn about some unblocking techniques.

What I Liked

There were a few quotes that I liked. I think there were two of them. The VERY last pages of the book were excellent. I am not saying this to be snarky either, but it was. It was if the majority part of the book was his morning pages, and then the last chapter was the real book. For that reason alone I will read Turning Pro, but I am just gonna borrow that one from the library.

In the next section, i complain about this but t goes both ways I think. I did like the inspirational feel of it at times. Like if i needed some inspiration then this would be a great book.

 

 

 

What I Did Not Like

Oe thing that I did not like was the short snippets of text that made up a chapter. I will be honest, going into this book I thought would be akin to reading The Artist Way or Bird By Bird but no, it was like a paragraph made up a chapter and that was it. And there weren’t even any techniques in the book. It was all inspirational

I really thought that I would be gleaning some insights on how to become unblocked in this book and i felt that what i got was….not that.. If it had been toughted as an inspiratinal book or such then ok, I might not have felt so disappointed, but ugh I am STILL blocked…Which I realize is no fault of the author but still.

There were no real techniques in this book. Expect a prayer to say before you start writing. I am like if it were THAT easy, there would be a lot more authors out there but alas

 

 

 

 

I hated this book. Aside from a few quotes, I felt this want even worth the money I spent on it and I THINK I  even got it on a sale.  I had to force myself to slog my way through it, and I am glad that I did because the last chapter was great, but all the other chapters were just ugh… I WANT MY 2 DOLLARS BACK!!

I think the reason that I was so disappointed though is because I went into it expecting one thing and got another. I wanted techniques that he used to write or to get unblock and instead it was a sappy inspirational book. I feel that had I been in the right frame of mind then I would have thought differently about this book.

two-stars

Book Review: This Is Where You Belong: The Art and Science of Loving the Place You Live by Melody Warnick

Posted October 17, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780143129660
Book Review: This Is Where You Belong: The Art and Science of Loving the Place You Live by Melody WarnickThis Is Where You Belong by Melody Warnick
Published by Penguin on July 4th 2017
Genres: Psychology, Mental Health, Self-Help, Personal Growth, Happiness, Social Science, Sociology, General
Pages: 320
Format: ebook
Source: bought
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

In the spirit of Gretchen Rubin's megaseller The Happiness Project and Eric Weiner's The Geography of Bliss, a journalist embarks on a project to discover what it takes to love where you live

The average restless American will move 11.7 times in a lifetime. For Melody Warnick, it was move #6, from Austin, Texas, to Blacksburg, Virginia, that threatened to unhinge her. In the lonely aftermath of unpacking, she wondered: Aren't we supposed to put down roots at some point? How does the place we live become the place we want to stay? This time, she had an epiphany. Rather than hold her breath and hope this new town would be her family's perfect fit, she would figure out how to fall in love with it--no matter what.      How we come to feel at home in our towns and cities is what Warnick sets out to discover in This Is Where You Belong. She dives into the body of research around place attachment--the deep sense of connection that binds some of us to our cities and increases our physical and emotional well-being--then travels to towns across America to see it in action. Inspired by a growing movement of placemaking, she examines what its practitioners are doing to create likeable locales. She also speaks with frequent movers and loyal stayers around the country to learn what draws highly mobile Americans to a new city, and what makes us stay. The best ideas she imports to her adopted hometown of Blacksburg for a series of Love Where You Live experiments designed to make her feel more locally connected. Dining with her neighbors. Shopping Small Business Saturday. Marching in the town Christmas parade.      Can these efforts make a halfhearted resident happier? Will Blacksburg be the place she finally stays? What Warnick learns will inspire you to embrace your own community--and perhaps discover that the place where you live right now . . . is home.

From the Hardcover edition.

 

I have to be honest. I am the type of person that packs up and moves every three years. I don’t know WHY I just get that itch that my life would be better if I were SOMEWHERE ELSE. I am a freelance ghostwriter, so I can live anywhere and maybe that is the problem. I never give anyplace a chance. I am currently in Cleveland, and I have been here a record of 5 years. I am starting to get that itch again so when I saw this book as a daily Kindle deal I grabbed it in the hopes that it would have some clues on how to love where I live. I am tired of packing up and leaving so this was the perfect opportunity to get some insight on how to NOT give in to that itch.

What I Liked

First of all, I loved how honest she was about that itch in moving. I could completely understand. I thought it was me and that I had issues but reading this I realized that America is the most mobile country on earth. It seems that almost half of us pack up and move every three to 5 years. I felt a LOT better after reading that.

I also loved her background information. Providing background information can be dangerous as some authors into boring you to tears. But not Melody Warnick her insights and information was highly useful to a person such as me who after three years thinks that ANYWHERE else would be the perfect place.  I feel lots better knowing that I am just one of millions of Americans who think the same

I loved her checklists on how to make roots and feel like you belong. I realized that I do that here in Cleveland more than any other place I have lived. Maybe it causes with my Cochlear Ear Implants I can hear now, and I became more involved in the community. for example I joined a book club at the library. I go to bookish events, and I frequent my favorite used bookstore, and I have become great friends at the little health food store I found near my apartment. In every other place I lived, I never did any of that. So I realize now that suppose I get married and move I know what to do to put down roots wherever I end up, but you know what? For the time being, I am staying here in Cleveland because I feel like I finally have a life here and THAT makes all the difference.

 

What I Did Not Like

The only complaint that I have was I wanted to hear more of HER story and not research facts all the time. She gives us little looks into her life but not as much as some other authors do. I can understand some people need privacy and are not as open, but sometimes it felt as if I was reading a textbook. I went into it expecting more of a memoir type thing so maybe that why that bugged me.

 

I enjoyed this book and learned a lot from it. I learned how to put down roots, and I realized that while I may not be out placemaking, I do get involved in the community in some ways, and that makes all the difference. I think that’s why I  have stayed here a record of 5 years. My friends can’t believe that I would stay in Cleveland for so long, but I do like it here. I would recommend this book to anyone feeling that old familiar itch to move..move…move…. Trust me I have moved dozens of times, and no place is “better” if you don’t attempt to put down some roots. So if you are one of the people who has a VIP to Uhaul then go and read this book…you can thank me later.

 

five-stars
Rating Report
Writing
five-stars
Cover
five-stars
Overall: five-stars

Book Review: Tools of Titans: The Tactics, Routines, and Habits of Billionaires, Icons, and World-Class Performers by Timothy Ferriss

Posted August 11, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

ISBN: 9781328684059
Book Review: Tools of Titans: The Tactics, Routines, and Habits of Billionaires, Icons, and World-Class Performers by Timothy FerrissTools of Titans by Timothy Ferriss
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt on December 6th 2016
Genres: Business & Economics, General, Self-Help, Personal Growth, Success
Pages: 736
Format: hardcover
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

The latest groundbreaking tome from Tim Ferriss, the #1 New York Times best-selling author of The 4-Hour Workweek.  From the author:   “For the last two years, I’ve interviewed more than 200 world-class performers for my podcast, The Tim Ferriss Show. The guests range from super celebs (Jamie Foxx, Arnold Schwarzenegger, etc.) and athletes (icons of powerlifting, gymnastics, surfing, etc.) to legendary Special Operations commanders and black-market biochemists. For most of my guests, it’s the first time they’ve agreed to a two-to-three-hour interview. This unusual depth has helped make The Tim Ferriss Show the first business/interview podcast to pass 100 million downloads.   “This book contains the distilled tools, tactics, and ‘inside baseball’ you won’t find anywhere else. It also includes new tips from past guests, and life lessons from new ‘guests’ you haven’t met.   “What makes the show different is a relentless focus on actionable details. This is reflected in the questions. For example: What do these people do in the first sixty minutes of each morning? What do their workout routines look like, and why? What books have they gifted most to other people? What are the biggest wastes of time for novices in their field? What supplements do they take on a daily basis?   “I don’t view myself as an interviewer. I view myself as an experimenter. If I can’t test something and replicate results in the messy reality of everyday life, I’m not interested.   “Everything within these pages has been vetted, explored, and applied to my own life in some fashion. I’ve used dozens of the tactics and philosophies in high-stakes negotiations, high-risk environments, or large business dealings. The lessons have made me millions of dollars and saved me years of wasted effort and frustration.   “I created this book, my ultimate notebook of high-leverage tools, for myself. It’s changed my life, and I hope the same for you.”

My first thought after I turned the page of this book was that was one long ass book. I am not sure why chunkers have been intimidating me as of late. It is like I see a book over 300 pages and I run the other way. Maybe I have commitment issues, who knows. I read the Book The 4 hour Work Week, and the publishers made this book sound like this is gonna be the book to solve all of your problems. Tim himself has talked to everyone and distilled all the advice in this easy to understand Value and some such bullshit.
I can’t say much cause I ran up to sign for it at the library and when my hold finally came in I ran to the library to pick it up. I brought it home and started reading. I was all ready to learn the secrets of the Universe. Secrets that would make be happy, healthy and wealthy beyond my wildest dreams.
I should have had an inkling when I read the body part and he was all like Low Carb is the way to go. Ummm no it is no.t I am Vegan. Animal products gross me out. I mean I feel sorry for the animals in a way, but that’s not the sole reason I won’t eat meat. To me, I am just all like ewwwwww dead rotten flesh. Gross. But nope Tim was like low carb is the ONLY way to do and u need ketones and all of that crap. Do not think so Tim.
Then I was like ok so we differ on the diet, and it seems to exercise. I am all like I will just run/walk on the treadmill for an hour, and he has all of these…routines..that I am again like nope.
I should have put the book down but alas this was TIM FERRIS There had to be SOME good in this damn book.
And there was..kinda. I did make some notes on my Kindle. Like I think six notes out of 700 pages. One thing that I kept wondering is how does he fit so many routines in a day. I mean he has a morning routine a breakfast routine and on and on. Don’t he ever just look at the day and goes nope…Not gonna do today and stay in bed with a book? Oh and the books that he professes to read. They range from the obscure the art of archery to some stoic philosophy. Personally, I thought the stoic school of thought was bullshit in college, and I believe it is bullshit now. If I am gonna take after an ancient civilization is gonna be the party loving Romans. But Tim was big on the Stoics. I am like really Tim. Your life is not very stoic at the moment. In fact, it sounds like a privileged white male who is attempting t glean something from nothing. Like why oh why do I feel empty? I know I will read a stoic philosophy and eat dead rotten animals and crawl backward on the floor! Now I have a whole new perspective! Maybe I am just jealous but that what I was thinking when I was reading all of this.
In fact, this whole books reeks of white male privilege. Usually, I can tolerate some in yo face kind of privilege, but this book was way way out there with the privilege aspect of it.
I had to giggle when I came upon his real world MBA. He alertly did not want to take math classes at Stanford, so he invested 160K into some start-ups. Some failed some didn’t. I am not sure why I found this amusing. Maybe it causes after you get your MBA you supposed to know how to migrate the risks but if you are a hands on learner his way would work also.

 

There were a few Gems in Tool of Titans. Like the Wealthy part. I enjoyed that part as I need to learn about stuff such as that. I found it helpful. There are so many people who didn’t get financial advice young that need it now. Especially people who grew up as I did in Central Appalachia. There is no talk of investing there. I try to read what I can so that I can make better financial decisions but some books are just so far over my head. Not this one though. I could pretty much understand the advice in this book. Which is saying a lot since I am financially illiterate.

I think for me I am much more jaded now than when I read 4 hour work week a few years a go.  This was when I had first started my freelancing.Back then I lapped up books like this. Now though it seems to be the same information told again and again. I was even hoping to find out some neat new tech toys (I have a MAJOR case of shiny object Syndrome) but nope all the programs that are mentioned I have already tried out for myself. I could even think f BETTER programs to use than what was in the book.

I kind of wish that I could get back the time that I spent reading this book. At least I did not shell out money for it. I got my copy from the library. So there is that.
If I had to do it all over again I would have DNFed it but ah well. At least I got some financial  advice out of the book. I would encourage you to get the book from the library, and if you like it you can buy it, but for me, I felt as if I already heard it all before.

 

 

 

three-half-stars

Book Review: White Hot Truth: Clarity for Keeping It Real on Your Spiritual Path from One Seeker to Another

Posted July 17, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

ISBN: 9780997651409
Book Review: White Hot Truth: Clarity for Keeping It Real on Your Spiritual Path from One Seeker to AnotherWhite Hot Truth by Danielle LaPorte
Published by VIRTUONICA on May 16th 2017
Genres: Self-Help, General, Self-Help, Personal Growth, Happiness, Motivational & Inspirational, Spiritual
Pages: 264
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Has your self-help become self-criticism? A wise and often hilarious exploration of the conflicts between spiritual aspiration and the compulsion to improve, from Oprah Super Soul 100 member, Danielle LaPorte. Like a wise girlfriend you can totally relate to, Danielle cheerleads you to own your wisdom and self-worth by having a good laugh (and maybe a good cry) at the ways you've been trying to improve on your self-improvement. Rooted in compassion, feminism, and spiritual activism White Hot Truth is an intimate and (hilariously) relatable account of self-help tales gone wrong, and very right. If you love Brene Brown and Liz Gilbert's authenticity, and Marianne Williamson's strong spirit, you'll adore how Danielle lays bare "Boundaries for spiritual people"; the "Discipleshit" that happens when we give our power away; a "Soul-perspective" on suffering; "over tolerance" and "foolish compassion" in relationships, sneaky self-loathing; spiritual glamour. And in her poetic and brazen way, she brings it home with the hottest truth of all: You are your own guru.

As anyone who knows me knows I am a HUGE fan of Danielle Laporte. I stumbled on her about three years a go when I first read the Disiaire Map which broke me into a million pieces. Finally, I thought someone who GETS it. I am always nervous when a new book by a favorite author comes out. I mean will THIS be the book that flops? Has their magic run out? I found this on Scribed and I started to read and OMG this is her BEST book so far.

Think that it helps that I too am a New Age self-help junkie. I mean when my depression first hit this year I delayed in getting help cause maybe I was just working on some stuff. I was and am, but I also needed professional help, and I think that is where people like me run into problems we want to do it all ourselves, and sometimes we just need someone with the right degrees to point us in the right direction.

And Danelle GETS it she has been through therapy, worked with energy healers and the like. I love how she says that we need to craft our course of action to a program that fits US as a person.

I also learned a lot from this book. Like to stay away from shit you don’t fully understand. She tells of her stone story where she had some sacred stones in her apartment, and they started doing weird shit to her. She admits that she had no clue what they did exactly and thus ran into problems. Headaches that wouldn’t go away, a lump on her forehead among other things. People told her it was the stones, but she dismissed it til she no longer could. She finally got rid of them, and all the wired stuff went away also. That is an important lesson to be learned here if you don’t know 10000 percent how something works and can control it then stay far far far away. Power can be useful, but it can also be evil.

One major thing that I learned in this book is that there is something called a Functional Dr. I looked it up ad what do you know they have a clinic thingie at Cleveland Clinic. I am thinking about making an appoint if the take my insurance. The best that I understand it is that it is where East meets West and during my time in Africa I can tell you that unless you have Malaria or something that their traditional meds work a damn lot better than some of the shit that I have been given by traditional Dr’s. In fact apart from my audiologist and my shrink I try and stay far far away from Dr’s. You go in sick then you come out ten times sicker. My friend wasn’t feeling well, and she thought she just had bad allergies or something turns out she had Cancer. I have had several other friends who have had similar experiences.  And the shit traditional  Drs give you mostly just ends up making things worse. My mom has had antibiotics so much she has to take SUPER antibiotics when she gets sick now. I just wonder what she is gonna do when she becomes resistant to THAT.  Every time I felt bad in Cameroon, I would drink ginger, and that works soo much better than Zofran without making you sleep for 48 hours straight. Hmmph

I also like the chapter explaining what it is that everyone does. Like the aforementioned Functional Dr., I learned some neat things. Like what an energy worker is and how to use I love stuff like this so learning all of this is right up my alley. I also love how she keeps it real. There is no superiority complex with her that i have seen in other spiritual self-help junkies.

 

five-stars

Review:Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less by Greg McKeown

Posted November 3, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ISBN: 9780804137386
Review:Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less by Greg McKeownEssentialism by Greg McKeown
Published by Crown Publishing Group on 2014
Genres: Business & Economics, Decision-Making & Problem Solving, Time Management, Personal Success, Self-Help, Personal Growth, Success
Pages: 260
Format: ebook
Source: library
Goodreads
three-half-stars

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND WALL STREET JOURNAL BESTSELLER 
Have you ever found yourself stretched too thin?   Do you simultaneously feel overworked and underutilized?   Are you often busy but not productive?   Do you feel like your time is constantly being hijacked by other people's agendas?   If you answered yes to any of these, the way out is the Way of the Essentialist.   The Way of the Essentialist isn't about getting more done in less time. It's about getting only the right things done.  It is not  a time management strategy, or a productivity technique. It is a systematic discipline for discerning what is absolutely essential, then eliminating everything that is not, so we can make the highest possible contribution towards the things that really matter. 
By forcing us to apply a more selective criteria for what is Essential, the disciplined pursuit of less empowers us to reclaim control of our own choices about where to spend our precious time and energy - instead of giving others the implicit permission to choose for us.
Essentialism is not one more thing - it's a whole new way of doing everything. A must-read for any leader, manager, or individual who wants to learn who to do less, but better, in every area of their lives, Essentialism  is a movement whose time has come.

my reviewSo I am all about paring down to the basics these days. I had heard about this book and thought now I can learn how to pare down to the bare bones of survival. I know, I know it is a good dream but not feasible. However, this book did have some good points about boundaries and stuff. Like if your boss wants you to work on Sunday but you reserve that day for the Lord then you tell your boss to suck it and stick to your guns, and somehow you gain respect and your time back.

There is my biggest problem with this book. Supposed you work at Mickey D’s. If you tell you boss off there then basically you are SOL and jobless. While this book had some good advice, it is only applicable if you are in the upper economic classes. I mean in the freelancing community the hot topic is, should one take weekends and time off to recharge? I love my job, and I love to write, so I haven’t yet reached that crisis point when I tell everyone to fuck off that it is the weekend and not to bother me until Monday. But alas I know some who have. More power to ya. But if my cousin who is a road cleaner (I know there is an official name, but I cant think of it at the moment) tells HIS boss that he is not going to clear the road of snow in the wintertime on weekends cause that is family time, well again he would be SOL.

Again this book is an excellent book if you are upper middle class or richer. It seems that the American consumerism had gotten so big that it busted and now instead of McMansions we all want to go live in tiny houses with a tiny yard and a tiny friends list and a tiny…you get the picture.  But what if one doesn’t have the money or the means to get a tiny house custom built. What if you are really poor, and you do that extreme couponing thing and you need the room to store all that stuff. I feel that not everyone would have the ability to put this book into practice. I know that is more of a comment on our social classes than the book itself but still.

I would recommend this book, though. It DOES have some good valid ideas. We say yes to so many things when we need to be saying no.

three-half-stars

Book Review: SuperBetter: A Revolutionary Approach to Getting Stronger, Happier, Braver and More Resilient -Powered by the Science of Games by Jane McGonigal

Posted October 15, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780698185500
Book Review: SuperBetter: A Revolutionary Approach to Getting Stronger, Happier, Braver and More Resilient -Powered by the Science of Games by Jane McGonigalSuperBetter by Jane McGonigal
Published by Penguin on September 15th 2015
Genres: Self-Help, Personal Growth, Happiness, Psychology, General, Games, Video & Electronic
Pages: 400
Format: ebook
Source: bought
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

An innovative guide to living gamefully, based on the program that has already helped nearly half a million people achieve remarkable personal growthIn 2009, internationally renowned game designer Jane McGonigal suffered a severe concussion. Unable to think clearly or work or even get out of bed, she became anxious and depressed, even suicidal. But rather than let herself sink further, she decided to get better by doing what she does best: she turned her recovery process into a resilience-building game. What started as a simple motivational exercise quickly became a set of rules for “post-traumatic growth” that she shared on her blog. These rules led to a digital game and a major research study with the National Institutes of Health. Today nearly half a million people have played SuperBetter to get stronger, happier, and healthier.
But the life-changing ideas behind SuperBetter are much bigger than just one game. In this book, McGonigal reveals a decade’s worth of scientific research into the ways all games—including videogames, sports, and puzzles—change how we respond to stress, challenge, and pain. She explains how we can cultivate new powers of recovery and resilience in everyday life simply by adopting a more “gameful” mind-set. Being gameful means bringing the same psychological strengths we naturally display when we play games—such as optimism, creativity, courage, and determination—to real-world goals.
Drawing on hundreds of studies, McGonigal shows that getting superbetter is as simple as tapping into the three core psychological strengths that games help you build:
   • Your ability to control your attention, and therefore your thoughts and feelings    • Your power to turn anyone into a potential ally, and to strengthen your existing relationships    • Your natural capacity to motivate yourself and super-charge your heroic qualities, like willpower, compassion, and determination
SuperBetter contains nearly 100 playful challenges anyone can undertake in order to build these gameful strengths. It includes stories and data from people who have used the SuperBetter method to get stronger in the face of illness, injury, and other major setbacks, as well as to achieve goals like losing weight, running a marathon, and finding a new job.
As inspiring as it is down to earth, and grounded in rigorous research, SuperBetter is a proven game plan for a better life. You’ll never say that something is “just a game” again.
From the Hardcover edition.

my review

I am a huge gamer, and I also have been playing the Superbetter game ever since it came out. I had to admit that I really did not know HOW to play to get the most out of it, but after reading this book I feel as if I have a better grasp of the game.

She tells about how playing games can help us in real life everyday problems. I have to admit that I had never thought about taking my gaming obsession and applying it to real life problems. I mean really, How can World Od Warcraft help me when I am depressed. After reading this book, I realized that the skills in WOW like asking for help, working in a team, etc. can translate into the “real” world. I applied that to my life. I started asking for help and was surprised at how many people responded. It seems that there were a lot of people who wanted to help me but wasn’t sure how. I went back and started playing superbetter again and this time I knew HOW to play to get results. I got some of my friends to sign up for allies. And I can honestly feel that my depression and anxiety symptoms have become manageable.

I also love how she input tricks and power-ups into the book. Like for example anxiety and excitement is physically the same thing so if you feel anxious just make yourself think you are excited, and it becomes bearable. I tried this once, and it worked. I prefer to cut down on anxiety by the way of benzos but if you do not have access to them, then this is a good trick.

Another good trick is to breath in for 4 seconds and then breathe out for 8. This apparently does something to your nervous system and can stop anxiety and migraines and stuff. She admits that it is not perfect but most of the times she can get by without medication. I have wondered if this would help me. I am not to keen to try it though as even thinking about my anxiety gives me anxiety. I have learned that when I feel overwhelmed if breath like that then I can calm down.

I have added my power ups to the mix. Like I am trying to eat healthily so when I want junk food I eat a piece of fruit. When I feel horrible mediate and stuff like that. I still like all people with a serious chronic condition have bad days, but now they are fewer and farther spaced. I spend less time in bed curled into a fetal position not so patiently waiting for the end of time and more out and about and living. So the program works. I would recommend this to anyone with a  serious chronic condition. It is a great tool to make the living with your condition easier and enables you actually to make a life worth getting out of the bed.

five-stars

Book Review: A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose by Eckhart Tolle

Posted August 21, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781101010891
Book Review: A New Earth: Awakening to Your Life’s Purpose by Eckhart TolleA New Earth (Oprah #61) by Eckhart Tolle
Published by Penguin Publishing Group on August 29th 2006
Genres: Self-Help, Spiritual, Personal Growth, Happiness, General
Pages: 336
Format: Paperback
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The bestselling book by one of the 21st century’s most innovative and exciting spiritual thinkers
 With his bestselling spiritual guide The Power of Now, Eckhart Tolle inspired millions of readers to discover the freedom and joy of a life lived "in the now." In A New Earth, Tolle expands on these powerful ideas to show how transcending our ego-based state of consciousness is not only essential to personal happiness, but also the key to ending conflict and suffering throughout the world. Tolle describes how our attachment to the ego creates the dysfunction that leads to anger, jealousy, and unhappiness, and shows readers how to awaken to a new state of consciousness and follow the path to a truly fulfilling existence.
A New Earth was an Oprah Book Club pick and reads as a traditional narrative, offering anecdotes and philosophies in a way that is accessible to all. Illuminating, enlightening, and uplifting, A New Earth is a profoundly spiritual manifesto for a better way of life—and for building a better world.

my review

 

I am a self-development junkie. I also LOVE Danielle Laporte so when she mentioned this book in her book I put it on hold at the library right way.

I like to think that certain books show up when you need them most in life and when you are ready to hear the message. Like there is some Grand Librarian in the sky that plans and doles out just the right book for everyone. This book was an eye opener for me. I have read the reviews on GoodReads making fun of this book but hear me out. I have been trying for a long time to force some changes in my life. Most I did ok but some it seems that I am hell bent on sabotaging myself. In A NEW EARTH, it discusses how our ego gets in the way. We think that the ego is US when it is not really. In order to move forward in life and goals, we need to get beyond the ego. Now there are a million books out there that will tell you the same thing. This book actually shows you how to do it. Like I have heard and read about Zen but I never really understood it. After reading this book, I understand that it is the real true us beyond our egos. I know how woo-woo that sounds, but it is true. I am still working on transcending my ego. It is not as easy as he makes it sound, but it is worth a shot.

The other fascinating thing he talks about in this book is the pain-body. When I first started on that section I was all like OOOKKKKK maybe this is a tad too far but after reading I thought about it, slept on it and decided he has a lot of valid points. I mean we have all seen the angry people band together and to kick each other and all of that so maybe we do attract people with the same pain-body as ourselves. He also mentions that the pain body needs the pain to feed off of so if you starve it then it will…dimmish. At least that is what I think he said. It gets a little woo woo around here so don’t quote me on it.

This is not a book for everyone and even Eckhart Tolle himself says that at the beginning of the book. Tolle says that people who have already “awakened” will get the most out of it. He also says that if you are not yet awakened it will sound like mumbo jumbo. I am not at all sure about that. I like to think other people understand and like this book but if you read the reviews on GoodReads you can see that is not the case.

 

five-stars

Book Review: Kiss That Frog by Brian Tracy

Posted April 3, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781609942809
Book Review: Kiss That Frog by Brian TracyKiss That Frog! by Brian TracyChristina Tracy Stein
Published by Berrett-Koehler Publishers on 2012
Genres: Business & Economics, Motivational, Personal Growth, Personal Success, Self-Help, Success
Pages: 145
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Just like the lonely princess in the fairy tale who was reluctant to lock lips with a warty frog and transform him into a handsome prince, something stops many of us short of attaining our dreams. Our negative thoughts, emotions, and attitudes can threaten to keep us from achieving all that we’re capable of. Here bestselling author and speaker Brian Tracy and his daughter, therapist Christina Tracy Stein, provide a set of practical, proven strategies anyone can use to turn those negative frogs into positive princes.

Tracy and Stein present a step-by-step plan that addresses the root causes of negativity, helps you uncover blocks that have become mental obstacles, and shows how you can transform them into stepping-stones to achieve your fullest potential. The book distills, in an accessible and immediately useful form, what Tracy has presented in more than 5,000 talks and seminars with more than five million people in fifty-eight countries and what Stein has learned through thousands of hours of counseling people from all walks of life.

“There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so,” the authors quote Shakespeare. The many powerful techniques and exercises in this book will help you change your mindset so that you discover something worthwhile in every person and experience, however difficult and challenging they might seem at first. You’ll learn how to develop unshakable self-confidence, become your best self, and begin living an extraordinary life.

why I read this book

I THOUGHT I was re-reading Eat That Frog. I started reading got confused then found out it was the wrong book. I kept reading to see what this one was about.

my review

What is it about self-help books that tell you to just let it go? I know I need to let some shit go but HOW?!

This book had the same good advice as other books like this but I find my self becoming increasingly frustrated with this genre. They all say the same thing and yet…they never seem to tell yu HOW to let that ex go? How to let the anger of how your life has turned out go. Yes I have issues. Yes I am in therapy. Been there for years and I am starting to think I am a hopeless case.

I want to be fair. I think someone with out the serious issue of shizoeffective disorder, someone who just has minor issues could get a lot out of this book. Someone who is not homebound because of anxiety and all that jazz will find info on how to look a bad situation in the eye and move on. The author gives 7 ways you can do this. All is good sound advice. I have heard it before from my therpist who even has a PH.D. As for me I think I need to lay off the self-help books for a while. A post on THAT coming soon.

three-half-stars

Book Review: The Art Of Happiness in a Troubled World

Posted December 17, 2014 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 0767920643
Book Review: The Art Of Happiness in a Troubled WorldThe Art Of Happiness in a Troubled World by Dalai Lama XIV Bstan-ʼdzin-rgya-mtshoHoward C. Cutler
Published by Doubleday on 2009
Genres: Happiness, Personal Growth, Self-Help
Pages: 338
Format: hardcover
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Blending common sense and modern psychiatry, The Art of Happiness in a Troubled World applies Buddhist tradition to twenty-first-century struggles in a relevant way. The result is a wise approach to dealing with human problems that is both optimistic and realistic, even in the most challenging times. How can we expect to find happiness and meaning in our lives when the modern world seems such an unhappy place? His Holiness the Dalai Lama has suffered enormously throughout his life, yet he always seems to be smiling and serene. How does he do it? In The Art of Happiness in a Troubled World, Dr. Cutler walks readers through the Dalai Lama's philosophy on how to achieve peace of mind and come to terms with life's inherent suffering. Together, the two examine the roots of many of the problems facing the world and show us how we can approach these calamities in a way that alleviates suffering, and helps us along in our personal quests to be happy. Through stories, meditations, and in-depth conversations, the Dalai Lama teaches readers to identify the cultural influences and ways of thinking that lead to personal unhappiness, making sense of the hardships we face personally, as well as the afflictions suffered by others.

My Review 2

I am all about reading books on how to be more happy and how to make this world a better place. I first heard about this book from unfinished Person. I had high expectations of this book buts sadly I felt sort of let down. I thought this book would be all about the Dalai Lama and how to better achieve happiness but rather it was more of the author Howard Cutler M.D writing about his experience with the Dalai Lama and then as an after thought what the Dali Lama says about how to live.

To be fair the book does have some good ideas about how to discuss poverty and violence and such. It talks about how the Dali Lama uses nonviolence to try to bring change and freedom to his people. I could have done without Howard C Cutler interjecting his thoughts and how he feels about stuff in the book. I wanted to read the book because I was interested in what the Dalai Lama had to say not some unknown American Dr. Cutler talks about some of his patients and how what the Dali Lama says can benefit depressed people and such. While I am interested in such, this is not the reason that I picked up this book so I was conflicted about this. There are times when a book goes off tangents that it turns out well but this was not one of those times.

it-was-ok

three-half-stars

Book Review: He Texted

Posted November 6, 2014 by Hillary in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

My Review

I have to be honest. I requested this book because I heard that It was in the same vein as He’s Just Not That Into You. At 21 I thought it was a great book. However I think at 34 I am a completely different person. I wanted to like this book but I have out grown stuff like this. It was entertaining to say the least but at 34 I am not the kind of person to wonder what he meant by this or this or blah blah blah. HOWEVER if I was still 21 I would have given this book 5 stars.

I really think that this book depends on where you are at in your life stage. If you are a teenager or in your 20’s go for it but for people who don’t wonder what a text means or why that hot guy wont friend you on Facebook then skip this book.

one-star