Genre: Religion

Book Review:What’s Best Next: How the Gospel Transforms the Way You Get Things Done by Matt Perman

Posted July 5, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Hi!! This post contains affiliate links. If you use them to purchase something you will help support this blog at no extra cost to you! Thank you for your support!.

ISBN: 9780310494225
Book Review:What’s Best Next: How the Gospel Transforms the Way You Get Things Done by Matt PermanWhat's Best Next by Matt Perman
Published by Zondervan on February 21st 2014
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, Professional Growth
Pages: 256
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Do Work That Matters
Productivity isn't just about getting more things done. It's about getting the right things done--the things that count, make a difference, and move the world forward. In our current era of massive overload, this is harder than ever before. So how do you get more of the right things done without confusing mere activity for actual productivity?
When we take God's purposes into account, a revolutionary insight emerges. Surprisingly, we see that the way to be productive is to put others first--to make the welfare of other people our motive and criteria in determining what to do (what's best next). As both the Scriptures and the best business thinkers show, generosity is the key to unlocking our productivity. It is also the key to finding meaning and fulfillment in our work.
What's Best Next offers a practical approach for improving your productivity in all areas of life. It will help you better understand:
* Why good works are not just rare and special things like going to Africa, but anything you do in faith even tying your shoes.
* How to create a mission statement for your life that actually works.
* How to delegate to people in a way that actually empowers them.
* How to overcome time killers like procrastination, interruptions, and multitasking by turning them around and making them work for you.
* How to process workflow efficiently and get your email inbox to zero every day.
* How your work and life can transform the world socially, economically, and spiritually, and connect to God's global purposes.
By anchoring your understanding of productivity in God's purposes and plan, What's Best Next will give you a practical approach for increasing your effectiveness in everything you do.

I first heard about the book on an ElleChat, and I was all like I MUST READ IT AND BECOME MORE GOLDY PRODUCTIVE.
I have to be honest at first I was kinda irritated when he spent the first half of the book telling that we don’t NEED to be productive to have God’s love. I was all like DUH, but then I thought about it, and a few people came to mind that I would like to shove this book under their noses and be all like SEEEEE….
Then I read on, and I came across one of the best explanations of Justification that I have read in my life. And I have read many. The way this author explains it though blows every other way I have heard it described out of the water. Seriously this man is a genius. For that reason alone I was all ready to buy a bunch of books and pass then on to all of the “legalistic” Christians I know. If only I had that much money.
Then I read on. I could sympathize with the author because I hit the same kind of “snags” that he did wit the Getting Things Done Method. All this time I thought it was just me and that I was too stupid to have a “mind like water, ” but nope it seems that many other people had the same issues that I had faced. That alone made me feel better.
Then we get to the part of the book where he gives us is a way of overcoming the issues that trip so many of us up in the GTD method. I don’t want to give alllll the details away because I want people to buy the book cause believe me this is a book worth buying and keeping near you. I will tell you this much, this man is a genius for coming up with the method that he did. I have implanted it into my workflow, and it had helped me tremendously.
One thing I was glad to have read was that it takes other people a couple of hours of writing or working on something to get into the flow. I had thought since I had read the book ‘Flow” that I was just not great with whatever I was doing and I lacked that something that people talk about when they are in their sweet zone. It turns out I was giving up too soon. He explained that creatives need long stretches of time to work on things and to reach that sweet spot. I had previously only allocated 2 to three hours a day for writing. After reading this, however, I sectioned off whole days just to write. No editing, nothing like that. Just pure unadulterated pouring of words on the page. I can finally say that I have discovered my sweet spot. It turns out that all these years all I had been doing was a warm up and not the actual sport.
Truthfully I feel that this is a book that everyone should read. If you are not a Christian, you can skip over the first part and just read about his methodology. It is genius. It takes GTD to whole new levels. If you are at ll interested in maximizing your productivity, then get this book ASAP!
five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Fervent: A Woman’s Battle Plan to Serious, Specific and Strategic Prayer by Priscilla Shirer

Posted June 9, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

ISBN: 9781433688676
Book Review: Fervent: A Woman’s Battle Plan to Serious, Specific and Strategic Prayer by Priscilla ShirerFervent by Priscilla Shirer
Published by B&H Publishing Group on August 1st 2015
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, Prayer, Women's Issues
Pages: 208
Format: Paperback
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

You have an enemy . . . and he’s dead set on destroying all you hold dear and keeping you from experiencing abundant life in Christ. What’s more, his approach to disrupting your life and discrediting your faith isn’t general or generic, not a one-size-fits-all. It’s specific. Personalized. Targeted.   So this book is your chance to strike back. With prayer. With a weapon that really works. Each chapter will guide you in crafting prayer strategies that hit the enemy where it hurts, letting him know you’re on to him and that you won’t back down. Because with every new strategy you build, you’re turning the fiercest battles of life into precise strikes against him and his handiwork, each one infused with the power of God’s Spirit.  New York Times bestselling author Priscilla Shirer, widely known for her international speaking, teaching, and writing ministries, brings her new role from the 2015 film War Room into the real lives of today’s women, addressing the topics that affect them most: renewing their passion, refocusing their identity, negotiating family strife, dealing with relentless regrets, navigating impossible schedules, succeeding against temptation, weathering their worst fears, uprooting bitterness, and more. Each chapter exposes the enemy’s cruel, crafty intentions in all kinds of these areas, then equips and encourages you to write out your own personalized prayer strategies on tear-out sheets you can post and pray over yourself and your loved ones on a regular basis.  Fervent is a hands-on, knees-down, don’t-give-up action guide to practical, purposeful praying.

I have wanted to get deeper into my faith and to be honest prayer is the one area I suck at. I always feel like I never know what to say. I am always like Hillary your problems are so small compared to millions of other people who have it worse, or Hillary; God has heard it all before. This leads to me not praying anything.

I have seen this book pop up all over the place in the book blogging world, and I had read one of her books before and enjoyed the book. So off I went to the library to get me a copy. Let me tell you to make sure you have a big chunk of time for this book cause once I started reading, I couldn’t stop. There were so many times in this book where I was like YES!! That is me. Or is my lack of passion for going to Church the Devil trying to get a firm hold? This put a whole new spin on things.

One thing that I liked is that she gave us specific passages that we could copy out. Some books tell us to pray, and I am left wondering what do I say? But Shirer gives us scriptures that we can build off. I copied down all that I felt God calling me to pray over. I finally feel as if I have a starting point for a personalized prayer life.

I also loved that she advocated writing down our prayers and sticking them to a wall or and to start a prayer journal. I started my prayer journal by using Day One, and I posted some on the wall in my Home Office corner so that I will remember what I am praying about all the time since I am here most of the day.

The book itself is divided into a chapter that deals with one specific area that Satan tries to gain a stronghold. I was shocked at some. Before when I was sick with Bipolar, and I felt I had something tangible to pray over and to fight off I had a zeal like you wouldn’t believe. Now that I am well and doing well I find myself lacking that same zeal but never did I imagine that it was Satan trying to increase the increasing distance that I was feeling from our Lord and Saviour.

When I realized that I had lost my zeal for God, I made sure that I got my behind BACK to Church. And no my life is not perfect but I know I made a tiny step in the right direction and I actually could feel God again for a brief moment during Communion, so I know He was pleased also.Click To Tweet This is the chapter that struck me the most out of the whole book.

I highly recommend this book if you are looking to jump start or to start an active prayer life. It will give you guidance and wisdom that you need to craft your personalized prayers so that you don’t feel like you have nothing to say. My prayer life has been full(er) and has picked up speed in the two weeks since I read this book.

 

five-stars
Rating Report
Plot
five-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Pacing
five-stars
Cover
five-stars
Overall: five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet: Tasting the Goodness of God in All Things by Sara Hagerty

Posted December 16, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ISBN: 9780310339953
Review: Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet: Tasting the Goodness of God in All Things by Sara HagertyEvery Bitter Thing Is Sweet by Sara Hagerty
Published by Zondervan on October 7th 2014
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, Spiritual Growth, General, Inspirational
Pages: 208
Format: eARC
Source: publisher
Goodreads
three-stars

Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet by Sara Hagerty is the story of a woman whose life expectations went unmet while her heart became re-acquainted with her first Love. God, who comes in the hunger that pain so masterfully produces, worked His way into her insides to write a love-story as universal as the barrenness that every life clothed-in-flesh wears.
 A back alley is an unsuspecting place for a brush with God. In the age of fingertip access to pipe dreams and a ceiling-less supply of ambitions, where do you find the God who was birthed in dirt and straw? Sara Hagerty found Him when life stopped working for her. It was after almost a decade of Christian life and ministry when she was introduced to pain and perplexity. God met her and moved her when life broke.
 Hagerty weaves in and out (not necessarily sequentially) stories of her conversion and teen years, dating years, infertility, adoption, early years of marriage, husband's business failure, and family health issues. The overall message is that all the tough times end up teaching her major lessons about herself and God.

my review

I rarely have such mixed feelings about a book. Normally I can tell you that I either liked it, or I hated it and I can tell you why. I really want to work on my faith. I understand that by faith I am-am more Danielle Laporte than Billy Gram. I mean I can read Pema Chadron and be all like omg she is BRILLIANT! But I read something like this book and there is SOMETHING that I have resorted to calling the holier than thou asshole test. This is where people tray and sound how the Lord had helped them but in doing so they make people like me who I will fully admit to being broken sinners feel like assholes.

For example, when I read someone like Pema Chadron I can relate to her and I feel like I am on the right path and that I am on the brink of an awaking. I feel good and I want to do good and I want all humankind to feel peace and joy and communion with our creator or the source as it is called in some circles. To me, the Creator IS the source so.

I read Something like Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet and I read about how to agreed to Give her life to the Lord at 16 and followed all the rules I feel like and asshole because at 16 I was battling drug addiction  and a mental illness and my single mother was trying to keep my ass out of Juvenile. (I am a productive member of society nowadays and I have never been in an adult jail so therapy  and medication really do work). I  feel like scum because of all I put my mom through. And that makes me not like the book.

To be fair, the writing is beautiful. It is an internal journey of a woman getting to the core of communion with God. It tells the story of how God peeled back layers and layers til what was left was a precious diamond that reflects God. I LOVED the language and how she described her internal journey. and yet…

I felt worse and worse. Like I wasn’t good enough. Like maybe I was unsavable which I know is not true. God has blessed me with a life beyond my wildest dreams and I now try and follow him, but I KNOW I am still broken in a fallen world and I will never reach the heights of holiness that this author talks about. I could feel the anger in me that all she lacked was getting pregnant. That is all she couldn’t get pregnant. I wanted to tell her to try fertility treatment or something. I hate to admit this, but I felt as if her problem was really not all that big a deal. I know couples who deal with this will disagree with me, but I somehow feel that that people who have suffered withdrawal from drugs and cancer patients and the lack have far more to deal with and so what if you can’t have a kid?

Again my feelings with this book stem from a personal nature. This is a beautiful book to read if you have only faced something of a similar nature. That language is out of this world and it is a beautiful story. So I gave it three stars.

final verdict

 

IT WAS OK

three-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times by Pema Chödrön

Posted October 13, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781590302262
Review: When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times by Pema ChödrönWhen Things Fall Apart by Pema Chödrön
Published by Shambhala Publications on January 11th 2005
Genres: Religion, Buddhism, General
Pages: 185
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

There is a fundamental opportunity for happiness right within our reach, yet we usually miss it—ironically, while we are caught up in attempts to escape pain and suffering. Drawn from traditional Buddhist wisdom, Pema Chödrön's radical and compassionate advice for what to do when things fall apart in our lives goes against the grain of our usual habits and expectations. There is only one approach to suffering that is of lasting benefit, Pema teaches, and that approach involves movingtowardpainful situations with friendliness and curiosity, relaxing into the essential groundlessness of our entire situation. It is there, in the midst of chaos, that we can discover the truth and love that are indestructible. Included in the book are:
   •  Ways to use painful emotions to cultivate wisdom, compassion, and courage    •  Methods of communicating that lead to openness and true intimacy with others    •  Practices for reversing negative habitual patterns    •  Techniques for working with chaotic situations    •  Tools for cultivating compassionate, energetic social action

my review

I heard about Pema Chodron while reading the Desire Map. I am in Love with Danielle Laporte so anything she says to read I will, even if it is just the back of a cereal box. So when I saw her talking about reading Chadron, I went to the library e-book website, and this is the only book they had by her.

Recently I have become interested in spirituality. I am reading up on Buddhism and Reki and all of that. Funny story. I first started reading about Buddhism and it sounded familiar. Then I realized that the stuff they teach you how to deal with Shizoeffective disorder IS Buddhism! All the detach from you emotions and respond from a place of safety, and all of that is all Buddhism. I guess telling people to give it all up to God is not detailed enough to tell people. I thought it was really interesting.

When I first saw the title of this book, my first thought was, but my life is not falling apart. I decided to read it anyway and It was a good book. Chadron talks about the ending of her marriage and how everything in her life fell apart so she started practising Buddhism and was put back together. This hit me to my core. This is exactly how I feel. I felt that when I had my psychotic break in 2007 I exploded into a million pieces and it took a decade to put myself back into a functional human being. I feel like I am whole again I still got cracks that explode under enough pressure. I read book such as this in the hopes of healing those cracks in my psyche.

I wish I had read this book a long time ago. It would have been helpful. Or maybe I wasn’t ready, and now I am. Before I would have made fun of such advice as to transcend your ego and respond from a place of peace, love and safety. That was because I lacked all three, so I lashed out, and the universe gave it right back to me. After a decade and some strong pills, I feel like I can have enough distance from my emotions to take a breather and calm down and respond from a better place. I am still in the process of doing this ALL THE TIME, but I am better than before.

 

four-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God by Francis Chan, Danae Yankoski

Posted July 28, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781434768513
Book Review: Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God by Francis Chan, Danae YankoskiCrazy Love by Francis ChanDanae Yankoski
Published by David C. Cook on 2008
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, General
Pages: 186
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

God is love.  Crazy, relentless, all-powerful love.  Have you ever wondered if we're missing it?
It's crazy, if you think about it. The God of the universe--the Creator of nitrogen and pine needles, galaxies and E-minor--loves us with a radical, unconditional, self-sacrificing love. And what is our typical response? We go to church, sing songs, and try not to cuss.
Whether you've verbalized it yet or not, we all know something's wrong.
Does something deep inside your heart long to break free from the status quo? Are you hungry for an authentic faith that addresses the problems of our world with tangible, even radical, solutions? God is calling you to a passionate love relationship with Himself. Because the answer to religious complacency isn't working harder at a list of do's and don'ts-it's falling in love with God. And once you encounter His love, as Francis describes it, you will never be the same. Because when you're wildly in love with someone, it changes everything.
Learn more about Crazy Love at www.crazylovebook.com. Check out Francis Chan's video blog at francischanblog.blogspot.com.  

my review

I have been aching to get closer to God lately. I thought this book sounded good. It seemed like it was written by someone who is close to God and has some good words to say about it. I did not have any pre-conceived notions going into the book.

I liked it ok. It was a refreshment to the usual do this or go to hell type books that so many of my Christian friends read. It was also extreme. I am not too sure how I would feel if God told me to give away everything and do something. Yes, I have a dream of traveling and writing but to GIVE AWAY stuff and trust God? I am ashamed to admit this, but I am not sure if I have that level of confidence in God yet. That is something that I need to work on.

The book has a message of extreme love. It involves giving away stuff and things like that. Not something most of us want to hear. Many of us want to feel vindicated, or that great material blessings are on our way. This book is the opposite of that. For me, it was a hard book to swallow as it pointed out all my weak spots. Then again that is good as I can now work on them.

it-was-ok

three-half-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Be All You Can Be by John C Maxwell

Posted February 26, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780896937857
Book Review: Be All You Can Be by John C MaxwellBe All You Can Be by John C. Maxwell
Published by David C Cook on January 1st 2010
Genres: Christian Life, Professional Growth, Religion
Pages: 192
Format: ebook
Source: library
Goodreads
one-star

You have big dreams and major goals for your life. You want to be a leader, fulfilled and fully realized, always able to take what life throws at you and stretch beyond the status quo. But for some reason, you never quite get there. You just aren't living up to your potential, and you don't know why.Now America's leadership expert, John Maxwell, gives you the tools you need to Be All You Can Be. In this powerful book filled with easy-to-grasp truths you can put to work right away, you'll discover the principles of success that can really help you succeed. Maxwell will guide you through four key steps: Know: Discover the principles for fulfilling your God-given potential. Show: Learn how to model the principles so others can see them at work. Go: Roll up your sleeves, get out into the world, and live what you've learned. Grow: Experience living at your full potential, continually assessing your progress.As a result, you'll gain considerable hope for the future, which in turn will give you power to overcome in the present. Successful living and leading starts now: Accept the challenge to Be All You Can Be.

why I read this bookI am a sucker for personal development books and I liked that this had a Christian bent to it.

 

my review

 

All I can think of to describe this book is ehhh. It did not really have any helpful things you could do to maximize your potential. It basically told you to leave your stuff up to God and trust that he will take care of you. To a certain population is nice but I am of the kind of person that wants actionable items. I can’t think of any one that would actually get anything out of this book. I am still nad that I cant get the time back I spent on this book. If I had it to do over I would skip it.

didnt-like-it

one-star
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Bait Of Satan by John Bevere

Posted February 25, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781591854135
Book Review: Bait Of Satan by  John BevereThe Bait of Satan by John Bevere
Published by Charisma Media on 2004
Genres: Christian Life, General, Religion, Spiritual Warfare
Pages: 255
Format: Paperback
Source: library
Goodreads
one-star

Escape the enemy's deadly trap!  The Bait of Satan exposes one of the most deceptive snares Satan uses to get believers out of the will of God--offense. Most people who are ensnared by the bait of Satan don't even realize it. Don't be fooled! You will encounter offense, and it's up to you how it will affect your relationship with God. Your response will determine your future. If offense is handled correctly, you will become stronger rather than bitter. In this tenth anniversary edition of his best-selling book, John Bevere shows you how to stay free from offense and escape the victim mentality. With more than 400,000 copies in print, this book includes testimonials of transformed people who have read copies in print, this book includes testimonials of transformed people who have read the original book and a devotional supplement, featuring discussion questions, scriptures, and prayers. You will find answers to tough questions like these: Why am I compelled to tell

why I read this bookThe title of the book caught my eye in the library. I just had to know what “bait” that Satan was using and if I was falling for it.

 

 

my reviewThis whole book can be summed up as this. When bad stuff happens and you react unchristian like then yes you are caught in Satan’s snare. The book then goes on to give example after example of this.

I felt that the book and most Christian books in general give easy answers to tough life problems. I am not sure if this is intentional or not. To be sure, there are some christian authors that I love such as Joel Osteen, but most come off as really cheesy. Like this book. I mean I know if someone hurts you are something that you are supposed to turn the other cheek and stuff but honestly, who among us expect saints can actually do this. I know for myself, I have a knee jerk reaction and yes I start plotting revenge scenarios in my head. Ah well. I am only human after all. If you like cheesy books then you might like this one. If not, then don’t waste your time.

didnt-like-it

 

 

 

one-star
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

The Art of Power

Posted October 30, 2014 by Hillary in non-fiction / 0 Comments

The Art of PowerThe Art of Power by Nhá̂t Hạnh (Thích.)Thich Nhat Hanh
Published by Harper Collins on 2007-08-14
Genres: Buddhism, General, Philosophy, Religion, Spirituality, Zen
Pages: 218
Format: ebook
Goodreads
five-stars

"Power is good for one thing only: to increase our happiness and the happiness of others. Being peaceful and happy is the most important thing in our lives and yet most of the time we suffer, we run after our cravings, we look to the past or the future for our happiness."

Turning our conventional understanding of power on its head, world-renowned Zen master, spiritual leader, and national bestselling author Thich Nhat Hanh reveals how true power comes from within. What we seek, we already have. Whether we want it or not, power remains one of the central issues in all of our lives. Every day, each of us exercises power in many ways, and our every act subtly affects the world we live in. This struggle for control and authority permeates every aspect of our private and public lives, preventing us from attaining true happiness. The me-first mentality in our culture seeps unnoticed into our decisions and choices. Our bottom-line approach to getting ahead may be most visible in the business world, but the stress, fear, and anxiety it causes are being felt by people in all walks of life.

With colorful anecdotes, precise language, and concrete practices, Thich Nhat Hanh illustrates how the current understanding of power leads us on a never-ending search for external markers like job title or salary. The Art of Power boldly challenges our assumptions and teaches each of us how to access the true power that is within our grasp.

My Review:

I have to admit when I first picked up this book, I thought it would be in the same vein as the 40 Laws of Power, or something. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this is actually a Buddhist book and that the power that is talked about in this book is the power that we get by living our true authentic selves.

Everyone wants power. We assign respect and power based on jobs among other things. Thích Nhất Hạnh says that true power comes from within and that we all can meet. Even the poorest among us has power. This was an interesting thing for me to read. As an American I had always felt that I could only keep power through my job or other accomplishments. When I was diagnosed with Bipolar in 2007 and I lost almost everything I fell into a pit of deep despair. I wish I had read this book back then then I would have known that even though I may have been poor and had almost nothing, inside of me i still had the power to choose how I felt and treated myself and other people. From this internal wellspring I could cultivate power and still respect myself.

Thích Nhất Hạnh says that once we truly respect ourselves and act accordingly that we have authentic power. Many people put down others because at some level they feel insecure and lack this authentic power so to make themselves feel better they put out false power. In the past when people had put me down I allowed them the control to how I feel. This was giving my power away. I can’t control other people but I can control how I react and refused to allow people to put me down.

Reading this book was eye-opening. I have tried to carry out some of the strategies outlined in this book and so far I have found that I really do feel better about myself and when I operate from a secure authentic powerful standpoint, I can be kinder and more compassionate. I urge everyone to read this book. If they do then maybe this world can be a good place both for the haves and haves-nots.

loved-it

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: Becoming a man of Unwavering Faith

Posted November 4, 2011 by Hillary in Book Reviews, christian / 0 Comments

becoming a man of unwavering faith

From Goodreads:

During the course of his 60-year ministry, John Osteen combined an extraordinary love for people with a vision for ministry best described in his own words: “No limits.” In this hardcover volume not only includes content from John’s sermon transcripts, but also a foreword and commentary written by his son, Joel; the principles of this “no limits” faith come alive again for a new generation.
For the moments of struggle and temptation that every man faces, and the times in life when he feels surrounded and under attack, John’s message is profoundly simple-those moments are precisely the time for an unwavering faith. In this book, John schools today’s believers in seven qualities of unwavering faith:
1. It hears and sees what the world cannot see or hear.
2. It prays earnestly even though it has already heard the answer.
3. It is strong when there is no evidence of the answer.
4. It always says, “Go Again!”
5. It goes on when there’s just a little evidence.
6. It believes for the big when it sees the little.
7. It begins with nothing but ends up doing mighty things for God.
Osteen also provides principles for those times when faith doesn’t seem to be working. BECOMING A MAN OF UNWAVERING FAITH is a guidebook to stronger faith, from a man who spent a lifetime testing its limits.

My Review: If you have ever wondered what it is like to live a life of unlimted faith then this book explains how. It describes the seven things people do to get the most out of life and how to trust God for everything. People think that faith is something you have but this book also explains that faith is something that you do. It goes into depth of each of the seven steps that you do. This book was short but there is a lot of information packed in this book.

three-half-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: Bad Girls of the Bible

Posted July 11, 2011 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

bad girls of the bible

I have to admit it was the cover and the title that got my attention on this one. So often in the realm of Christian books we get titles that say that we need to become more Holy. This title grabbed my attention because well it had “bad girls” in the title. I had to know who the bad girls were and what their story was.

This book chronicles ten of the books bad women. Lot’s wife and the women at the well and the sinful woman among them. It gives a modern day retelling of each then gives a verse by verse commentary on what the story on the whole means and what it means for us today.

I liked this book and especially liked the way Liz Curtis Higgs added her own commentary style to it. I loved the modern retelling. It put a new fresh spin on ages old stories. I had read the stories in the bible but had not truly understood what they meant until I read them in this book. What I mean by that is that is that the lessons had not sunk in that you are supposed to take from them.

This is an easy read. Liz writing style is chatty and she added touches of humor to each story. I found myself highly amused by what she had written. Another thing I liked is that she does not talk sown to the reader but rather gives them hope. She adds bits of her own story so you can see that she is just like many woman out there today. It does not feel as if she was always holier than thou but like every person has made mistakes and was given God Grace to help other woman know that they too can find God and life a better life no matter what their background.

Even if you don’t like inspirational books Liz storytelling makes this book fun to read.Highly recommended

four-stars
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!