Publisher: Harper Collins

Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary Vaynerchuk

Posted May 5, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary Vaynerchuk
ISBN: 9780062273079
Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary VaynerchukJab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook by Gary Vaynerchuk
Published by Harper Collins on November 26th 2013
Genres: Business & Economics, Marketing, General, Entrepreneurship, E-Commerce, Internet Marketing
Pages: 224
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

New York Times bestselling author and social media expert Gary Vaynerchuk shares hard-won advice on how to connect with customers and beat the competition. A mash-up of the best elements of Crush It! and The Thank You Economy with a fresh spin, Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook is a blueprint to social media marketing strategies that really works. 
When managers and marketers outline their social media strategies, they plan for the “right hook”—their next sale or campaign that’s going to knock out the competition. Even companies committed to jabbing—patiently engaging with customers to build the relationships crucial to successful social media campaigns—want to land the punch that will take down their opponent or their customer’s resistance in one blow. Right hooks convert traffic to sales and easily show results. Except when they don’t.
Thanks to massive change and proliferation in social media platforms, the winning combination of jabs and right hooks is different now. Vaynerchuk shows that while communication is still key, context matters more than ever. It’s not just about developing high-quality content, but developing high-quality content perfectly adapted to specific social media platforms and mobile devices—content tailor-made for Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter, and Tumblr.

I have been hearing about Gary Vee for years but have never read him until now. I decided to see what all the hype was. I also follow him on Instagram and his personality is really…out there… So I wasn’t too sure what to expect with his books. I know this one was written a while ago so his later books might have a different tone but the tone of this book was waaaayyyyyy more subdued than how he is on Instagram.

I was also looking to learn more about social media. On that aspect, this book seemed more geared toward beginners. I DID learn some twitter tips and twitter seems to be the place where I struggle most so I did come away with some valuable insight. I am testing them to see if they still work as this book was written a couple years ago and we all know how fast social media can change. I mean he had a chapter on Vine and we all know what sad fate befell them.

He also had a chapter on SnapChat. I have to admit I REALLY don’t get SnapChat. I think I am just getting old BUT I did learn how other people use the platform so I will give it more time. People keep adding me on there so I must be doing something right. I LOVE the filters on SnapChat and now with my implants, I can hear people doing the funny voices and what can I say I am easily amused. I am also testing his recommendations for that platform.

I did find his chapter on Pinterest lacking. I mean he makes it sound like all you need is a pretty board and you will get thousands of followers which we know is not true. There is an art to using Pinterest and if you want people to actually find your pins you better have some keywords and such. I felt he could have done better on that but he is not really in the demographic so I should cut him some slack.

All in all, i felt that the overall tone of the book.  Give …give…give..give…. ask was on point. Too often I see people going straight for the asking when they haven’t really given anything yet. It takes the time to build a level of trust up to the point where people are going to part with their hard earned dollars. I recently joined a mastermind but I watched that person’s blog and stuff for TWO YEARS before I was ready to part with my cash. And this is a blogger that gives almost everything away for free. I watched and I waited……and when she launched a mastermind I decided that this was worth my money. So that tactic does work. I also have my eye on some more courses but as of now, i am just seeing what free stuff everyone puts out before I part with a 1000 dollars. I don’t care how well known they are that much money makes me want to poop my pants so it is gonna take a high level of trust before I hand over my card.

Overall I felt this book had some good tips. There were some areas that were lacking so I would recommend you get this book from a library.

 

 

four-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: Bird Box by Josh Malerman

Posted October 20, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780062259677
Review: Bird Box by Josh MalermanBird Box by Josh Malerman
Published by Harper Collins on May 13th 2014
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Suspense, Horror, Family Life
Pages: 272
Format: ebook
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
two-stars

Something is out there . . .
Something terrifying that must not be seen. One glimpse and a person is driven to deadly violence. No one knows what it is or where it came from.
Five years after it began, a handful of scattered survivors remain, including Malorie and her two young children. Living in an abandoned house near the river, Malorie has long dreamed of fleeing to a place where her family might be safe. But the journey ahead will be terrifying: twenty miles downriver in a rowboat—blindfolded—with nothing to rely on but Malorie's wits and the children's trained ears. One wrong choice and they will die. And something is following them. But is it man, animal, or monster?
Engulfed in darkness, surrounded by sounds both familiar and frightening, Malorie embarks on a harrowing odyssey—a trip that takes her into an unseen world and back into the past, to the companions who once saved her. Under the guidance of the stalwart Tom, a motley group of strangers banded together against the unseen terror, creating order from the chaos. But when supplies ran low, they were forced to venture outside—and confront the ultimate question: in a world gone mad, who can really be trusted?
Interweaving past and present, Josh Malerman's breathtaking debut is a horrific and gripping snapshot of a world unraveled that will have you racing to the final page.

Why I decided to read this book

A blogger whose opinion I trusted said that this book was REALLY good and scary. I also read other reviews claiming that this was a good book. We are in the scary season so I was like, what better time to read it?

my review

Well.. I am sure that the people who really liked this book had their reasons for liking it. Me? I thought it was stupid and boring. I should have DNFed it, but I was like what if on the NEXT page it picks up? So on I read. It never picked up. In fact, the main plot is a mother and her two kids rowing down a river blindfolded.  There is some back story which is slightly more interesting. I mean something that causes you to kill yourself if you look at it? It details how people go about their lives blindfolded. It was kinda interesting. KINDA. But the main plot of rowing down a river blindfolded being scared shitless? OKKKKK Whatever floats your boat.  There were exactly TWO things that happened that could have saved the plot but nooooooo. I got the feeling that the authour is one of those let’s end this sucker on a good note kinda dude. One of those happy endings dudes.  I am all for happy endings but not in a horror book. I mean seriously. Upon further thought, I decided that overall it was OK. I gave it two stars cause there were some points in it that I liked. I am just glad I didn’t really BUY this book and was out 15 dollars. My advice is to borrow this book from the library then if you are one of those who really really like it then you can buy one for yourself.

it was ok...but stupid

two-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

The Art of Power

Posted October 30, 2014 by Hillary in non-fiction / 0 Comments

The Art of PowerThe Art of Power by Nhá̂t Hạnh (Thích.)Thich Nhat Hanh
Published by Harper Collins on 2007-08-14
Genres: Buddhism, General, Philosophy, Religion, Spirituality, Zen
Pages: 218
Format: ebook
Goodreads
five-stars

"Power is good for one thing only: to increase our happiness and the happiness of others. Being peaceful and happy is the most important thing in our lives and yet most of the time we suffer, we run after our cravings, we look to the past or the future for our happiness."

Turning our conventional understanding of power on its head, world-renowned Zen master, spiritual leader, and national bestselling author Thich Nhat Hanh reveals how true power comes from within. What we seek, we already have. Whether we want it or not, power remains one of the central issues in all of our lives. Every day, each of us exercises power in many ways, and our every act subtly affects the world we live in. This struggle for control and authority permeates every aspect of our private and public lives, preventing us from attaining true happiness. The me-first mentality in our culture seeps unnoticed into our decisions and choices. Our bottom-line approach to getting ahead may be most visible in the business world, but the stress, fear, and anxiety it causes are being felt by people in all walks of life.

With colorful anecdotes, precise language, and concrete practices, Thich Nhat Hanh illustrates how the current understanding of power leads us on a never-ending search for external markers like job title or salary. The Art of Power boldly challenges our assumptions and teaches each of us how to access the true power that is within our grasp.

My Review:

I have to admit when I first picked up this book, I thought it would be in the same vein as the 40 Laws of Power, or something. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this is actually a Buddhist book and that the power that is talked about in this book is the power that we get by living our true authentic selves.

Everyone wants power. We assign respect and power based on jobs among other things. Thích Nhất Hạnh says that true power comes from within and that we all can meet. Even the poorest among us has power. This was an interesting thing for me to read. As an American I had always felt that I could only keep power through my job or other accomplishments. When I was diagnosed with Bipolar in 2007 and I lost almost everything I fell into a pit of deep despair. I wish I had read this book back then then I would have known that even though I may have been poor and had almost nothing, inside of me i still had the power to choose how I felt and treated myself and other people. From this internal wellspring I could cultivate power and still respect myself.

Thích Nhất Hạnh says that once we truly respect ourselves and act accordingly that we have authentic power. Many people put down others because at some level they feel insecure and lack this authentic power so to make themselves feel better they put out false power. In the past when people had put me down I allowed them the control to how I feel. This was giving my power away. I can’t control other people but I can control how I react and refused to allow people to put me down.

Reading this book was eye-opening. I have tried to carry out some of the strategies outlined in this book and so far I have found that I really do feel better about myself and when I operate from a secure authentic powerful standpoint, I can be kinder and more compassionate. I urge everyone to read this book. If they do then maybe this world can be a good place both for the haves and haves-nots.

loved-it

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: The Confidence Code

Posted October 3, 2014 by Hillary in book review / 0 Comments

Book Review: The Confidence CodeThe Confidence Code by Katty KayClaire Shipman
Published by Harper Collins on 2014-04-15
Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Business & Economics, Careers, General, Personal Memoirs, Women, Women in Business
Pages: 256
Format: ebook
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Confidence. We want it. We need it. But it can be maddeningly enigmatic and out of reach. The authors of the New York Times bestseller Womenomics deconstruct this essential, elusive, and misunderstood quality and offer a blueprint for bringing more of it into our lives.Is confidence hardwired into the DNA of a lucky few—or can anyone learn it? Is it best expressed by bravado, or is there another way to show confidence? Which is more important: confidence or competence? Why do so many women, even the most successful, struggle with feelings of self-doubt? Is there a secret to channeling our inner confidence?In The Confidence Code, journalists Katty Kay and Claire Shipman travel to the frontiers of neuroscience on a hunt for the confidence gene and reveal surprising new research on its roots in our brains. They visit the world's leading psychologists who explain how we can all chose to become more confident simply by taking action and courting risk, and how those actions change our physical wiring. They interview women leaders from the worlds of politics, sports, the military, and the arts to learn how they have tapped into this elemental resource. They examine how a lack of confidence impacts our leadership, success, and fulfillment.Ultimately, they argue, while confidence is partly influenced by genetics, it is not a fixed psychological state. That's the good news. You won't discover it by thinking positive thoughts or by telling yourself (or your children) that you are perfect as you are. You also won't find it by simply squaring your shoulders and faking it. But it does require a choice: less people pleasing and perfectionism and more action, risk taking, and fast failure.Inspiring, insightful, and persuasive, The Confidence Code shows that by acting on our best instincts and by daring to be authentic, women can feel the transformative power of a life on confidence.

It seems like a lot of successful women are coming out with books. There is Lean In  and Thrive among others. This book is different however in that it talks about women who are successful but still lack the confidence in themselves. First the authors describe what confidence means. It has a different meaning in what I thought it did. Then they interview different women in different fields to see if they had confidence in themselves. All were successful so that was not the issue. What was surprising was that many women felt that they lack confidence. They may show confidence to other people but inside of themselves they still felt insecure.

I was surprised to learn this and in many ways I can relate. No matter how successful I may be I still feel like an imposter just like the women in this book. They had some tips on how to gain confidence. They also acknowledged that society is set up to make women feel like no matter what she does she is failing in some ways. If she is successful in work, she is a bad mother. If she is a stay at home mom then she is not pulling her fair share of the work. We have a long way to go in making sure women are truly equal in whatever she chooses to do. With feminism being in the news recently this is a good time to have such a discussion.

I myself choose to throw myself into my work, but I STILL get questions about do I have a boyfriend, when am I going to have kids etc. I am never sure how to answer these questions so I usually make up a comeback how women who stay at home were not really pulling their weight. I have to admit, I answer this question from a place of insecurity. Am I a failure because I don’t want kids? Why is it so important anyway?

We as a society need to move to a place to where women can feel confident to be whatever she chooses. It is good that this question is getting the airtime that it desperately needs. I will admit and so do the authors of these books that there is no easy answer to this question. In the mean time I am going to try some of the tips in this book and maybe I can move from a place of insecurity to a place of confidence.

three-half-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review:Happiness Project

Posted April 12, 2011 by Hillary in Book Reviews, self help / 0 Comments

happiness project

Everybody wants to be happier. Sure we could all move to the tropics and make ourselves think we are happier but what if you want to change your life where you are? That is what author Gretchen Rubin did.

This book chronicles a one year journey that the author took to “change her life without changing her life” She conducted research on happiness and made a resolution chart and tried then out for a year.

She draws on current happiness research. What does happiness really mean? She points out that it will be different things for different people. Which is true what makes me happy wouldn’t necessarily make you happy. She took some antidotes from some people well known for their happy state of mind and drew inspiration from them.

She sets up a system that allows her to focus on one aspect of happiness per month. For example the first month she focuses on energy. Because having energy will make the other resolutions easier. Makes sense. Then she sets up how she will gain more energy. She goes to bed when tired even iif its at 9 30 pm. Sounds simple but how many of us really do that? She keeps a resolution chart to track everything.

This book was really fascinating. She had scientific facts to back up her claims so it does not come off a New Agey or some far off experiment that everyday people like me and you could not do. In fact it is so doable that many people are doing their own happiness project, including myself.

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Buddha

Posted December 11, 2010 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

This is a fictionalized account of Buddha and how he became enlightened.0060878819.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_ When one envisions the enlightenment phase one tends to think that the people who have attained came to it easily. It is ones personal struggles that seem insurmountable. As this story illustrates however, this is not the case.

Buddha in this story started out life as a wealthy prince. He had every imaginable luxury. Yet he was still unhappy so he abandoned that life and became a holy man. What follows next is his journey to become enlightened. It is fraught with danger and risks that most humans would not take in this lifetime. He is rewarded when one night he finally breaks free of this world and awakens.

This book was well written and encompassed the philosophy of Buddhism. If you are just coming to Buddhism then you will have a difficult time of realizing where he is demonstrating a concept. If you have a basic understanding the this book provides a wealth of information. I have to say that I learned a great deal from this book. For example I think problems are to be defeated. I hate when something stands in my way. He describes that once you let  of the issue and just let it be then it will most likely resolve itself. It also illiterates that Buddhism principles are easy to learn but hard to follow through which is why so many fail to attain enlighten.

There was a previous book by this author that I reviewed, Seven Spiritual Laws of Success. That book I didn’t like much but after reading this book I am tempted to go back and reread the first one. This goes support my theory that you should never give up on an author on the first try.

four-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Bitch in the House

Posted November 22, 2010 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Bitch in the HouseThe Bitch in the House by Cathi Hanauer
Published by Harper Collins on September 16th 2003
Genres: Essays, Literary Collections, Social Science, Women's Studies
Pages: 320
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Virginia Woolf introduced us to the “Angel in the House”, now prepare to meet... The Bitch In the House. Women today have more choices than at any time in history, yet many smart, ambitious, contemporary women are finding themselves angry, dissatisfied, stressed out. Why are they dissatisfied? And what do they really want? These questions form the premise of this passionate, provocative, funny, searingly honest collection of original essays in which twenty-six women writers—ranging in age from twenty-four to sixty-five, single and childless or married with children or four times divorced—invite readers into their lives, minds, and bedrooms to talk about the choices they’ve made, what’s working, and what’s not. With wit and humor, in prose as poetic and powerful as it is blunt and dead-on, these intriguing women offer details of their lives that they’ve never publicly revealed before, candidly sounding off on: • The difficult decisions and compromises of living with lovers, marrying, staying single and having children • The perpetual tug of war between love and work, family and career • The struggle to simultaneously care for ailing parents and a young family • The myth of co-parenting • Dealing with helpless mates and needy toddlers • The constrictions of traditional women’s roles as well as the cliches of feminism • Anger at laid-back live-in lovers content to live off a hardworking woman’s checkbook • Anger at being criticized for one’s weight • Anger directed at their mothers, right and wrong • And–well–more anger... “This book was born out of anger,” begins Cathi Hanauer, but the end result is an intimate sharing of experience that will move, amuse, and enlighten. The Bitch in the House is a perfect companion for your students as they plot a course through the many voices of modern feminism. This is the sound of the collective voice of successful women today-in all their anger, grace, and glory. From The Bitch In the House: “I believed myself to be a feminist, and I vowed never to fall into the same trap of domestic boredom and servitude that I saw my mother as being fully entrenched in; never to settle for a life that was, as I saw it, lacking independence, authority, and respect.” –E.S. Maduro, page 5 “Here are a few things people have said about me at the office: ‘You’re unflappable.’ ‘Are you ever in a bad mood?’ Here are things people—okay, the members of my family—have said about me at home: ‘‘Mommy is always grumpy.’ ‘Why are you so tense?’ ‘You’re too mean to live in this house and I want you to go back to work for the rest of your life!’” –Kristin van Ogtrop, page 161 “I didn’t want to be a bad mother I wanted to be my mother-safe, protective, rational, calm-without giving up all my anger, because my anger fueled me.” – Elissa Schappell, page 195

0066211662.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_This is an anthology with 26 well known woman writers who discuss about motherhood and marriage and one was on weight.
Feminist lit has come a long way than when it was still in its infancy. The woman have almost everything feminist has fought for and yet they still seem to be missing something. They fell out of touch with what feminism is today. That is not to say this is a sad book. It is not. Far from it. There are undercurrents of anger spread through out the book. All of us are like that right?
I found it refreshing to see woman talk so honestly and candidly about the “bitch” that often emerges in motherhood. All to often we hold this part hidden because “good” mothers are not supposed to feel this way. Which itself is a ridiculous notion because really, when you have a crying baby and are trying to handle a demanding job who is ever going to feel “good enough”? This book explores that concepts well. I agree with what a lot of the woman say, just cause you have it all, does not mean you feel like you have it all. This is an example of how some woman have come to feel disjointed by today’s feminism.
It also explores how in the coming days of a major event a wedding or a baby the couple believes such things like housework to be split evenly. However once the big day arrives it is usually the woman who gets the brunt of doing housework on top of everything else. This is seems to be a source of pride, sort of like super wife or super mom. Again not every woman will feel this way but it is a recurring theme. I also found it refreshing to hear some of the woman talk about taboo subjects. For example a few of the woman were mistresses. That is not something that media talks about openly.
This book was well written especially since it is an anthology. The woman who put all the stories together did well in making all the different stories flow into one another. It did not read as 26 separate stories but rather as a continuum from one story to the next.
This maybe me digging into the symbolism a little to deep but I also feel that this book encompasses the idea that we all are different with our own unique experience but that we can come together as woman and make a beautiful whole, just like this book.

three-half-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Flow

Posted November 8, 2010 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

FlowFlow by Mihaly Csikszent
Published by Harper Collins on March 13th 1991
Genres: General, Psychology
Pages: 303
Goodreads
five-stars

The world's foremost producer of personal development and motivational audio programs gives you the tools to unleash the secret of peak performance.

Remember the last time that you were so focused, so motivated that you felt at the absolute top of your form -- alert, energized and free of self-consciousness? Chances are you were experiencing flow -- an almost euphoric state of concentration and complete involvement.

Now, esteemed psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi reveals how you can achieve this state of mind at will -- and turn everyday experience into a moment by moment opportunity for joy and self-fulfillment. Drawing on over 30 years of breakthrough research into what makes people satisfied, he explains the key elements of the flow experience

The booflowk’s premise is to explain how to induce happiness. It goes by the theory that there are certain things that people do that can make their life more meaningful. His most important message was how to induce “Flow” which is the art of losing oneself completely in what ever activity one is doing.

He did research by having people wear beepers and when ever they contacted the person they was supposed to stop and record what they was doing and how they felt. From this he figured out what made people the happiest.

I found some very useful information in this book. I am not sure if it is just me but the sentence that stood out the most was the one on how chess players who is supposedly the epitome of flow exercised to better their concentration. I couldn’t help but wonder if it would work for reading also.

The second thing that stood out was that in order to keep gaining satisfaction for our activities we have to keep it interesting and challenging. If something becomes to easy we wont have the same satisfaction as we did when we first started an activity. This makes sense when one thinks about it. How many times have we started something then became bored with it then did not want to do it anymore? I know I have done that many times. We have to find new ways of doing something to keep the excitement.

It also focused on mental activities as ways of warding off boredom in the situations we find ourselves in without any physical activities. I know I could never do this. The very thought of being caught without a book is enough to induce anxiety. There are some people that apparently can do this.

He provides a number case studies so we can see each concept in action. I was somewhat fascinated. He makes his case very well. I came away eager to try some of the concepts in the book.

The writing can be dull at times but i think that is more of his being a scientist than his  writing ability. It is well written and understandable so that the lay person can understand how to implement the concepts.

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Pain Killers

Posted September 1, 2010 by Hillary in ARC, Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Pain KillersPain Killers by Jerry Stahl
Published by Harper Collins on March 3rd 2009
Genres: Fiction, General, Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 408
Format: Paperback
Goodreads
three-half-stars

From the acclaimed and controversial author of Permanent Midnight comes one of the most vividly subversive, savagely funny, and explosive novels yet unleashed in our tender century. Pain Killers is a violent and mind-wrenching masterpiece in the gonzo noir style that has earned Jerry Stahl his legion of avid fans. Down-and-out ex-cop and not-quite-reformed addict Manny Rupert accepts a job going undercover to find out if an old man locked up in a California prison is who he claims to be: the despicable—and allegedly dead—Josef Mengele, aka the Angel of Death. What if, instead of drowning thirty years ago, the sadistic legend whose Auschwitz crimes still horrify faked his own death and is now locked up in San Quentin, ranting and bitter about being denied the adulation he craves for his contribution to keeping the Master Race pure—if no longer masterful? After accidentally reuniting with ex-wife and love of his life, Tina, at San Quentin—they first met at the crime scene where Tina murdered her first husband with Drano-laced Lucky Charms—Manny spends a bad night imbibing boxed wine and questionable World War One morphine, hunched over a trove of photos showing live genital dissections that plant him in the middle of a conspiracy involving genocide, drugs, eugenics, human experiments, and America's secret history of collusion with German believers in Nordic superiority. Manny's quest sends him careening from one extreme of apocalypse-adjacent reality to the other: from SS-inked Jewish shotcallers to meth-crazed virgin hookers, from Mexican gangbangers to Big Pharma–financed prison research to an animal shelter that gasses more than stray dogs and cats . . . Pain Killers captures one man's struggle against a perverse and demented scheme of global proportions, in a literary tour de force as outrageous, compelling, and dangerous as history itself. Not for the faint of heart, the novel hurtles readers into a disturbing, original, and alarmingly real world filled with some of the kinkiest sex, most horrific violence, and screaming wit ever found on the page—proving yet again that Stahl is, as The New Yorker described him,

pain killers Let me begin by saying this is a weird book. I generally enjoy wired book because books are supposed to take you into an alternate reality right?

This book however makes Kafka look tame by comparison. The premise is that A man in hired to go undercover to see if a prison guard is really a  Nazi Camp guard in hiding. It delves into the world of drug addicts and prostitution and other underbelly activities.  It takes twist and turns that no reader could have anticipated. It has dark undertones throughout the book. It also has a good psychological bent as it explores the dark side of human nature. It was entertaining to be able to see that whole spectrum without actually being in any harm. He also injects humor into his subject so you don’t feel as if he is dragging you down. Some books after you have read them leave you feeling more depressed than you were before reading them. Not so with Pain Killers.

When I arrived at the end of the book I was like what?! huh? That is a good thing in my opinion. Not many books have that ability. A book that takes you on a ride has accomplished its purpose.

three-half-stars
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!