Source: library

Book Review:Crazy Sexy Diet: Eat Your Veggies, Ignite Your Spark, and Live Like You Mean It! by Kris Carr

Posted July 11, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780762774524
Book Review:Crazy Sexy Diet: Eat Your Veggies, Ignite Your Spark, and Live Like You Mean It! by Kris CarrCrazy Sexy Diet by Kris CarrSheila Buff
Published by Rowman & Littlefield on January 17th 2011
Genres: Health & Fitness, General, Diet & Nutrition, Diets, Nutrition, Self-Help, Motivational & Inspirational
Pages: 240
Format: hardcover
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The author of the best-selling Crazy Sexy Cancer Tips and Crazy Sexy Cancer Survivor takes on the crazy sexy subject of

what and how we eat, drink, and think.

Crazysexydiet.com

On the heels of Kris Carr's best-selling cancer survival guidebooks and her acclaimed TLC documentary comes her new journey into a realm vital to anyone's health. Infused with her signature sass, wit and advice-from-the-trenches style, Crazy Sexy Diet is a beautifully illustrated resource that puts you on the fast track to vibrant health, happiness and a great ass!

Along with help from her posse of experts, Carr lays out the fundamentals of her Crazy Sexy Diet: a low-glycemic, vegetarian program that emphasizes balancing the pH of the body with lush whole and raw foods, nourishing organic green drinks, and scrumptious smoothies. Plus, she shares the steps of her own twenty-one-day cleanse, and simple but delectable sample recipes.

In ten chapters with titles such as, “pHabulous,” “Coffee, Cupcakes and Cocktails,” “Make Juice Not War,” and “God-Pod Glow,” Carr empowers readers to move from a state of constant bodily damage control to one of renewal and repair. In addition to debunking common diet myths and sharing vital tips on detoxifying our bodies and psyches—advice that draws both on her personal experience as a cancer survivor and that of experts—she provides helpful hints on natural personal care, how to stretch a dollar, navigate the grocery store, eating well on the run, and working through the inevitable pangs and cravings for your old not-so-healthy life.

Crazy Sexy Diet is a must for anyone who seeks to be a confident and sexy wellness warrior.

Including contributions by:

Dean Ornish, M.D. – author and founder and president of the Preventive Medicine Research Institute

Neal Barnard, M.D. – author, founder of Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine (PCRM), author of Food for Life

Kathy Freston – author of Quantum Wellness and health advocateAlejandro Junger, M.D. – author of Clean: The Revolutionary Program to Restore the Body's Natural Ability to Heal Itself, and director of integrative medicine at Lenox Hill Hospital, NYCRory Freedman – coauthor of Skinny Bitch and health advocateMark Hyman, M.D. – author of The UltraMind Solution and pioneer in functional medicineEmily Deschanel – star of the Fox series Bones and health advocateSharon Gannon – author of Yoga and Vegetarianism, and cofounder of Jivamukti YogaWayne Pacelle – president & CEO, The Humane Society of the United StatesStacy Malkan – author and cofounder of the Campaign for Safe CosmeticsDr. Lilli Link – specialist in raw foods and integrative nutrition

Frank Lipman – author of Revive: Stop feeling Spent and Start Living Again and founder of the Eleven Eleven Wellness Center

Crazy Sexy tips for optimal health

Flood your body with alkaline nutrients * Flush stored waste products and chemicals * Reduce or eliminate animal products * *Dump sugar, you're sweet enough * Go gluten-free *Shake your booty * Wrangle the monkeys in your mind and turn down the stress * Install healthy boundaries so you don't burn out * Kill your television and Detox your In Box (Facebook too!) * Take fun seriously * Build a wellness posse support system *Be a "prevention is hot" cheerleader!

Kris Carr's television appearances have included:

- CBS Evening News with Katie Couric- The Early Show- The Today Show- Montel- Access Hollywood- The Mike & Juliet Show- Good Morning America- The Oprah Winfrey Show

Do you have any idea what it's like to feel blissfully whole and comfortable in your skin? You will. The Crazy Sexy Diet and lifestyle will give you the tools to navigate through life with clarity, balance, and flow. Health is more than just the absence of disease; it is the presence of vitality. Health is freedom from obstruction; it's living in a harmonious way that creates both inner and outer peace. . . . The Crazy Sexy Diet is loaded with wisdom, tips and advice from personal experien ce. If I feel great living and eating this way then you can feel fantastic! What I present to you is what works for me and countless other wellness warriors. This information just might save your life, or at the very least reduce the pesky cellulite. It's an awakening without the disease, knowledge without the price. Changing your mind is the biggest obstacle you face. But once you do, you'll realize that you are the one you've been waiting for. . . .

From the Introduction

I first heard of Kris Carr with her Crazy Sexy Cancer show. I thought she was courageous then I heard she had managed to put her cancer into remission by going vegan. Then a friend introduced me to Deliciously Ella. I was all like blah. I mean, everyone had reason to be worried. I topped the scale at 315 pounds. I smoked a pack a day, I did not move much, and I ate crap. I hate to say this, but it took a series of health crisis to get me to move my ass. I started coughing up blood one day, and at the ER they took an x-ray of my lungs, and they were COATED in tar. I smoked a pack a day for 21 years, so yeah. I left with some Chantix, and after about six tries and another trip to the ER, for…you guessed it… I was coughing up blood…AGAIN; the Dr told me I was playing Russian roulette with my health and mom was crying that I was gonna die soon. I quit smoking finally.

After about six months I could breathe like a normal person, and I was all proud, and then I went to the DR cause I was not feeling well and I topped the scale at my highest weight EVAR at 315 pounds. I almost crapped my pants. The Dr once again told me I was on the road to a heart attack. So after I almost had to use the cart at the food store cause I could barely walk I got my fat behind to the gym and went Paleo. I lost weight but and felt amazing, but honestly, I HATE meat. Seriously ewwwww. So that failed. I went back to eating crap. I mean I was on a first name basis at the local Burger King. This year I had one of the worst depressive episodes I have had since I was diagnosed with schizo-effective disorder in 2007. I was one notch above suicidal. I knew that I had to pull myself together and fight for me to not only to live but to thrive.

A friend urged me to watch some documentaries on Netflix, and I was hooked. What if I could beat this by changing my diet. I mean if Kris Carr could come back from stage 4 cancer surely I could get a grip on my schizo-effective disorder. So I checked her book out from the library and read it.

To be honest, I thought some of the stuff was extreme. I mean colonics? I am not sure about THAT, but overall I loved the book. I got some excellent ideas on how to incorporate some wellness stuff into my day. I mean I went gluten free vegan cold turkey. It helped that the night before I had a pizza and had the worst tummy ache in my life then I pooped out like three pounds. I am a TMI monster hee hee. I then realized that maybe gluten was not for me. SO gluten free vegan all the way here. I also am all over the essential oils and the dry brushing and all of that. I am all like  TOXINS BE GONE!!

She explains very well how your body works and how different stuff affects you. I mean this book took me about a week to read cause I was reading and taking notes. I learned ALOT in this book. Like how gluten affects some people and how meat affects you. There are some graphic pictures in the book, so if you are sensitive to that sort of thing, you may want to skip the meat chapter. I read it and was like ewwwwwww you mean they roll around in the own shit then eat THAT, and we eat it GROSS I AM NEVER EVER EATING MEAT AGAIN!

 

I highly recommend this book. It has a lot of information. It is not at all preachy. It gives you facts, and she even says that if you WANT to eat meat to get the best you can afford. Maybe after I start feeling better, I will go back to eating Applegate beef. After reading what all goes INTO the animals though, it may be tough to look at a hamburger the same way. I mean I KNOW Applegate takes care of their cows and that their cows have no antibiotics and are grass fed and grass finished. Yes, they are expensive, but at least I know that the beef from those cows won’t kill me and it is not gross to eat those cows. Heh, But to eat a hamburger from McDonald’s from Lord only knows where they get their beef..ewwwwww….

I have been pushing this book on everyone. As I type this, I am on day three of my gluten-free journey, and I can feel changes occurring in me. I know I am detoxing from all the crap and I can’t WAIT until I feel fabulous again!

 

 

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary Vaynerchuk

Posted May 5, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary Vaynerchuk
ISBN: 9780062273079
Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary VaynerchukJab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook by Gary Vaynerchuk
Published by Harper Collins on November 26th 2013
Genres: Business & Economics, Marketing, General, Entrepreneurship, E-Commerce, Internet Marketing
Pages: 224
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

New York Times bestselling author and social media expert Gary Vaynerchuk shares hard-won advice on how to connect with customers and beat the competition. A mash-up of the best elements of Crush It! and The Thank You Economy with a fresh spin, Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook is a blueprint to social media marketing strategies that really works. 
When managers and marketers outline their social media strategies, they plan for the “right hook”—their next sale or campaign that’s going to knock out the competition. Even companies committed to jabbing—patiently engaging with customers to build the relationships crucial to successful social media campaigns—want to land the punch that will take down their opponent or their customer’s resistance in one blow. Right hooks convert traffic to sales and easily show results. Except when they don’t.
Thanks to massive change and proliferation in social media platforms, the winning combination of jabs and right hooks is different now. Vaynerchuk shows that while communication is still key, context matters more than ever. It’s not just about developing high-quality content, but developing high-quality content perfectly adapted to specific social media platforms and mobile devices—content tailor-made for Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter, and Tumblr.

I have been hearing about Gary Vee for years but have never read him until now. I decided to see what all the hype was. I also follow him on Instagram and his personality is really…out there… So I wasn’t too sure what to expect with his books. I know this one was written a while ago so his later books might have a different tone but the tone of this book was waaaayyyyyy more subdued than how he is on Instagram.

I was also looking to learn more about social media. On that aspect, this book seemed more geared toward beginners. I DID learn some twitter tips and twitter seems to be the place where I struggle most so I did come away with some valuable insight. I am testing them to see if they still work as this book was written a couple years ago and we all know how fast social media can change. I mean he had a chapter on Vine and we all know what sad fate befell them.

He also had a chapter on SnapChat. I have to admit I REALLY don’t get SnapChat. I think I am just getting old BUT I did learn how other people use the platform so I will give it more time. People keep adding me on there so I must be doing something right. I LOVE the filters on SnapChat and now with my implants, I can hear people doing the funny voices and what can I say I am easily amused. I am also testing his recommendations for that platform.

I did find his chapter on Pinterest lacking. I mean he makes it sound like all you need is a pretty board and you will get thousands of followers which we know is not true. There is an art to using Pinterest and if you want people to actually find your pins you better have some keywords and such. I felt he could have done better on that but he is not really in the demographic so I should cut him some slack.

All in all, i felt that the overall tone of the book.  Give …give…give..give…. ask was on point. Too often I see people going straight for the asking when they haven’t really given anything yet. It takes the time to build a level of trust up to the point where people are going to part with their hard earned dollars. I recently joined a mastermind but I watched that person’s blog and stuff for TWO YEARS before I was ready to part with my cash. And this is a blogger that gives almost everything away for free. I watched and I waited……and when she launched a mastermind I decided that this was worth my money. So that tactic does work. I also have my eye on some more courses but as of now, i am just seeing what free stuff everyone puts out before I part with a 1000 dollars. I don’t care how well known they are that much money makes me want to poop my pants so it is gonna take a high level of trust before I hand over my card.

Overall I felt this book had some good tips. There were some areas that were lacking so I would recommend you get this book from a library.

 

 

four-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Posted August 1, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780553418354
Gone Girl by Gillian FlynnGone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Published by Broadway Books on August 26th 2014
Genres: Fiction, General, Media Tie-In, Mystery & Detective, Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 560
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The #1 New York Times BestsellerOn a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne's fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick's clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn't doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife's head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy's fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he's definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

why I read this book

I am probably the last blogger to read this, but reports of mindfuckery were hard to ignore. I love me a book that leaves you feeling like you are on an emotional roller coaster.

my review

 

OMG!! That was my exact thought when I read this book. At first I was like, OK where does it get good? I am impatient when it comes to books. I KNOW you have to have world building and a backdrop but most times it seems as if it drags on. This book wasn’t like that. Not exactly. If I had read it without having any expectations, this would have been a top read of the year. As it was, I was impatient to get to the mind-fuckery part. Maybe I should stop reading reviews before I read the book. That’s an idea for another post.

The plot was fantastic. This is one of that rare book where I did not have found any plot holes. Well at first I thought so but later in the book it turned out it was a plot DEVICE. This book was as near perfect as one can get on this side of eternity. After the mind fuckery part, I was glued to my recliner reading into the wee hours of the morning. I could not put this book down.

I at first thought that Nick for sure had killed his wife and tried to cover it up. I was reading Amy’s Dairy and was like this is a story of a remorseless killer. Then I got to part two and was like OMFG!!  At first I felt sorry for Nick but the more I read, the more I came to admire Amy’s brilliance. I mean, I have been cheated on and broken up with after I had shown my true colors. I got where she was coming from COMPLETLY. At first I was bothered by what she did then I was all like. THAT WOMAN IS BRILLIANT! She deserves an award. And am I the only one that thought she painted herself into a corner in the last part of the book. I mean the story she came up with and the way she got away with murder. It was just breathtaking.

I LOVED this book. Even though the characters are jerks, I found that I could relate to them. Maybe that makes me a bitch also?

loved-it

 

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: The Grumpy Guide to Life: Observations from Grumpy Cat by Grumpy Cat

Posted June 9, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781452134239
Book Review: The Grumpy Guide to Life: Observations from Grumpy Cat by Grumpy CatThe Grumpy Guide to Life by Grumpy Cat
Published by Chronicle Books on August 5th 2014
Genres: Anecdotes & Quotations, Animals, Form, Humor, Topic
Pages: 112
Source: library
Goodreads
five-stars

In a world filled with inspirational know-it-alls and quotable blowhards, only one figure is indifferent enough to tell the cranky truth: Grumpy Cat. Following the success of her New York Times bestselling debut, everyone's favorite disgruntled feline is back with this demotivational guide to everyday life, love, friendship, and more. Featuring many new photos of Grumpy Cat's famous frown and packed with uninspiring observations, The Grumpy Guide to Life will help anyone get in touch with their inner grouch.

My Review 2

I was having a bad day and what better way to cheer myself up than to read Grumpy Cat?! I have to admit, aside from my cat Garfield Grumpy has to be my favorite cat of all time. I just love that grumpy little face. This book is chock full of her sayings in her usual grumpy style. I laughed aloud on every page and by the time I was done with the book I was in a much better mood. If you love cats or Grumpy Cat, then this book will put a smile on your face.

loved-it

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Wild Mind: Living the Writer’s Life by Natalie Goldberg

Posted May 27, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: Wild Mind: Living the Writer’s Life by Natalie GoldbergWild Mind by Natalie Goldberg
Published by Bantam Books on 1990
Genres: Composition & Creative Writing, Language Arts & Disciplines, Reference, Writing Skills
Pages: 238
Format: ebook
Source: library
Goodreads
three-stars

Natalie Goldberg, author of the bestselling "Writing Down The Bones," teaches a method of writing that can take you beyond craft to the true source of creative power: The mind that is "raw, full of energy, alive and hungry."Here is compassionate, practical, and often humorous advice about how to find time to write, how to discover your personal style, how to make sentences come alive, and how to overcome procrastination and writer's block -- including more than thirty provocative "Try this" exercises to get your pen moving.

And here also is a larger vision of the writer's task: balancing daily responsibilities with a commitment to writing; knowing when to take risks as a writer and a human being; coming to terms with success and failure and loss; and learning self-acceptance -- both in life and art.

"Wild Mind" will change your way of writing. It may also change your life.

My Review 2

I have recently started to take my own writing seriously so I am interested in “writing” books. I thought that this was going to be filled with brilliant anecdotes on writing and the writing life, but I was wrong. This book is mostly about the author own writing and spiritual journey. She does talk about free form writing. I thought that the idea sounded familiar and then I remembered it is basically the same thing as Morning Pages” in the Artist Way. Maybe this technique is so useful that all writers employ it. I really have no idea. Aside from the memoir bits I did not find much new information about writing in this book. To be perfectly honest, I did enjoy the memoir pieces. There was nothing wrong with that. I was just expecting more. I have read that many writers recommend this book. I was stuck on exactly WHY, but then again that is just me. This was my first book that I read by this author so maybe I will like her other books better.

it-was-ok

three-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Empathy Exams by Leslie Jamison

Posted May 26, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: Empathy Exams by Leslie JamisonThe Empathy Exams by Leslie Jamison
Published by Graywolf Press on April 1st 2014
Genres: Biography & Autobiography, Essays, Literary, Literary Collections
Pages: 256
Format: ebook
Source: library
Goodreads
five-stars

From personal loss to phantom diseases, The Empathy Exams is a bold and brilliant collection, winner of the Graywolf Press Nonfiction PrizeA Publishers Weekly Top Ten Essay Collection of Spring 2014Beginning with her experience as a medical actor who was paid to act out symptoms for medical students to diagnose, Leslie Jamison's visceral and revealing essays ask essential questions about our basic understanding of others: How should we care about each other? How can we feel another's pain, especially when pain can be assumed, distorted, or performed? Is empathy a tool by which to test or even grade each other? By confronting pain--real and imagined, her own and others'--Jamison uncovers a personal and cultural urgency to feel. She draws from her own experiences of illness and bodily injury to engage in an exploration that extends far beyond her life, spanning wide-ranging territory--from poverty tourism to phantom diseases, street violence to reality television, illness to incarceration--in its search for a kind of sight shaped by humility and grace.

why I read this book

Many bloggers who opinions and reviews I trust raved about this book, so I just HAD to read it to see what all the hype was about. Plus I love essays, so that was a big plus.

my review

This book started out with Leslie Jamison writing about her role in acting with teaching in training Drs on how to be empathic. My first reaction when reading this was, they teach that I wonder how some of the Drs that I have had got past that one. I have had bad experiences with some Dr’s. Can you tell?

ANYWAY she goes into the role about how they have a script and stuff and how they rate DRS on empathy. At first I was like, I wonder how this book got to be so popular? Then I kept on reading, and Leslie Jamison does a good job on turning the topic of empathy on its head. I love how she takes what happened to her in her life and then tries to apply empathy to it. Like in one essay she talks about how she was attacked in a central American country and while a lot of people would end up putting the whole country on their shit list she writes and explores how she could be more empathic to the person who attacked her. I must admit that that one was my favorite as I have spent some time in Africa and while I was never attacked, After reading this I also feel that I missed the empathy boat.

After reading this I have found myself trying to be more empathic to people around me. After all there are different sides to a situation. Who is to say one side is more valid than another?

I have recommended this book to everyone I know. I feel that lots of people will benefit from this book and the over lying message. This is definitely going to be one of my top 10 books this year.

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Kiss That Frog by Brian Tracy

Posted April 3, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781609942809
Book Review: Kiss That Frog by Brian TracyKiss That Frog! by Brian TracyChristina Tracy Stein
Published by Berrett-Koehler Publishers on 2012
Genres: Business & Economics, Motivational, Personal Growth, Personal Success, Self-Help, Success
Pages: 145
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Just like the lonely princess in the fairy tale who was reluctant to lock lips with a warty frog and transform him into a handsome prince, something stops many of us short of attaining our dreams. Our negative thoughts, emotions, and attitudes can threaten to keep us from achieving all that we’re capable of. Here bestselling author and speaker Brian Tracy and his daughter, therapist Christina Tracy Stein, provide a set of practical, proven strategies anyone can use to turn those negative frogs into positive princes.

Tracy and Stein present a step-by-step plan that addresses the root causes of negativity, helps you uncover blocks that have become mental obstacles, and shows how you can transform them into stepping-stones to achieve your fullest potential. The book distills, in an accessible and immediately useful form, what Tracy has presented in more than 5,000 talks and seminars with more than five million people in fifty-eight countries and what Stein has learned through thousands of hours of counseling people from all walks of life.

“There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so,” the authors quote Shakespeare. The many powerful techniques and exercises in this book will help you change your mindset so that you discover something worthwhile in every person and experience, however difficult and challenging they might seem at first. You’ll learn how to develop unshakable self-confidence, become your best self, and begin living an extraordinary life.

why I read this book

I THOUGHT I was re-reading Eat That Frog. I started reading got confused then found out it was the wrong book. I kept reading to see what this one was about.

my review

What is it about self-help books that tell you to just let it go? I know I need to let some shit go but HOW?!

This book had the same good advice as other books like this but I find my self becoming increasingly frustrated with this genre. They all say the same thing and yet…they never seem to tell yu HOW to let that ex go? How to let the anger of how your life has turned out go. Yes I have issues. Yes I am in therapy. Been there for years and I am starting to think I am a hopeless case.

I want to be fair. I think someone with out the serious issue of shizoeffective disorder, someone who just has minor issues could get a lot out of this book. Someone who is not homebound because of anxiety and all that jazz will find info on how to look a bad situation in the eye and move on. The author gives 7 ways you can do this. All is good sound advice. I have heard it before from my therpist who even has a PH.D. As for me I think I need to lay off the self-help books for a while. A post on THAT coming soon.

three-half-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Be All You Can Be by John C Maxwell

Posted February 26, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780896937857
Book Review: Be All You Can Be by John C MaxwellBe All You Can Be by John C. Maxwell
Published by David C Cook on January 1st 2010
Genres: Christian Life, Professional Growth, Religion
Pages: 192
Format: ebook
Source: library
Goodreads
one-star

You have big dreams and major goals for your life. You want to be a leader, fulfilled and fully realized, always able to take what life throws at you and stretch beyond the status quo. But for some reason, you never quite get there. You just aren't living up to your potential, and you don't know why.Now America's leadership expert, John Maxwell, gives you the tools you need to Be All You Can Be. In this powerful book filled with easy-to-grasp truths you can put to work right away, you'll discover the principles of success that can really help you succeed. Maxwell will guide you through four key steps: Know: Discover the principles for fulfilling your God-given potential. Show: Learn how to model the principles so others can see them at work. Go: Roll up your sleeves, get out into the world, and live what you've learned. Grow: Experience living at your full potential, continually assessing your progress.As a result, you'll gain considerable hope for the future, which in turn will give you power to overcome in the present. Successful living and leading starts now: Accept the challenge to Be All You Can Be.

why I read this bookI am a sucker for personal development books and I liked that this had a Christian bent to it.

 

my review

 

All I can think of to describe this book is ehhh. It did not really have any helpful things you could do to maximize your potential. It basically told you to leave your stuff up to God and trust that he will take care of you. To a certain population is nice but I am of the kind of person that wants actionable items. I can’t think of any one that would actually get anything out of this book. I am still nad that I cant get the time back I spent on this book. If I had it to do over I would skip it.

didnt-like-it

one-star
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Bait Of Satan by John Bevere

Posted February 25, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781591854135
Book Review: Bait Of Satan by  John BevereThe Bait of Satan by John Bevere
Published by Charisma Media on 2004
Genres: Christian Life, General, Religion, Spiritual Warfare
Pages: 255
Format: Paperback
Source: library
Goodreads
one-star

Escape the enemy's deadly trap!  The Bait of Satan exposes one of the most deceptive snares Satan uses to get believers out of the will of God--offense. Most people who are ensnared by the bait of Satan don't even realize it. Don't be fooled! You will encounter offense, and it's up to you how it will affect your relationship with God. Your response will determine your future. If offense is handled correctly, you will become stronger rather than bitter. In this tenth anniversary edition of his best-selling book, John Bevere shows you how to stay free from offense and escape the victim mentality. With more than 400,000 copies in print, this book includes testimonials of transformed people who have read copies in print, this book includes testimonials of transformed people who have read the original book and a devotional supplement, featuring discussion questions, scriptures, and prayers. You will find answers to tough questions like these: Why am I compelled to tell

why I read this bookThe title of the book caught my eye in the library. I just had to know what “bait” that Satan was using and if I was falling for it.

 

 

my reviewThis whole book can be summed up as this. When bad stuff happens and you react unchristian like then yes you are caught in Satan’s snare. The book then goes on to give example after example of this.

I felt that the book and most Christian books in general give easy answers to tough life problems. I am not sure if this is intentional or not. To be sure, there are some christian authors that I love such as Joel Osteen, but most come off as really cheesy. Like this book. I mean I know if someone hurts you are something that you are supposed to turn the other cheek and stuff but honestly, who among us expect saints can actually do this. I know for myself, I have a knee jerk reaction and yes I start plotting revenge scenarios in my head. Ah well. I am only human after all. If you like cheesy books then you might like this one. If not, then don’t waste your time.

didnt-like-it

 

 

 

one-star
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: The Art Of Happiness in a Troubled World

Posted December 17, 2014 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 0767920643
Book Review: The Art Of Happiness in a Troubled WorldThe Art Of Happiness in a Troubled World by Dalai Lama XIV Bstan-ʼdzin-rgya-mtshoHoward C. Cutler
Published by Doubleday on 2009
Genres: Happiness, Personal Growth, Self-Help
Pages: 338
Format: hardcover
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

Blending common sense and modern psychiatry, The Art of Happiness in a Troubled World applies Buddhist tradition to twenty-first-century struggles in a relevant way. The result is a wise approach to dealing with human problems that is both optimistic and realistic, even in the most challenging times. How can we expect to find happiness and meaning in our lives when the modern world seems such an unhappy place? His Holiness the Dalai Lama has suffered enormously throughout his life, yet he always seems to be smiling and serene. How does he do it? In The Art of Happiness in a Troubled World, Dr. Cutler walks readers through the Dalai Lama's philosophy on how to achieve peace of mind and come to terms with life's inherent suffering. Together, the two examine the roots of many of the problems facing the world and show us how we can approach these calamities in a way that alleviates suffering, and helps us along in our personal quests to be happy. Through stories, meditations, and in-depth conversations, the Dalai Lama teaches readers to identify the cultural influences and ways of thinking that lead to personal unhappiness, making sense of the hardships we face personally, as well as the afflictions suffered by others.

My Review 2

I am all about reading books on how to be more happy and how to make this world a better place. I first heard about this book from unfinished Person. I had high expectations of this book buts sadly I felt sort of let down. I thought this book would be all about the Dalai Lama and how to better achieve happiness but rather it was more of the author Howard Cutler M.D writing about his experience with the Dalai Lama and then as an after thought what the Dali Lama says about how to live.

To be fair the book does have some good ideas about how to discuss poverty and violence and such. It talks about how the Dali Lama uses nonviolence to try to bring change and freedom to his people. I could have done without Howard C Cutler interjecting his thoughts and how he feels about stuff in the book. I wanted to read the book because I was interested in what the Dalai Lama had to say not some unknown American Dr. Cutler talks about some of his patients and how what the Dali Lama says can benefit depressed people and such. While I am interested in such, this is not the reason that I picked up this book so I was conflicted about this. There are times when a book goes off tangents that it turns out well but this was not one of those times.

it-was-ok

three-half-stars
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!