Format: ebook

Book Review:What’s Best Next: How the Gospel Transforms the Way You Get Things Done by Matt Perman

Posted July 5, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Hi!! This post contains affiliate links. If you use them to purchase something you will help support this blog at no extra cost to you! Thank you for your support!.

ISBN: 9780310494225
Book Review:What’s Best Next: How the Gospel Transforms the Way You Get Things Done by Matt PermanWhat's Best Next by Matt Perman
Published by Zondervan on February 21st 2014
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, Professional Growth
Pages: 256
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Do Work That Matters
Productivity isn't just about getting more things done. It's about getting the right things done--the things that count, make a difference, and move the world forward. In our current era of massive overload, this is harder than ever before. So how do you get more of the right things done without confusing mere activity for actual productivity?
When we take God's purposes into account, a revolutionary insight emerges. Surprisingly, we see that the way to be productive is to put others first--to make the welfare of other people our motive and criteria in determining what to do (what's best next). As both the Scriptures and the best business thinkers show, generosity is the key to unlocking our productivity. It is also the key to finding meaning and fulfillment in our work.
What's Best Next offers a practical approach for improving your productivity in all areas of life. It will help you better understand:
* Why good works are not just rare and special things like going to Africa, but anything you do in faith even tying your shoes.
* How to create a mission statement for your life that actually works.
* How to delegate to people in a way that actually empowers them.
* How to overcome time killers like procrastination, interruptions, and multitasking by turning them around and making them work for you.
* How to process workflow efficiently and get your email inbox to zero every day.
* How your work and life can transform the world socially, economically, and spiritually, and connect to God's global purposes.
By anchoring your understanding of productivity in God's purposes and plan, What's Best Next will give you a practical approach for increasing your effectiveness in everything you do.

I first heard about the book on an ElleChat, and I was all like I MUST READ IT AND BECOME MORE GOLDY PRODUCTIVE.
I have to be honest at first I was kinda irritated when he spent the first half of the book telling that we don’t NEED to be productive to have God’s love. I was all like DUH, but then I thought about it, and a few people came to mind that I would like to shove this book under their noses and be all like SEEEEE….
Then I read on, and I came across one of the best explanations of Justification that I have read in my life. And I have read many. The way this author explains it though blows every other way I have heard it described out of the water. Seriously this man is a genius. For that reason alone I was all ready to buy a bunch of books and pass then on to all of the “legalistic” Christians I know. If only I had that much money.
Then I read on. I could sympathize with the author because I hit the same kind of “snags” that he did wit the Getting Things Done Method. All this time I thought it was just me and that I was too stupid to have a “mind like water, ” but nope it seems that many other people had the same issues that I had faced. That alone made me feel better.
Then we get to the part of the book where he gives us is a way of overcoming the issues that trip so many of us up in the GTD method. I don’t want to give alllll the details away because I want people to buy the book cause believe me this is a book worth buying and keeping near you. I will tell you this much, this man is a genius for coming up with the method that he did. I have implanted it into my workflow, and it had helped me tremendously.
One thing I was glad to have read was that it takes other people a couple of hours of writing or working on something to get into the flow. I had thought since I had read the book ‘Flow” that I was just not great with whatever I was doing and I lacked that something that people talk about when they are in their sweet zone. It turns out I was giving up too soon. He explained that creatives need long stretches of time to work on things and to reach that sweet spot. I had previously only allocated 2 to three hours a day for writing. After reading this, however, I sectioned off whole days just to write. No editing, nothing like that. Just pure unadulterated pouring of words on the page. I can finally say that I have discovered my sweet spot. It turns out that all these years all I had been doing was a warm up and not the actual sport.
Truthfully I feel that this is a book that everyone should read. If you are not a Christian, you can skip over the first part and just read about his methodology. It is genius. It takes GTD to whole new levels. If you are at ll interested in maximizing your productivity, then get this book ASAP!
five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: SuperBetter: A Revolutionary Approach to Getting Stronger, Happier, Braver and More Resilient -Powered by the Science of Games by Jane McGonigal

Posted October 15, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780698185500
Book Review: SuperBetter: A Revolutionary Approach to Getting Stronger, Happier, Braver and More Resilient -Powered by the Science of Games by Jane McGonigalSuperBetter by Jane McGonigal
Published by Penguin on September 15th 2015
Genres: Self-Help, Personal Growth, Happiness, Psychology, General, Games, Video & Electronic
Pages: 400
Format: ebook
Source: bought
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

An innovative guide to living gamefully, based on the program that has already helped nearly half a million people achieve remarkable personal growthIn 2009, internationally renowned game designer Jane McGonigal suffered a severe concussion. Unable to think clearly or work or even get out of bed, she became anxious and depressed, even suicidal. But rather than let herself sink further, she decided to get better by doing what she does best: she turned her recovery process into a resilience-building game. What started as a simple motivational exercise quickly became a set of rules for “post-traumatic growth” that she shared on her blog. These rules led to a digital game and a major research study with the National Institutes of Health. Today nearly half a million people have played SuperBetter to get stronger, happier, and healthier.
But the life-changing ideas behind SuperBetter are much bigger than just one game. In this book, McGonigal reveals a decade’s worth of scientific research into the ways all games—including videogames, sports, and puzzles—change how we respond to stress, challenge, and pain. She explains how we can cultivate new powers of recovery and resilience in everyday life simply by adopting a more “gameful” mind-set. Being gameful means bringing the same psychological strengths we naturally display when we play games—such as optimism, creativity, courage, and determination—to real-world goals.
Drawing on hundreds of studies, McGonigal shows that getting superbetter is as simple as tapping into the three core psychological strengths that games help you build:
   • Your ability to control your attention, and therefore your thoughts and feelings    • Your power to turn anyone into a potential ally, and to strengthen your existing relationships    • Your natural capacity to motivate yourself and super-charge your heroic qualities, like willpower, compassion, and determination
SuperBetter contains nearly 100 playful challenges anyone can undertake in order to build these gameful strengths. It includes stories and data from people who have used the SuperBetter method to get stronger in the face of illness, injury, and other major setbacks, as well as to achieve goals like losing weight, running a marathon, and finding a new job.
As inspiring as it is down to earth, and grounded in rigorous research, SuperBetter is a proven game plan for a better life. You’ll never say that something is “just a game” again.
From the Hardcover edition.

my review

I am a huge gamer, and I also have been playing the Superbetter game ever since it came out. I had to admit that I really did not know HOW to play to get the most out of it, but after reading this book I feel as if I have a better grasp of the game.

She tells about how playing games can help us in real life everyday problems. I have to admit that I had never thought about taking my gaming obsession and applying it to real life problems. I mean really, How can World Od Warcraft help me when I am depressed. After reading this book, I realized that the skills in WOW like asking for help, working in a team, etc. can translate into the “real” world. I applied that to my life. I started asking for help and was surprised at how many people responded. It seems that there were a lot of people who wanted to help me but wasn’t sure how. I went back and started playing superbetter again and this time I knew HOW to play to get results. I got some of my friends to sign up for allies. And I can honestly feel that my depression and anxiety symptoms have become manageable.

I also love how she input tricks and power-ups into the book. Like for example anxiety and excitement is physically the same thing so if you feel anxious just make yourself think you are excited, and it becomes bearable. I tried this once, and it worked. I prefer to cut down on anxiety by the way of benzos but if you do not have access to them, then this is a good trick.

Another good trick is to breath in for 4 seconds and then breathe out for 8. This apparently does something to your nervous system and can stop anxiety and migraines and stuff. She admits that it is not perfect but most of the times she can get by without medication. I have wondered if this would help me. I am not to keen to try it though as even thinking about my anxiety gives me anxiety. I have learned that when I feel overwhelmed if breath like that then I can calm down.

I have added my power ups to the mix. Like I am trying to eat healthily so when I want junk food I eat a piece of fruit. When I feel horrible mediate and stuff like that. I still like all people with a serious chronic condition have bad days, but now they are fewer and farther spaced. I spend less time in bed curled into a fetal position not so patiently waiting for the end of time and more out and about and living. So the program works. I would recommend this to anyone with a  serious chronic condition. It is a great tool to make the living with your condition easier and enables you actually to make a life worth getting out of the bed.

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times by Pema Chödrön

Posted October 13, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781590302262
Review: When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times by Pema ChödrönWhen Things Fall Apart by Pema Chödrön
Published by Shambhala Publications on January 11th 2005
Genres: Religion, Buddhism, General
Pages: 185
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

There is a fundamental opportunity for happiness right within our reach, yet we usually miss it—ironically, while we are caught up in attempts to escape pain and suffering. Drawn from traditional Buddhist wisdom, Pema Chödrön's radical and compassionate advice for what to do when things fall apart in our lives goes against the grain of our usual habits and expectations. There is only one approach to suffering that is of lasting benefit, Pema teaches, and that approach involves movingtowardpainful situations with friendliness and curiosity, relaxing into the essential groundlessness of our entire situation. It is there, in the midst of chaos, that we can discover the truth and love that are indestructible. Included in the book are:
   •  Ways to use painful emotions to cultivate wisdom, compassion, and courage    •  Methods of communicating that lead to openness and true intimacy with others    •  Practices for reversing negative habitual patterns    •  Techniques for working with chaotic situations    •  Tools for cultivating compassionate, energetic social action

my review

I heard about Pema Chodron while reading the Desire Map. I am in Love with Danielle Laporte so anything she says to read I will, even if it is just the back of a cereal box. So when I saw her talking about reading Chadron, I went to the library e-book website, and this is the only book they had by her.

Recently I have become interested in spirituality. I am reading up on Buddhism and Reki and all of that. Funny story. I first started reading about Buddhism and it sounded familiar. Then I realized that the stuff they teach you how to deal with Shizoeffective disorder IS Buddhism! All the detach from you emotions and respond from a place of safety, and all of that is all Buddhism. I guess telling people to give it all up to God is not detailed enough to tell people. I thought it was really interesting.

When I first saw the title of this book, my first thought was, but my life is not falling apart. I decided to read it anyway and It was a good book. Chadron talks about the ending of her marriage and how everything in her life fell apart so she started practising Buddhism and was put back together. This hit me to my core. This is exactly how I feel. I felt that when I had my psychotic break in 2007 I exploded into a million pieces and it took a decade to put myself back into a functional human being. I feel like I am whole again I still got cracks that explode under enough pressure. I read book such as this in the hopes of healing those cracks in my psyche.

I wish I had read this book a long time ago. It would have been helpful. Or maybe I wasn’t ready, and now I am. Before I would have made fun of such advice as to transcend your ego and respond from a place of peace, love and safety. That was because I lacked all three, so I lashed out, and the universe gave it right back to me. After a decade and some strong pills, I feel like I can have enough distance from my emotions to take a breather and calm down and respond from a better place. I am still in the process of doing this ALL THE TIME, but I am better than before.

 

four-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker

Posted September 10, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

ISBN: 0062110837
Book Review: The Golem and the Jinni by Helene WeckerThe Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker
Published by Harper on April 23rd 2013
Pages: 486
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Chava is a golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a disgraced rabbi who dabbles in dark Kabbalistic magic. When her master, the husband who commissioned her, dies at sea on the voyage from Poland, she is unmoored and adrift as the ship arrives in New York in 1899. Ahmad is a jinni, a being of fire, born in the ancient Syrian desert. Trapped in an old copper flask by a Bedouin wizard centuries ago, he is released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop. Though he is no longer imprisoned, Ahmad is not entirely free – an unbreakable band of iron binds him to the physical world. The Golem and the Jinni is their magical, unforgettable story; unlikely friends whose tenuous attachment challenges their opposing natures – until the night a terrifying incident drives them back into their separate worlds. But a powerful threat will soon bring Chava and Ahmad together again, challenging their existence and forcing them to make a fateful choice.

my review

 

OMG, This book has to be one of my favorites this year! It is the story of a Golem and a Jinni who finds themselves in New York City and they have to find how to live. I must admit when I read this book, I had in my head a different way of the Golem and the Jinni. But they take real human bodies and do real human things in the book. It makes for a good story. I also loved the back story and how the author entwines myth and folklore into the story.

The one thing that worried me was I was afraid that the it was gonna turns out like a sappy love story for a while there. I read with bated breath and was prepared to curse the author forever and ever if he took that route. It seems everybody and their mother want to put a damn love story in the book. Even when it won’t make any sense or it makes the book cheezy. But thankfully this book did not turn out that way.  I was super pleased with the ending. it felt raw and real like it could really happen. The writing really evoked feelings in the reader.

I really like how it was set up in New York at the beginning of the century. I felt as if I was there with the characters and I could almost feel like I was in the New York in the book. The author captured the time perfectly.

I also loved how all the story lines came together. They started out separately and I was wondering how the author would manage to tie them in all together and when she did it was pure magic.

I must warn potential readers though this book is more of a character study than a book heavy on plot. It goes into lengthy details that may bog down some readers. I thought it was beautiful writing, but I know some people like their books to have a lot of action in them. If you do then you may not like this book.

Overall I absolutely LOVED this book. This is one I will come back to time and time again.

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart Tolle

Posted September 9, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ISBN: 9781577314806
Book Review: The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart TolleThe Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle
Published by Namaste Pub. on 2004
Genres: Inspiration & Personal Growth, Spirituality, General
Pages: 235
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

It's no wonder that The Power of Now has sold over 2 million copies worldwide and has been translated into over 30 foreign languages. Much more than simple principles and platitudes, the book takes readers on an inspiring spiritual journey to find their true and deepest self and reach the ultimate in personal growth and spirituality: the discovery of truth and light. In the first chapter, Tolle introduces readers to enlightenment and its natural enemy, the mind. He awakens readers to their role as a creator of pain and shows them how to have a pain-free identity by living fully in the present. The journey is thrilling, and along the way, the author shows how to connect to the indestructible essence of our Being, "the eternal, ever-present One Life beyond the myriad forms of life that are subject to birth and death." Featuring a new preface by the author, this paperback shows that only after regaining awareness of Being, liberated from Mind and intensely in the Now, is there Enlightenment.

my review

 

 

I had read A new Earth and loved it so much that I just had to read more by this authour. I hate to say it, but I did like this as much as I liked A New Earth. However, this is not to say that I disliked this book. I feel that it offers a lot of good insights. Eckhart Tolle explains that the best way to have happiness and enlightenment is to live in the now. I admit it SOUNDS easy, but it was hard to wrap my head around this concept. I keep thinking of the future and what it will bring etc. Eckhart Tolle says this will bring anxiety and I admit I do feel anxious. Ever since I have read this I have tried to follow this. Every time I catch myself thinking about the past or present I remind myself that there is only now and what I have at this moment is enough.

 

Eckhart Tolle spent two years living on park benches prior to writing this book living in the now. I wish I could experience such transmittal joy. Maybe if I try hard enough I can. I have no idea. I did not notice how insane my brain could make me before reading this book. I have a habit of going through things over and over in my mind. I was wondering as I read this book if that is why I have anxiety so bad. Cause I keep worrying about stuff that is in the past or future.

The one thing that I did not like about this book was the question and answer format. A New Earth was written like a typical non-fiction book. The Power of now is written in a question and answer format. I felt that it did not go deeply into any one explanation in the book. Other than that thought I felt that it was a good book with a good message.

 

 

four-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Geek Girls Unite: How Fangirls, Bookworms, Indie Chicks, and Other Misfits Are Taking Over the World by Leslie Simon

Posted August 14, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780062002730
Geek Girls Unite by Leslie Simon
Published by HarperCollins on October 4th 2011
Genres: Social Science, Popular Culture, Women's Studies
Pages: 196
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-stars

What do Amy Poehler, Bjork, Felicia Day, Martha Stewart, Miranda July, and Zooey Deschanel have in common? They’re just a few of the amazing women proving that “geek” is no longer a four-letter word.
In recent years, male geeks have taken the world by storm. But what about their female counterparts? After all, fangirls are just like fanboys—they put on their Imperial Stormtrooper Lycra pants one leg at a time.
Geek Girls Unite is a call to arms for every girl who has ever obsessed over music, comics, film, comedy, books, crafts, fashion, or anything else under the Death Star. Music geek girl Leslie Simon offers an overview of the geek elite by covering groundbreaking women, hall-of-famers, ultimate love matches, and potential frenemies, along with her top picks for playlists, books, movies, and websites. This smart and hilarious tour through girl geekdom is a must-have for any woman who has ever wondered where her sassy rebel sisters have been hiding.

my review

I am a hardcore geek. play games, I read fantasy and sci-fi. I watch firefly and star trek and all those geeky shows. I read comics and I know all of Joss Whedon’s work by heart. So when I saw this book on scribed I was wondering how the author would describe us, feel girls.

She brings up a good point that women in the geeky circles face a lot of discrimination. WE have all heard the stories of fat shaming at cons and all of that. I wish it wasn’t true but alas it is. When people find out that I am a hardcore gamer they usually don’t know what to say. I think that this is an important issue to bring up and discuss.

I felt that this part of the book was well written. I agreed with the hardcore geeks and the book geeks. I, however, had a hard time believing that women who are good at decorating are geeks but maybe that’s me discriminating. I need to examine this in myself.

The book is mainly written for people who are not geeks so to me all of this was stuff I already knew so I was kinda bored reading this. If you are not a geek and you are curious to the inside world of the geeks then this book is for you.

three-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin

Posted August 4, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 0060594667
Book Review: Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom FranklinCrooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin
Published by William Morrow on October 5th 2010
Pages: 274
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Goodreads

Tom Franklin's narrative power and flair for characterization have been compared to the likes of Harper Lee, Flannery O'Connor, Elmore Leonard, and Cormac McCarthy.
Now the Edgar Award-winning author returns with his most accomplished and resonant novel so far; an atmospheric drama set in rural Mississippi. In the late 1970s, Larry Ott and Silas "32" Jones were boyhood pals. Their worlds were as different as night and day: Larry, the child of lower-middle-class white parents, and Silas, the son of a poor, single black mother. Yet for a few months the boys stepped outside of their circumstances and shared a special bond. But then tragedy struck: Larry took a girl on a date to a drive-in movie, and she was never heard from again. She was never found and Larry never confessed, but all eyes rested on him as the culprit. The incident shook the county— and perhaps Silas most of all. His friendship with Larry was broken, and then Silas left town.
More than twenty years have passed. Larry, a mechanic, lives a solitary existence, never able to rise above the whispers of suspicion. Silas has returned as a constable. He and Larry have no reason to cross paths until another girl disappears and Larry is blamed again. And now the two men who once called each other friend are forced to confront the past they've buried and ignored for decades.

why I read this book

This has been on my TBR for ages. I was having a crappy day and wanted a book that would transport me to another time and place. Plus I had heard good things about it.

my review

This book did take my mind off my troubles that day. I was born and raised in the South, and I grew up in the 80’s. Things had improved SOME  from when this story takes place but not a lot. I was drawn into the story, and it was beliviable. It takes place in the 70’s in rural Mississippi and is about two friends and crime that was committed. It alternates between flashbacks from when they were kids to when they were adults. A woman vanished, and  Scary Larry is blamed. We are not given all the details at the beginning so the mystery unfolds. It talks of past sins and how it is passed on from generation to generation.

I could relate to Larry. He is a bookworm and is viewed as an oddity in his community.  He seems to have been undone by the crime that is the main event of this book. Slowly we learn the back story, and the characters come to life. I felt that this was an accurate portrayal of the south. There are many people who try and cover up the sins of the south and it always seems fake and contrived.

Not all hope is lost, though. In the end, there is also redemption.  Maybe not in the way we would like to think of it but given the period, and the people involved it felt right. I have to admit I was hoping for a stronger ending but when I reflected upon the whole book, I realized that it was an almost perfect ending. It also gave me hope that even in the darkest times when it seems that all hope is lost that somewhere there is some salvation in every situation. Which is what I needed to hear on that day.

This was an excellent book for my day of book therapy.

Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Posted August 1, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780553418354
Gone Girl by Gillian FlynnGone Girl by Gillian Flynn
Published by Broadway Books on August 26th 2014
Genres: Fiction, General, Media Tie-In, Mystery & Detective, Suspense, Thrillers
Pages: 560
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The #1 New York Times BestsellerOn a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne's fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick's clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn't doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife's head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy's fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he's definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

why I read this book

I am probably the last blogger to read this, but reports of mindfuckery were hard to ignore. I love me a book that leaves you feeling like you are on an emotional roller coaster.

my review

 

OMG!! That was my exact thought when I read this book. At first I was like, OK where does it get good? I am impatient when it comes to books. I KNOW you have to have world building and a backdrop but most times it seems as if it drags on. This book wasn’t like that. Not exactly. If I had read it without having any expectations, this would have been a top read of the year. As it was, I was impatient to get to the mind-fuckery part. Maybe I should stop reading reviews before I read the book. That’s an idea for another post.

The plot was fantastic. This is one of that rare book where I did not have found any plot holes. Well at first I thought so but later in the book it turned out it was a plot DEVICE. This book was as near perfect as one can get on this side of eternity. After the mind fuckery part, I was glued to my recliner reading into the wee hours of the morning. I could not put this book down.

I at first thought that Nick for sure had killed his wife and tried to cover it up. I was reading Amy’s Dairy and was like this is a story of a remorseless killer. Then I got to part two and was like OMFG!!  At first I felt sorry for Nick but the more I read, the more I came to admire Amy’s brilliance. I mean, I have been cheated on and broken up with after I had shown my true colors. I got where she was coming from COMPLETLY. At first I was bothered by what she did then I was all like. THAT WOMAN IS BRILLIANT! She deserves an award. And am I the only one that thought she painted herself into a corner in the last part of the book. I mean the story she came up with and the way she got away with murder. It was just breathtaking.

I LOVED this book. Even though the characters are jerks, I found that I could relate to them. Maybe that makes me a bitch also?

loved-it

 

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God by Francis Chan, Danae Yankoski

Posted July 28, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781434768513
Book Review: Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God by Francis Chan, Danae YankoskiCrazy Love by Francis ChanDanae Yankoski
Published by David C. Cook on 2008
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, General
Pages: 186
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

God is love.  Crazy, relentless, all-powerful love.  Have you ever wondered if we're missing it?
It's crazy, if you think about it. The God of the universe--the Creator of nitrogen and pine needles, galaxies and E-minor--loves us with a radical, unconditional, self-sacrificing love. And what is our typical response? We go to church, sing songs, and try not to cuss.
Whether you've verbalized it yet or not, we all know something's wrong.
Does something deep inside your heart long to break free from the status quo? Are you hungry for an authentic faith that addresses the problems of our world with tangible, even radical, solutions? God is calling you to a passionate love relationship with Himself. Because the answer to religious complacency isn't working harder at a list of do's and don'ts-it's falling in love with God. And once you encounter His love, as Francis describes it, you will never be the same. Because when you're wildly in love with someone, it changes everything.
Learn more about Crazy Love at www.crazylovebook.com. Check out Francis Chan's video blog at francischanblog.blogspot.com.  

my review

I have been aching to get closer to God lately. I thought this book sounded good. It seemed like it was written by someone who is close to God and has some good words to say about it. I did not have any pre-conceived notions going into the book.

I liked it ok. It was a refreshment to the usual do this or go to hell type books that so many of my Christian friends read. It was also extreme. I am not too sure how I would feel if God told me to give away everything and do something. Yes, I have a dream of traveling and writing but to GIVE AWAY stuff and trust God? I am ashamed to admit this, but I am not sure if I have that level of confidence in God yet. That is something that I need to work on.

The book has a message of extreme love. It involves giving away stuff and things like that. Not something most of us want to hear. Many of us want to feel vindicated, or that great material blessings are on our way. This book is the opposite of that. For me, it was a hard book to swallow as it pointed out all my weak spots. Then again that is good as I can now work on them.

it-was-ok

three-half-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review:Blog, Inc.: Blogging for Passion, Profit, and to Create Community by Joy Deangdeelert Cho, Meg Mateo Ilasco

Posted June 30, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781452107202
Book Review:Blog, Inc.: Blogging for Passion, Profit, and to Create Community by Joy Deangdeelert Cho, Meg Mateo IlascoBlog, Inc. by Joy Deangdeelert ChoMeg Mateo Ilasco
Published by Chronicle Books on September 19th 2012
Genres: Blogs, Business & Economics, Computers, Entrepreneurship, Interactive & Multimedia, Small Business, Web
Pages: 183
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Goodreads
three-stars

With roughly 95,000 blogs launched worldwide every 24 hours (BlogPulse), making a fledgling site stand out isn't easy. This authoritative handbook gives creative hopefuls a leg up. Joy Cho, of the award-winning Oh Joy!, offers expert advice on starting and growing a blog, from design and finance to overcoming blogger's block, attracting readers, and more. With a foreword from Grace Bonney of Design*Sponge plus expert interviews, this book will fine-tune what the next generation of bloggers shares with the world.Learn how to: - Design your site - Choose the right platform - Attract a fan base - Finance your blog - Maintain work/life balance - Manage comments - Find content inspiration - Overcome blogger's block - Choose the right ads - Develop a voice - Protect your work - Create a media kit - Leverage your social network - Take better photographs - Set up an affiliate program - Partner with sponsors - Build community - Go full-time with your blog - And more!

why I read this book

I am always looking for books that will up my blogging game. I love the Oh Joy blog, so I thought the book would be a good idea to get to know how she does blog stuff.my review I was slightly disappointed in this book. This book is ment for beginning bloggers. I already knew all of the information that this book had. I kept reading on to see if it had any more new info for me, but it didn’t. If you don t know how to set up a blog and stuff, then this book will show you how. It goes in depth in how to set up a blog and hosting among other stuff you need to know. It is written in a fun informal way that will appeal to readers. I did like the way she showcased other blogs. I found a few more to add to my reader this way, but overall this book did not reall teach me anything new.

it-was-ok

three-stars
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!