Genre: General

Book Review: White Hot Truth: Clarity for Keeping It Real on Your Spiritual Path from One Seeker to Another

Posted July 17, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780997651409
Book Review: White Hot Truth: Clarity for Keeping It Real on Your Spiritual Path from One Seeker to AnotherWhite Hot Truth by Danielle LaPorte
Published by VIRTUONICA on May 16th 2017
Genres: Self-Help, General, Self-Help, Personal Growth, Happiness, Motivational & Inspirational, Spiritual
Pages: 264
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Has your self-help become self-criticism? A wise and often hilarious exploration of the conflicts between spiritual aspiration and the compulsion to improve, from Oprah Super Soul 100 member, Danielle LaPorte. Like a wise girlfriend you can totally relate to, Danielle cheerleads you to own your wisdom and self-worth by having a good laugh (and maybe a good cry) at the ways you've been trying to improve on your self-improvement. Rooted in compassion, feminism, and spiritual activism White Hot Truth is an intimate and (hilariously) relatable account of self-help tales gone wrong, and very right. If you love Brene Brown and Liz Gilbert's authenticity, and Marianne Williamson's strong spirit, you'll adore how Danielle lays bare "Boundaries for spiritual people"; the "Discipleshit" that happens when we give our power away; a "Soul-perspective" on suffering; "over tolerance" and "foolish compassion" in relationships, sneaky self-loathing; spiritual glamour. And in her poetic and brazen way, she brings it home with the hottest truth of all: You are your own guru.

As anyone who knows me knows I am a HUGE fan of Danielle Laporte. I stumbled on her about three years a go when I first read the Disiaire Map which broke me into a million pieces. Finally, I thought someone who GETS it. I am always nervous when a new book by a favorite author comes out. I mean will THIS be the book that flops? Has their magic run out? I found this on Scribed and I started to read and OMG this is her BEST book so far.

Think that it helps that I too am a New Age self-help junkie. I mean when my depression first hit this year I delayed in getting help cause maybe I was just working on some stuff. I was and am, but I also needed professional help, and I think that is where people like me run into problems we want to do it all ourselves, and sometimes we just need someone with the right degrees to point us in the right direction.

And Danelle GETS it she has been through therapy, worked with energy healers and the like. I love how she says that we need to craft our course of action to a program that fits US as a person.

I also learned a lot from this book. Like to stay away from shit you don’t fully understand. She tells of her stone story where she had some sacred stones in her apartment, and they started doing weird shit to her. She admits that she had no clue what they did exactly and thus ran into problems. Headaches that wouldn’t go away, a lump on her forehead among other things. People told her it was the stones, but she dismissed it til she no longer could. She finally got rid of them, and all the wired stuff went away also. That is an important lesson to be learned here if you don’t know 10000 percent how something works and can control it then stay far far far away. Power can be useful, but it can also be evil.

One major thing that I learned in this book is that there is something called a Functional Dr. I looked it up ad what do you know they have a clinic thingie at Cleveland Clinic. I am thinking about making an appoint if the take my insurance. The best that I understand it is that it is where East meets West and during my time in Africa I can tell you that unless you have Malaria or something that their traditional meds work a damn lot better than some of the shit that I have been given by traditional Dr’s. In fact apart from my audiologist and my shrink I try and stay far far away from Dr’s. You go in sick then you come out ten times sicker. My friend wasn’t feeling well, and she thought she just had bad allergies or something turns out she had Cancer. I have had several other friends who have had similar experiences.  And the shit traditional  Drs give you mostly just ends up making things worse. My mom has had antibiotics so much she has to take SUPER antibiotics when she gets sick now. I just wonder what she is gonna do when she becomes resistant to THAT.  Every time I felt bad in Cameroon, I would drink ginger, and that works soo much better than Zofran without making you sleep for 48 hours straight. Hmmph

I also like the chapter explaining what it is that everyone does. Like the aforementioned Functional Dr., I learned some neat things. Like what an energy worker is and how to use I love stuff like this so learning all of this is right up my alley. I also love how she keeps it real. There is no superiority complex with her that i have seen in other spiritual self-help junkies.

 

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead by Max Brooks

Posted July 12, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781400049622
Book Review: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead by Max BrooksThe Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks
Published by Three Rivers Press on 2003
Genres: Humor, General, Form, Parodies
Pages: 254
Format: Paperback
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The Zombie Survival Guide is your key to survival against the hordes of undead who may be stalking you right now. Fully illustrated and exhaustively comprehensive, this book covers everything you need to know, including how to understand zombie physiology and behavior, the most effective defense tactics and weaponry, ways to outfit your home for a long siege, and how to survive and adapt in any territory or terrain.
Top 10 Lessons for Surviving a Zombie Attack
1. Organize before they rise! 2. They feel no fear, why should you? 3. Use your head: cut off theirs. 4. Blades don’t need reloading. 5. Ideal protection = tight clothes, short hair. 6. Get up the staircase, then destroy it. 7. Get out of the car, get onto the bike. 8. Keep moving, keep low, keep quiet, keep alert! 9. No place is safe, only safer. 10. The zombie may be gone, but the threat lives on.
Don’t be carefree and foolish with your most precious asset—life. This book is your key to survival against the hordes of undead who may be stalking you right now without your even knowing it. The Zombie Survival Guide offers complete protection through trusted, proven tips for safeguarding yourself and your loved ones against the living dead. It is a book that can save your life.

Quick! The Dead have risen! What next? WHAT ARE YOU GONNA DO?!?! If you are smart, you would have read this book to prepare yourself waaaaaay ahead of time, and you will be ready to either defend your turf or escape to a safe place.

This book offers everything that you need to know if zombies should ever roam the earth. Max Brooks goes into a LOT of details that you will need to know. Such as the best way to escape. The best tools to use against zombies. I always have though a gun, but no that is not the BEST method.

Brooks also shows you how to escape should you need to. And a big ass truck zooming straight outta dodge is NOT the best way. In fact, a car itself is not the best way as millions of other people will have the same idea and you will be stuck in the worst traffic since time began, and then zombies will catch up to you and well. You will be zombie food. SO you need to prepare to make sure you make it to where you are going alive and with zero bites. Or you will end up in the zombie documentary “The Walking Dead” you don’t want THAT, do you? The question remains if you are escaping from a city the size of say LA where do you go? The sad fact is probably nowhere. I mean think about it how would you get OUT or even if you did where is there TO go in the desolate southern California wasteland that is covered by suburbia for miles on end and that is probably in all likelihood crawling with the living dead. So you have accepted your fate that your sorry ass is stuck in LA or New York or my case Cleveland so where TO go to ensure you have the maximum chance of survival? The book explains where not TO go mostly avoid the damn hospital. I dunno why people run to the hospital in times of crisis. But yeah that is where most people will be reanimating so BAD BAD IDEA. I must admit I was relieved when he said the inner city is the best place to go. That is like 95 percent of Cleveland, so I am safe if I can just get to the inner city without some white dude biting me. ANYWAY, there are places to go and places to avoid, and he explains the cons and pros of each and on how to choose and eliminate zombies and how to prepare for the long haul. Because it will be a long ass haul cause no help is coming. When I realized that I would have to survive the frigid Cleveland winters without modern electricity maybe I am tempted to try and make my way south but nahhhh that will be eight months of zombies being frozen so ANYWAY….

But suppose you decide to stay and to defend your turf? He shows you how to do that also. He gives an in-depth explanation of the types of weapons that are best in this scenario and how to defend your house or the prison that you and some other trusted people have decided to make your new home.

He even explains that you will need to grow your food. This makes me weep. I was manged to kill a CATUS plant so I dunno about a garden but if my life depended on it I bet I will remember to water it.

This book is a good primer for what to do in the event of a zombiepolyse. Don’t let your survival stop there, however. To survive you need to know all you can. So learn, learn, learn and may God be with all of us.

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review:Crazy Sexy Diet: Eat Your Veggies, Ignite Your Spark, and Live Like You Mean It! by Kris Carr

Posted July 11, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780762774524
Book Review:Crazy Sexy Diet: Eat Your Veggies, Ignite Your Spark, and Live Like You Mean It! by Kris CarrCrazy Sexy Diet by Kris CarrSheila Buff
Published by Rowman & Littlefield on January 17th 2011
Genres: Health & Fitness, General, Diet & Nutrition, Diets, Nutrition, Self-Help, Motivational & Inspirational
Pages: 240
Format: hardcover
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The author of the best-selling Crazy Sexy Cancer Tips and Crazy Sexy Cancer Survivor takes on the crazy sexy subject of

what and how we eat, drink, and think.

Crazysexydiet.com

On the heels of Kris Carr's best-selling cancer survival guidebooks and her acclaimed TLC documentary comes her new journey into a realm vital to anyone's health. Infused with her signature sass, wit and advice-from-the-trenches style, Crazy Sexy Diet is a beautifully illustrated resource that puts you on the fast track to vibrant health, happiness and a great ass!

Along with help from her posse of experts, Carr lays out the fundamentals of her Crazy Sexy Diet: a low-glycemic, vegetarian program that emphasizes balancing the pH of the body with lush whole and raw foods, nourishing organic green drinks, and scrumptious smoothies. Plus, she shares the steps of her own twenty-one-day cleanse, and simple but delectable sample recipes.

In ten chapters with titles such as, “pHabulous,” “Coffee, Cupcakes and Cocktails,” “Make Juice Not War,” and “God-Pod Glow,” Carr empowers readers to move from a state of constant bodily damage control to one of renewal and repair. In addition to debunking common diet myths and sharing vital tips on detoxifying our bodies and psyches—advice that draws both on her personal experience as a cancer survivor and that of experts—she provides helpful hints on natural personal care, how to stretch a dollar, navigate the grocery store, eating well on the run, and working through the inevitable pangs and cravings for your old not-so-healthy life.

Crazy Sexy Diet is a must for anyone who seeks to be a confident and sexy wellness warrior.

Including contributions by:

Dean Ornish, M.D. – author and founder and president of the Preventive Medicine Research Institute

Neal Barnard, M.D. – author, founder of Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine (PCRM), author of Food for Life

Kathy Freston – author of Quantum Wellness and health advocateAlejandro Junger, M.D. – author of Clean: The Revolutionary Program to Restore the Body's Natural Ability to Heal Itself, and director of integrative medicine at Lenox Hill Hospital, NYCRory Freedman – coauthor of Skinny Bitch and health advocateMark Hyman, M.D. – author of The UltraMind Solution and pioneer in functional medicineEmily Deschanel – star of the Fox series Bones and health advocateSharon Gannon – author of Yoga and Vegetarianism, and cofounder of Jivamukti YogaWayne Pacelle – president & CEO, The Humane Society of the United StatesStacy Malkan – author and cofounder of the Campaign for Safe CosmeticsDr. Lilli Link – specialist in raw foods and integrative nutrition

Frank Lipman – author of Revive: Stop feeling Spent and Start Living Again and founder of the Eleven Eleven Wellness Center

Crazy Sexy tips for optimal health

Flood your body with alkaline nutrients * Flush stored waste products and chemicals * Reduce or eliminate animal products * *Dump sugar, you're sweet enough * Go gluten-free *Shake your booty * Wrangle the monkeys in your mind and turn down the stress * Install healthy boundaries so you don't burn out * Kill your television and Detox your In Box (Facebook too!) * Take fun seriously * Build a wellness posse support system *Be a "prevention is hot" cheerleader!

Kris Carr's television appearances have included:

- CBS Evening News with Katie Couric- The Early Show- The Today Show- Montel- Access Hollywood- The Mike & Juliet Show- Good Morning America- The Oprah Winfrey Show

Do you have any idea what it's like to feel blissfully whole and comfortable in your skin? You will. The Crazy Sexy Diet and lifestyle will give you the tools to navigate through life with clarity, balance, and flow. Health is more than just the absence of disease; it is the presence of vitality. Health is freedom from obstruction; it's living in a harmonious way that creates both inner and outer peace. . . . The Crazy Sexy Diet is loaded with wisdom, tips and advice from personal experien ce. If I feel great living and eating this way then you can feel fantastic! What I present to you is what works for me and countless other wellness warriors. This information just might save your life, or at the very least reduce the pesky cellulite. It's an awakening without the disease, knowledge without the price. Changing your mind is the biggest obstacle you face. But once you do, you'll realize that you are the one you've been waiting for. . . .

From the Introduction

I first heard of Kris Carr with her Crazy Sexy Cancer show. I thought she was courageous then I heard she had managed to put her cancer into remission by going vegan. Then a friend introduced me to Deliciously Ella. I was all like blah. I mean, everyone had reason to be worried. I topped the scale at 315 pounds. I smoked a pack a day, I did not move much, and I ate crap. I hate to say this, but it took a series of health crisis to get me to move my ass. I started coughing up blood one day, and at the ER they took an x-ray of my lungs, and they were COATED in tar. I smoked a pack a day for 21 years, so yeah. I left with some Chantix, and after about six tries and another trip to the ER, for…you guessed it… I was coughing up blood…AGAIN; the Dr told me I was playing Russian roulette with my health and mom was crying that I was gonna die soon. I quit smoking finally.

After about six months I could breathe like a normal person, and I was all proud, and then I went to the DR cause I was not feeling well and I topped the scale at my highest weight EVAR at 315 pounds. I almost crapped my pants. The Dr once again told me I was on the road to a heart attack. So after I almost had to use the cart at the food store cause I could barely walk I got my fat behind to the gym and went Paleo. I lost weight but and felt amazing, but honestly, I HATE meat. Seriously ewwwww. So that failed. I went back to eating crap. I mean I was on a first name basis at the local Burger King. This year I had one of the worst depressive episodes I have had since I was diagnosed with schizo-effective disorder in 2007. I was one notch above suicidal. I knew that I had to pull myself together and fight for me to not only to live but to thrive.

A friend urged me to watch some documentaries on Netflix, and I was hooked. What if I could beat this by changing my diet. I mean if Kris Carr could come back from stage 4 cancer surely I could get a grip on my schizo-effective disorder. So I checked her book out from the library and read it.

To be honest, I thought some of the stuff was extreme. I mean colonics? I am not sure about THAT, but overall I loved the book. I got some excellent ideas on how to incorporate some wellness stuff into my day. I mean I went gluten free vegan cold turkey. It helped that the night before I had a pizza and had the worst tummy ache in my life then I pooped out like three pounds. I am a TMI monster hee hee. I then realized that maybe gluten was not for me. SO gluten free vegan all the way here. I also am all over the essential oils and the dry brushing and all of that. I am all like  TOXINS BE GONE!!

She explains very well how your body works and how different stuff affects you. I mean this book took me about a week to read cause I was reading and taking notes. I learned ALOT in this book. Like how gluten affects some people and how meat affects you. There are some graphic pictures in the book, so if you are sensitive to that sort of thing, you may want to skip the meat chapter. I read it and was like ewwwwwww you mean they roll around in the own shit then eat THAT, and we eat it GROSS I AM NEVER EVER EATING MEAT AGAIN!

 

I highly recommend this book. It has a lot of information. It is not at all preachy. It gives you facts, and she even says that if you WANT to eat meat to get the best you can afford. Maybe after I start feeling better, I will go back to eating Applegate beef. After reading what all goes INTO the animals though, it may be tough to look at a hamburger the same way. I mean I KNOW Applegate takes care of their cows and that their cows have no antibiotics and are grass fed and grass finished. Yes, they are expensive, but at least I know that the beef from those cows won’t kill me and it is not gross to eat those cows. Heh, But to eat a hamburger from McDonald’s from Lord only knows where they get their beef..ewwwwww….

I have been pushing this book on everyone. As I type this, I am on day three of my gluten-free journey, and I can feel changes occurring in me. I know I am detoxing from all the crap and I can’t WAIT until I feel fabulous again!

 

 

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary Vaynerchuk

Posted May 5, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary Vaynerchuk
ISBN: 9780062273079
Book Review: Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook: How to Tell Your Story in a Noisy Social World by Gary VaynerchukJab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook by Gary Vaynerchuk
Published by Harper Collins on November 26th 2013
Genres: Business & Economics, Marketing, General, Entrepreneurship, E-Commerce, Internet Marketing
Pages: 224
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

New York Times bestselling author and social media expert Gary Vaynerchuk shares hard-won advice on how to connect with customers and beat the competition. A mash-up of the best elements of Crush It! and The Thank You Economy with a fresh spin, Jab, Jab, Jab, Right Hook is a blueprint to social media marketing strategies that really works. 
When managers and marketers outline their social media strategies, they plan for the “right hook”—their next sale or campaign that’s going to knock out the competition. Even companies committed to jabbing—patiently engaging with customers to build the relationships crucial to successful social media campaigns—want to land the punch that will take down their opponent or their customer’s resistance in one blow. Right hooks convert traffic to sales and easily show results. Except when they don’t.
Thanks to massive change and proliferation in social media platforms, the winning combination of jabs and right hooks is different now. Vaynerchuk shows that while communication is still key, context matters more than ever. It’s not just about developing high-quality content, but developing high-quality content perfectly adapted to specific social media platforms and mobile devices—content tailor-made for Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Twitter, and Tumblr.

I have been hearing about Gary Vee for years but have never read him until now. I decided to see what all the hype was. I also follow him on Instagram and his personality is really…out there… So I wasn’t too sure what to expect with his books. I know this one was written a while ago so his later books might have a different tone but the tone of this book was waaaayyyyyy more subdued than how he is on Instagram.

I was also looking to learn more about social media. On that aspect, this book seemed more geared toward beginners. I DID learn some twitter tips and twitter seems to be the place where I struggle most so I did come away with some valuable insight. I am testing them to see if they still work as this book was written a couple years ago and we all know how fast social media can change. I mean he had a chapter on Vine and we all know what sad fate befell them.

He also had a chapter on SnapChat. I have to admit I REALLY don’t get SnapChat. I think I am just getting old BUT I did learn how other people use the platform so I will give it more time. People keep adding me on there so I must be doing something right. I LOVE the filters on SnapChat and now with my implants, I can hear people doing the funny voices and what can I say I am easily amused. I am also testing his recommendations for that platform.

I did find his chapter on Pinterest lacking. I mean he makes it sound like all you need is a pretty board and you will get thousands of followers which we know is not true. There is an art to using Pinterest and if you want people to actually find your pins you better have some keywords and such. I felt he could have done better on that but he is not really in the demographic so I should cut him some slack.

All in all, i felt that the overall tone of the book.  Give …give…give..give…. ask was on point. Too often I see people going straight for the asking when they haven’t really given anything yet. It takes the time to build a level of trust up to the point where people are going to part with their hard earned dollars. I recently joined a mastermind but I watched that person’s blog and stuff for TWO YEARS before I was ready to part with my cash. And this is a blogger that gives almost everything away for free. I watched and I waited……and when she launched a mastermind I decided that this was worth my money. So that tactic does work. I also have my eye on some more courses but as of now, i am just seeing what free stuff everyone puts out before I part with a 1000 dollars. I don’t care how well known they are that much money makes me want to poop my pants so it is gonna take a high level of trust before I hand over my card.

Overall I felt this book had some good tips. There were some areas that were lacking so I would recommend you get this book from a library.

 

 

four-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Guest Book Review: The Alpha Female’s Guide to Men and Marriage: How Love Works” by Suzanne Venker

Posted April 11, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781618688446
Guest Book Review: The Alpha Female’s Guide to Men and Marriage: How Love Works” by Suzanne VenkerThe Alpha Female's Guide to Men and Marriage by Suzanne Venker
Published by Simon and Schuster on February 14th 2017
Genres: Family & Relationships, Love & Romance, Marriage & Long-Term Relationships, Self-Help, General
Pages: 176
Goodreads

As seen on Fox & Friends
The Alpha Female's Guide to Men and Marriage shows women who have a dominating personality how to love a man.
America is in love with the alpha female. She’s the quintessential modern woman—assertive, razor sharp, and fully in control. Her success in the marketplace is undeniable, a downright boon to society. But what happens when the alpha female gets married?
She becomes an alpha wife, of course.
An alpha wife is in charge of everything and everyone. She is, quite simply, the Boss. The problem is, no man wants a boss for a wife. That type of relationship may work for a spell, but it will eventually come crashing down. Since 1970, just as women became more and more powerful outside the home—more alpha—the divorce rate has quadrupled. And it is women who lead the charge. Today, 70% of divorce is initiated by wives.
Do men just make lousy husbands? Not at that rate, says Suzanne Venker, bestselling author of The War on Men. The truth is that women don’t know how to be wives. Why would they? That’s not what they were raised to become.
But women can learn. There’s an art to loving a man, says Venker, and any woman can master it. An alpha female herself, Venker learned how to be a wife the hard way—through trial and error. Lots of error. And here’s what she knows today—the set of skills a woman needs to pursue a career, or even to raise children, is the exact set of skills that will mess up her marriage but good. No man likes to be told what to do. And no woman respects the man who does.
The Alpha Female's Guide to Men and Marriage gives women who are used to being in charge the tools they need to make their marriages less competitive and more complementary. Part memoir, part advice, this brave manifesto argues that while marriage is more challenging for the alpha female, it is possible to find peace in your marriage. In fact, it may be easier than you think.

The Alpha Female’s Guide to Men and Marriage: How Love Works” by Suzanne Venker was just the book I needed. Being a newlywed and an alpha female myself, it was helpful to read this before I went too far down the wrong marriage path and made the same mistakes that the author did! A few points that stuck out and resonated with me were:

 

 

  1. “People who lack the ability to trust compensate by taking control.” I have had trust issues ever since my boyfriend back in freshman year of high school slept with my older brother’s ex-girlfriend and the whole school knew about it except for me. I wish it didn’t affect me the way it had, but it was during a really formative time in my life and I decided then and there that I would never again be the “stupid girl”. So I hardened my heart and I guess decided to become an ‘alpha female’ so that I wouldn’t get hurt again which has correlated to not wanting to be vulnerable in relationships and taking control when I can’t trust.
  2. Another point Suzanne made was that “no relationship can last if one person is mentally preparing to get burned by the other” and that is what made me decide to change my mindset about my husband, instead of constantly trying to protect myself, I decided that we are in this together have started to be completely vulnerable in trusting him. And honestly he hasn’t given me even a millimeter of a doubt not to, so it is about time (after 6 years of being together)!
  3. “Your attitude is the single most important determiner of your success in life and marriage.” I thought this was quite extreme but honestly quite surprisingly true. Once I mentally let go of my distrust, life has become so much easier because my mind is a lot calmer, not constantly trying to find something wrong. What I used to believe was if I found out about something before it happened, I would hurt less, but even saying that aloud now sounds kind of silly. It is better to trust first until proven wrong than the other way around.
  4. “Ironically the deepest need of the wife, to feel loved, is undermined by her disrespect.” This stuck out to me because of how true it was for me in the early days while we were still dating, in order to prove that I was in charge, I would make snarky remarks or tease him in front of my family and his friends, without realizing that it was causing a rift between us. It wasn’t until he wanted to break up with me and my family started pointing my bad habits out that I decided I needed to control my tongue and start being nicer because no one wants to love someone who is mean all the time!
  5. “Be easy to please and you will be easy to love.” When I read that I was like, yea right I am going to be easy – he needs to earn my love! But Suzanne makes a good point; first off, I am already married so honestly he shouldn’t need to be constantly pursuing me, but also who wants to feel that they need to be on presentation mode all the time? She connects this way of thinking with the American culture that “easy women” aren’t the ideal. This may be true outside of marriage but once you are married it is a whole different situation.
  6. “Culture elevates women in not changing themselves, but that is ridiculous because you need to improve.” No one should change themselves for a man, but once you have decided on a man and in order to constantly be growing in the same direction, one must change! When I first met my husband we were in college, now we are both in the working world and completely different people than we were just 6 years ago. If we didn’t grow and adapt to each other, we probably wouldn’t still be together.
  7. “In the same way women release while talking, men release sexually.” I thought this was an extremely interesting point that isn’t often talked about! If my husband wasn’t around to listen to me and talk to me, I know I would go crazy and have all these pent up feelings, so to relate talking to sex is very interesting to me because I have a tangible way of understanding how he would feel if I were ever to “hold sex” against him or use it as a weapon!

 

Suzanne made lots of other interesting points in her book, which you will have to read for yourself to find out what you relate to most. Overall, it was a very easy and eye-opening read for me, partly because I agreed on a lot of her points, but also it was packed full of useful and actionable items. Definitely learned a lot from it and will be implementing these new insights in my marriage life!

I recently featured Suzanne Venker on my blog, Ladybossblogger.com, a blog that highlights female entrepreneurs via interviews – please check out her interview by clicking here.

Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet: Tasting the Goodness of God in All Things by Sara Hagerty

Posted December 16, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ISBN: 9780310339953
Review: Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet: Tasting the Goodness of God in All Things by Sara HagertyEvery Bitter Thing Is Sweet by Sara Hagerty
Published by Zondervan on October 7th 2014
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, Spiritual Growth, General, Inspirational
Pages: 208
Format: eARC
Source: publisher
Goodreads
three-stars

Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet by Sara Hagerty is the story of a woman whose life expectations went unmet while her heart became re-acquainted with her first Love. God, who comes in the hunger that pain so masterfully produces, worked His way into her insides to write a love-story as universal as the barrenness that every life clothed-in-flesh wears.
 A back alley is an unsuspecting place for a brush with God. In the age of fingertip access to pipe dreams and a ceiling-less supply of ambitions, where do you find the God who was birthed in dirt and straw? Sara Hagerty found Him when life stopped working for her. It was after almost a decade of Christian life and ministry when she was introduced to pain and perplexity. God met her and moved her when life broke.
 Hagerty weaves in and out (not necessarily sequentially) stories of her conversion and teen years, dating years, infertility, adoption, early years of marriage, husband's business failure, and family health issues. The overall message is that all the tough times end up teaching her major lessons about herself and God.

my review

I rarely have such mixed feelings about a book. Normally I can tell you that I either liked it, or I hated it and I can tell you why. I really want to work on my faith. I understand that by faith I am-am more Danielle Laporte than Billy Gram. I mean I can read Pema Chadron and be all like omg she is BRILLIANT! But I read something like this book and there is SOMETHING that I have resorted to calling the holier than thou asshole test. This is where people tray and sound how the Lord had helped them but in doing so they make people like me who I will fully admit to being broken sinners feel like assholes.

For example, when I read someone like Pema Chadron I can relate to her and I feel like I am on the right path and that I am on the brink of an awaking. I feel good and I want to do good and I want all humankind to feel peace and joy and communion with our creator or the source as it is called in some circles. To me, the Creator IS the source so.

I read Something like Every Bitter Thing Is Sweet and I read about how to agreed to Give her life to the Lord at 16 and followed all the rules I feel like and asshole because at 16 I was battling drug addiction  and a mental illness and my single mother was trying to keep my ass out of Juvenile. (I am a productive member of society nowadays and I have never been in an adult jail so therapy  and medication really do work). I  feel like scum because of all I put my mom through. And that makes me not like the book.

To be fair, the writing is beautiful. It is an internal journey of a woman getting to the core of communion with God. It tells the story of how God peeled back layers and layers til what was left was a precious diamond that reflects God. I LOVED the language and how she described her internal journey. and yet…

I felt worse and worse. Like I wasn’t good enough. Like maybe I was unsavable which I know is not true. God has blessed me with a life beyond my wildest dreams and I now try and follow him, but I KNOW I am still broken in a fallen world and I will never reach the heights of holiness that this author talks about. I could feel the anger in me that all she lacked was getting pregnant. That is all she couldn’t get pregnant. I wanted to tell her to try fertility treatment or something. I hate to admit this, but I felt as if her problem was really not all that big a deal. I know couples who deal with this will disagree with me, but I somehow feel that that people who have suffered withdrawal from drugs and cancer patients and the lack have far more to deal with and so what if you can’t have a kid?

Again my feelings with this book stem from a personal nature. This is a beautiful book to read if you have only faced something of a similar nature. That language is out of this world and it is a beautiful story. So I gave it three stars.

final verdict

 

IT WAS OK

three-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: (Lumberjanes #1) by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen (Illustrator)

Posted November 10, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ISBN: 9781681594873
Review: (Lumberjanes #1) by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen (Illustrator)Lumberjanes #16 by Noelle StevensonShannon Watters
Published by BOOM! Studios on July 15th 2015
Genres: Comics & Graphic Novels, General, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Contemporary Women
Pages: 32
Goodreads

Which side does Jen choose, Abigail or Rosie?! While Abigail tries to lure a monster out so she can kill it (which is all kinds of crazy), Jen goes to the bearwoman for help.

my review

It was late at night during the readathon, and I needed something easy to read that would not put me to sleep. I had heard about this comic from somewhere I cant remember where but It was on scribed, so I started reading and fell in love. I wish I had comics like this when I was a teenager. I remember back in the old days all they had was Superman and Batman, and I hated both with a fiery passion. I equated comics with those two and stayed far far far away. I ca see now that comics have really changed. I wish I had given them a chance earlier but better late than never right?

I love how each girl is her own and how they are all accepted no matter what. There are the two girls who are in a sorta relationship. Instead of making a big deal out of it, they treat it just as it was another normal thing, which it is.  There is the girl who is afraid of spiders, the hyperactive one, etc. No matter what though everyone has everyone else’s back.

I also loved the fantasy aspect of it. The magical creatures, the monsters all of that. It wasn’t scary at all but more in line of a good fantasy novel.

I loved this one so much that I put a hold for volume two at my library. It must ne really popular as it will be a while before it gets to me. I really can’t wait!

final verdict

i loved it

 

Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: SuperBetter: A Revolutionary Approach to Getting Stronger, Happier, Braver and More Resilient -Powered by the Science of Games by Jane McGonigal

Posted October 15, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9780698185500
Book Review: SuperBetter: A Revolutionary Approach to Getting Stronger, Happier, Braver and More Resilient -Powered by the Science of Games by Jane McGonigalSuperBetter by Jane McGonigal
Published by Penguin on September 15th 2015
Genres: Self-Help, Personal Growth, Happiness, Psychology, General, Games, Video & Electronic
Pages: 400
Format: ebook
Source: bought
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

An innovative guide to living gamefully, based on the program that has already helped nearly half a million people achieve remarkable personal growthIn 2009, internationally renowned game designer Jane McGonigal suffered a severe concussion. Unable to think clearly or work or even get out of bed, she became anxious and depressed, even suicidal. But rather than let herself sink further, she decided to get better by doing what she does best: she turned her recovery process into a resilience-building game. What started as a simple motivational exercise quickly became a set of rules for “post-traumatic growth” that she shared on her blog. These rules led to a digital game and a major research study with the National Institutes of Health. Today nearly half a million people have played SuperBetter to get stronger, happier, and healthier.
But the life-changing ideas behind SuperBetter are much bigger than just one game. In this book, McGonigal reveals a decade’s worth of scientific research into the ways all games—including videogames, sports, and puzzles—change how we respond to stress, challenge, and pain. She explains how we can cultivate new powers of recovery and resilience in everyday life simply by adopting a more “gameful” mind-set. Being gameful means bringing the same psychological strengths we naturally display when we play games—such as optimism, creativity, courage, and determination—to real-world goals.
Drawing on hundreds of studies, McGonigal shows that getting superbetter is as simple as tapping into the three core psychological strengths that games help you build:
   • Your ability to control your attention, and therefore your thoughts and feelings    • Your power to turn anyone into a potential ally, and to strengthen your existing relationships    • Your natural capacity to motivate yourself and super-charge your heroic qualities, like willpower, compassion, and determination
SuperBetter contains nearly 100 playful challenges anyone can undertake in order to build these gameful strengths. It includes stories and data from people who have used the SuperBetter method to get stronger in the face of illness, injury, and other major setbacks, as well as to achieve goals like losing weight, running a marathon, and finding a new job.
As inspiring as it is down to earth, and grounded in rigorous research, SuperBetter is a proven game plan for a better life. You’ll never say that something is “just a game” again.
From the Hardcover edition.

my review

I am a huge gamer, and I also have been playing the Superbetter game ever since it came out. I had to admit that I really did not know HOW to play to get the most out of it, but after reading this book I feel as if I have a better grasp of the game.

She tells about how playing games can help us in real life everyday problems. I have to admit that I had never thought about taking my gaming obsession and applying it to real life problems. I mean really, How can World Od Warcraft help me when I am depressed. After reading this book, I realized that the skills in WOW like asking for help, working in a team, etc. can translate into the “real” world. I applied that to my life. I started asking for help and was surprised at how many people responded. It seems that there were a lot of people who wanted to help me but wasn’t sure how. I went back and started playing superbetter again and this time I knew HOW to play to get results. I got some of my friends to sign up for allies. And I can honestly feel that my depression and anxiety symptoms have become manageable.

I also love how she input tricks and power-ups into the book. Like for example anxiety and excitement is physically the same thing so if you feel anxious just make yourself think you are excited, and it becomes bearable. I tried this once, and it worked. I prefer to cut down on anxiety by the way of benzos but if you do not have access to them, then this is a good trick.

Another good trick is to breath in for 4 seconds and then breathe out for 8. This apparently does something to your nervous system and can stop anxiety and migraines and stuff. She admits that it is not perfect but most of the times she can get by without medication. I have wondered if this would help me. I am not to keen to try it though as even thinking about my anxiety gives me anxiety. I have learned that when I feel overwhelmed if breath like that then I can calm down.

I have added my power ups to the mix. Like I am trying to eat healthily so when I want junk food I eat a piece of fruit. When I feel horrible mediate and stuff like that. I still like all people with a serious chronic condition have bad days, but now they are fewer and farther spaced. I spend less time in bed curled into a fetal position not so patiently waiting for the end of time and more out and about and living. So the program works. I would recommend this to anyone with a  serious chronic condition. It is a great tool to make the living with your condition easier and enables you actually to make a life worth getting out of the bed.

five-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Review: When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times by Pema Chödrön

Posted October 13, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781590302262
Review: When Things Fall Apart: Heart Advice for Difficult Times by Pema ChödrönWhen Things Fall Apart by Pema Chödrön
Published by Shambhala Publications on January 11th 2005
Genres: Religion, Buddhism, General
Pages: 185
Format: ebook
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

There is a fundamental opportunity for happiness right within our reach, yet we usually miss it—ironically, while we are caught up in attempts to escape pain and suffering. Drawn from traditional Buddhist wisdom, Pema Chödrön's radical and compassionate advice for what to do when things fall apart in our lives goes against the grain of our usual habits and expectations. There is only one approach to suffering that is of lasting benefit, Pema teaches, and that approach involves movingtowardpainful situations with friendliness and curiosity, relaxing into the essential groundlessness of our entire situation. It is there, in the midst of chaos, that we can discover the truth and love that are indestructible. Included in the book are:
   •  Ways to use painful emotions to cultivate wisdom, compassion, and courage    •  Methods of communicating that lead to openness and true intimacy with others    •  Practices for reversing negative habitual patterns    •  Techniques for working with chaotic situations    •  Tools for cultivating compassionate, energetic social action

my review

I heard about Pema Chodron while reading the Desire Map. I am in Love with Danielle Laporte so anything she says to read I will, even if it is just the back of a cereal box. So when I saw her talking about reading Chadron, I went to the library e-book website, and this is the only book they had by her.

Recently I have become interested in spirituality. I am reading up on Buddhism and Reki and all of that. Funny story. I first started reading about Buddhism and it sounded familiar. Then I realized that the stuff they teach you how to deal with Shizoeffective disorder IS Buddhism! All the detach from you emotions and respond from a place of safety, and all of that is all Buddhism. I guess telling people to give it all up to God is not detailed enough to tell people. I thought it was really interesting.

When I first saw the title of this book, my first thought was, but my life is not falling apart. I decided to read it anyway and It was a good book. Chadron talks about the ending of her marriage and how everything in her life fell apart so she started practising Buddhism and was put back together. This hit me to my core. This is exactly how I feel. I felt that when I had my psychotic break in 2007 I exploded into a million pieces and it took a decade to put myself back into a functional human being. I feel like I am whole again I still got cracks that explode under enough pressure. I read book such as this in the hopes of healing those cracks in my psyche.

I wish I had read this book a long time ago. It would have been helpful. Or maybe I wasn’t ready, and now I am. Before I would have made fun of such advice as to transcend your ego and respond from a place of peace, love and safety. That was because I lacked all three, so I lashed out, and the universe gave it right back to me. After a decade and some strong pills, I feel like I can have enough distance from my emotions to take a breather and calm down and respond from a better place. I am still in the process of doing this ALL THE TIME, but I am better than before.

 

four-stars
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!

Book Review: The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart Tolle

Posted September 9, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ISBN: 9781577314806
Book Review: The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart TolleThe Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle
Published by Namaste Pub. on 2004
Genres: Inspiration & Personal Growth, Spirituality, General
Pages: 235
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

It's no wonder that The Power of Now has sold over 2 million copies worldwide and has been translated into over 30 foreign languages. Much more than simple principles and platitudes, the book takes readers on an inspiring spiritual journey to find their true and deepest self and reach the ultimate in personal growth and spirituality: the discovery of truth and light. In the first chapter, Tolle introduces readers to enlightenment and its natural enemy, the mind. He awakens readers to their role as a creator of pain and shows them how to have a pain-free identity by living fully in the present. The journey is thrilling, and along the way, the author shows how to connect to the indestructible essence of our Being, "the eternal, ever-present One Life beyond the myriad forms of life that are subject to birth and death." Featuring a new preface by the author, this paperback shows that only after regaining awareness of Being, liberated from Mind and intensely in the Now, is there Enlightenment.

my review

 

 

I had read A new Earth and loved it so much that I just had to read more by this authour. I hate to say it, but I did like this as much as I liked A New Earth. However, this is not to say that I disliked this book. I feel that it offers a lot of good insights. Eckhart Tolle explains that the best way to have happiness and enlightenment is to live in the now. I admit it SOUNDS easy, but it was hard to wrap my head around this concept. I keep thinking of the future and what it will bring etc. Eckhart Tolle says this will bring anxiety and I admit I do feel anxious. Ever since I have read this I have tried to follow this. Every time I catch myself thinking about the past or present I remind myself that there is only now and what I have at this moment is enough.

 

Eckhart Tolle spent two years living on park benches prior to writing this book living in the now. I wish I could experience such transmittal joy. Maybe if I try hard enough I can. I have no idea. I did not notice how insane my brain could make me before reading this book. I have a habit of going through things over and over in my mind. I was wondering as I read this book if that is why I have anxiety so bad. Cause I keep worrying about stuff that is in the past or future.

The one thing that I did not like about this book was the question and answer format. A New Earth was written like a typical non-fiction book. The Power of now is written in a question and answer format. I felt that it did not go deeply into any one explanation in the book. Other than that thought I felt that it was a good book with a good message.

 

 

four-stars
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Hillary

About Hillary

I am a book lover who loves to read and write. I only leave my apartment for food and MOAR books. I love to meet new people online so don't be afraid to say hi!