Genre: Humor

Book Review: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead by Max Brooks

Posted July 12, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781400049622
Book Review: The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead by Max BrooksThe Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks
Published by Three Rivers Press on 2003
Genres: Humor, General, Form, Parodies
Pages: 254
Format: Paperback
Source: library
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

The Zombie Survival Guide is your key to survival against the hordes of undead who may be stalking you right now. Fully illustrated and exhaustively comprehensive, this book covers everything you need to know, including how to understand zombie physiology and behavior, the most effective defense tactics and weaponry, ways to outfit your home for a long siege, and how to survive and adapt in any territory or terrain.
Top 10 Lessons for Surviving a Zombie Attack
1. Organize before they rise! 2. They feel no fear, why should you? 3. Use your head: cut off theirs. 4. Blades don’t need reloading. 5. Ideal protection = tight clothes, short hair. 6. Get up the staircase, then destroy it. 7. Get out of the car, get onto the bike. 8. Keep moving, keep low, keep quiet, keep alert! 9. No place is safe, only safer. 10. The zombie may be gone, but the threat lives on.
Don’t be carefree and foolish with your most precious asset—life. This book is your key to survival against the hordes of undead who may be stalking you right now without your even knowing it. The Zombie Survival Guide offers complete protection through trusted, proven tips for safeguarding yourself and your loved ones against the living dead. It is a book that can save your life.

Quick! The Dead have risen! What next? WHAT ARE YOU GONNA DO?!?! If you are smart, you would have read this book to prepare yourself waaaaaay ahead of time, and you will be ready to either defend your turf or escape to a safe place.

This book offers everything that you need to know if zombies should ever roam the earth. Max Brooks goes into a LOT of details that you will need to know. Such as the best way to escape. The best tools to use against zombies. I always have though a gun, but no that is not the BEST method.

Brooks also shows you how to escape should you need to. And a big ass truck zooming straight outta dodge is NOT the best way. In fact, a car itself is not the best way as millions of other people will have the same idea and you will be stuck in the worst traffic since time began, and then zombies will catch up to you and well. You will be zombie food. SO you need to prepare to make sure you make it to where you are going alive and with zero bites. Or you will end up in the zombie documentary “The Walking Dead” you don’t want THAT, do you? The question remains if you are escaping from a city the size of say LA where do you go? The sad fact is probably nowhere. I mean think about it how would you get OUT or even if you did where is there TO go in the desolate southern California wasteland that is covered by suburbia for miles on end and that is probably in all likelihood crawling with the living dead. So you have accepted your fate that your sorry ass is stuck in LA or New York or my case Cleveland so where TO go to ensure you have the maximum chance of survival? The book explains where not TO go mostly avoid the damn hospital. I dunno why people run to the hospital in times of crisis. But yeah that is where most people will be reanimating so BAD BAD IDEA. I must admit I was relieved when he said the inner city is the best place to go. That is like 95 percent of Cleveland, so I am safe if I can just get to the inner city without some white dude biting me. ANYWAY, there are places to go and places to avoid, and he explains the cons and pros of each and on how to choose and eliminate zombies and how to prepare for the long haul. Because it will be a long ass haul cause no help is coming. When I realized that I would have to survive the frigid Cleveland winters without modern electricity maybe I am tempted to try and make my way south but nahhhh that will be eight months of zombies being frozen so ANYWAY….

But suppose you decide to stay and to defend your turf? He shows you how to do that also. He gives an in-depth explanation of the types of weapons that are best in this scenario and how to defend your house or the prison that you and some other trusted people have decided to make your new home.

He even explains that you will need to grow your food. This makes me weep. I was manged to kill a CATUS plant so I dunno about a garden but if my life depended on it I bet I will remember to water it.

This book is a good primer for what to do in the event of a zombiepolyse. Don’t let your survival stop there, however. To survive you need to know all you can. So learn, learn, learn and may God be with all of us.

five-stars

Book Review: The Grumpy Guide to Life: Observations from Grumpy Cat by Grumpy Cat

Posted June 9, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781452134239
Book Review: The Grumpy Guide to Life: Observations from Grumpy Cat by Grumpy CatThe Grumpy Guide to Life by Grumpy Cat
Published by Chronicle Books on August 5th 2014
Genres: Anecdotes & Quotations, Animals, Form, Humor, Topic
Pages: 112
Source: library
Goodreads
five-stars

In a world filled with inspirational know-it-alls and quotable blowhards, only one figure is indifferent enough to tell the cranky truth: Grumpy Cat. Following the success of her New York Times bestselling debut, everyone's favorite disgruntled feline is back with this demotivational guide to everyday life, love, friendship, and more. Featuring many new photos of Grumpy Cat's famous frown and packed with uninspiring observations, The Grumpy Guide to Life will help anyone get in touch with their inner grouch.

My Review 2

I was having a bad day and what better way to cheer myself up than to read Grumpy Cat?! I have to admit, aside from my cat Garfield Grumpy has to be my favorite cat of all time. I just love that grumpy little face. This book is chock full of her sayings in her usual grumpy style. I laughed aloud on every page and by the time I was done with the book I was in a much better mood. If you love cats or Grumpy Cat, then this book will put a smile on your face.

loved-it

five-stars

Book Review: The Awkward Human Survival Guide: How to Handle Life’s Most Uncomfortable Situations

Posted December 11, 2014 by Hillary in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ISBN: 9781454911647
Book Review: The Awkward Human Survival Guide: How to Handle Life’s Most Uncomfortable SituationsThe Awkward Human Survival Guide by Adam DachisErica Elson
Published by Sterling Publishing Company, Incorporated on 2014
Genres: Etiquette, General, Humor, Reference
Pages: 159
Format: eARC
Source: edelweiss
Goodreads
four-stars

Hope for the best  . . .  but prepare for the worst! From personality clashes and tongue-tied conversations to all those painfully embarrassing moments, The Awkward Human Survival Guide offers a roadmap through life's most uncomfortable situations. Humorously and smartly written by two popular bloggers who've lived through it all, it explains how to call out a friend's BS, handle that accidentally blurted “I love you,” confront a kitchen thief at work, and much, much more!

My Review 2

I first read this because it was written by some of my favorite bloggers. Then I thought I have lots of awkward moments maybe this book will have some useful tips for me.

This book actually provides a lot of tips on how to survive the most embarrassing stuff. I thought I had some really awkward and embarrassing moments but after reading this book I have decided that I have lived a really tame life. I was unaware of how many awkward moments you could have during sex but this book enlightened me.

You will find really good information in this book such as how to recover from putting your foot in your mouth (I do this a lot) to other situations. I read this book back in the summer and I have found use for some of the info that was covered in this book.

four-stars

Hyperbole and a Half

Posted November 11, 2014 by Hillary in book review / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781451666175
Hyperbole and a HalfHyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
Published by Simon and Schuster on 2013-10-29
Genres: Adult, Biography & Autobiography, Comic Strips & Cartoons, Comics & Graphic Novels, Form, General, Humor, Nonfiction, Personal Memoirs, Topic
Pages: 384
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

FROM THE PUBLISHER:Every time Allie Brosh posts something new on her hugely popular blog Hyperbole and a Half the internet rejoices. Touching, absurd, and darkly comic, Allie Brosh’s highly anticipated book Hyperbole and a Half showcases her unique voice, leaping wit, and her ability to capture complex emotions with deceptively simple illustrations. This full-color, beautifully illustrated edition features more than fifty percent new content, with ten never-before-seen essays and one wholly revised and expanded piece as well as classics from the website like, “The God of Cake,” “Dogs Don’t Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving,” and her astonishing, “Adventures in Depression,” and “Depression Part Two,” which have been hailed as some of the most insightful meditations on the disease ever written. Brosh’s debut marks the launch of a major new American humorist who will surely make even the biggest scrooge or snob laugh. We dare you not to. FROM THE AUTHOR:This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative—like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it—but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. So I decided to just make a list of things that are in the book:PicturesWordsStories about things that happened to meStories about things that happened to other people because of meEight billion dollars*Stories about dogsThe secret to eternal happiness**These are lies. Perhaps I have underestimated my sneakiness!

My Review 2

When I first found the blog Hyperbole and a Half I thought it was brilliant. However, when she posted about her depression I finally felt that someone put into words just how I feel. I have tried to explain to people the depths of depression, but it seemed that nobody could REALLY get it.

Reading this book felt like I was talking to a kindred soul. She explains herself honestly and with humour. I could so relate to so many things that she said. She explains how she KNOWS what she is doing is stupid but she couldn’t seem to find a way out.

One of the things that really cracked me up was when she talked about deciding to do laundry but only made it as far as her couch then let it sit for weeks. I thought that only happned to me. I felt better reconizing myself in this book. If you want an honest raw look into what depression is then read this book.

five-stars

Book Review: He Texted

Posted November 6, 2014 by Hillary in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

My Review

I have to be honest. I requested this book because I heard that It was in the same vein as He’s Just Not That Into You. At 21 I thought it was a great book. However I think at 34 I am a completely different person. I wanted to like this book but I have out grown stuff like this. It was entertaining to say the least but at 34 I am not the kind of person to wonder what he meant by this or this or blah blah blah. HOWEVER if I was still 21 I would have given this book 5 stars.

I really think that this book depends on where you are at in your life stage. If you are a teenager or in your 20’s go for it but for people who don’t wonder what a text means or why that hot guy wont friend you on Facebook then skip this book.

one-star

Review:Squirrel Seeks Chipmunks

Posted October 18, 2011 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

seeks chipmunks

From Goodreads:

Featuring David Sedaris’s unique blend of hilarity and heart, this new collection of keen-eyed animal-themed tales is an utter delight. Though the characters may not be human, the situations in these stories bear an uncanny resemblance to the insanity of everyday life.

In “The Toad, the Turtle, and the Duck,” three strangers commiserate about animal bureaucracy while waiting in a complaint line. In “Hello Kitty,” a cynical feline struggles to sit through his prison-mandated AA meetings. In “The Squirrel and the Chipmunk,” a pair of star-crossed lovers is separated by prejudiced family members.

My review: I got this from the library because I loved David Sedris older work. I was unaware that this was a collection of convoluted fairy tales. I was a bit disappointed if only because it was different than what I  originally anticipated.

Once I got into the stories though I could see how the related to his older work. Those familiar with his previous stories will be able to pin point what he is referring to in this book.

As long as you don’t go in expecting his usual stories about his life and prepare yourself for a sort of fairy tales you should like this book.

five-stars

When You Are Engulfed in Flames

Posted February 15, 2011 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

engulfed

I have read most of David Sedris earlier work and loved them . So I was excited to pick up this one.

However this book I do not feel represents his best work. The essays were not as snarky or as funny.In his earlier work he is gifted in bring out the humor of almost any situation. During the time I read “Engulfed in Flames” I kept waiting for the funny to kick in but it never did.

The essay themselves cover the usual gambit from his family to his health. There was a essay on how and where he quit smoking. I felt that that essay should had been rife with his usual snarky attire but alas it was almost boring.

This brings me to my question. If an author earlier work is more funny or more entertaining than his current one, does that mean that his current book is somehow less than an earlier one?

I mean, if I had picked up this one first I might have said this was a good book. But since I read Naked first, I know this is just so so for him. I am uneasy giving it a lesser rating just because of that. What is your thoughts on this?

five-stars

Candy Freak

Posted October 20, 2010 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

I have to be honest. This book made me hungry reading it. On every sugar infested page there were mouth watering descriptions of various candies. The way he described them I could almost taste them. I had to make several trips to the store to stock up on candies. Not good for my diet.
The author Steve Almond (his last name is a testament to his love of candy I think ,and yes it is his real last name) is a self professed candy freak who “has eaten a piece of candy every day of his life”  and decided to see how the “underbellies” of the candy trade were doing. There are the “big three’’ of the candy trade then there is the small independently owned candy factories.
Almond visits  various independent candy factories. He tours the factories and he gives accounts of what it is like. I had to admit at times I was jealous of all the free candy he received. Almond goes into glorious detail of various candy bars. It was almost as good as being there.
Of the various candies I am to young to know of any expect the goo goo clusters since I am from the south.
I loved his humor. It is sprinkled out in appropriate dosage. Even when he was writing about his brief period with depression he still conveyed it in a way that made the reader feel that it was not all that bad and hey he got free candy!
There were even some facts that I did not know before i read this book. For example, candy companies have to pay a shelving fee to have their candies displayed in stores. An independent candy company cant compete against the “big three’ so they have to find alterative avenues like the dollar store. That explains why you see the same candies again and again in almost every store you go to.
There was also a history of candy making that I found fascinating. I now know that my love for milk chocolate is because the big three use milk chocolate so that what you taste most of the time. It is what your taste buds grow accustomed to. If however we were to acquire the taste of real chocolate then according to the “experts” we would have a much more distinguished palate.
This little book provides an entertaining and insightful look at the candy making industry. Just be sure that you have plenty of candy while you are reading this.

five-stars