Source: Scribed

Book Review: White Hot Truth: Clarity for Keeping It Real on Your Spiritual Path from One Seeker to Another

Posted July 17, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 1 Comment

ISBN: 9780997651409
Book Review: White Hot Truth: Clarity for Keeping It Real on Your Spiritual Path from One Seeker to AnotherWhite Hot Truth by Danielle LaPorte
Published by VIRTUONICA on May 16th 2017
Genres: Self-Help, General, Self-Help, Personal Growth, Happiness, Motivational & Inspirational, Spiritual
Pages: 264
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Has your self-help become self-criticism? A wise and often hilarious exploration of the conflicts between spiritual aspiration and the compulsion to improve, from Oprah Super Soul 100 member, Danielle LaPorte. Like a wise girlfriend you can totally relate to, Danielle cheerleads you to own your wisdom and self-worth by having a good laugh (and maybe a good cry) at the ways you've been trying to improve on your self-improvement. Rooted in compassion, feminism, and spiritual activism White Hot Truth is an intimate and (hilariously) relatable account of self-help tales gone wrong, and very right. If you love Brene Brown and Liz Gilbert's authenticity, and Marianne Williamson's strong spirit, you'll adore how Danielle lays bare "Boundaries for spiritual people"; the "Discipleshit" that happens when we give our power away; a "Soul-perspective" on suffering; "over tolerance" and "foolish compassion" in relationships, sneaky self-loathing; spiritual glamour. And in her poetic and brazen way, she brings it home with the hottest truth of all: You are your own guru.

As anyone who knows me knows I am a HUGE fan of Danielle Laporte. I stumbled on her about three years a go when I first read the Disiaire Map which broke me into a million pieces. Finally, I thought someone who GETS it. I am always nervous when a new book by a favorite author comes out. I mean will THIS be the book that flops? Has their magic run out? I found this on Scribed and I started to read and OMG this is her BEST book so far.

Think that it helps that I too am a New Age self-help junkie. I mean when my depression first hit this year I delayed in getting help cause maybe I was just working on some stuff. I was and am, but I also needed professional help, and I think that is where people like me run into problems we want to do it all ourselves, and sometimes we just need someone with the right degrees to point us in the right direction.

And Danelle GETS it she has been through therapy, worked with energy healers and the like. I love how she says that we need to craft our course of action to a program that fits US as a person.

I also learned a lot from this book. Like to stay away from shit you don’t fully understand. She tells of her stone story where she had some sacred stones in her apartment, and they started doing weird shit to her. She admits that she had no clue what they did exactly and thus ran into problems. Headaches that wouldn’t go away, a lump on her forehead among other things. People told her it was the stones, but she dismissed it til she no longer could. She finally got rid of them, and all the wired stuff went away also. That is an important lesson to be learned here if you don’t know 10000 percent how something works and can control it then stay far far far away. Power can be useful, but it can also be evil.

One major thing that I learned in this book is that there is something called a Functional Dr. I looked it up ad what do you know they have a clinic thingie at Cleveland Clinic. I am thinking about making an appoint if the take my insurance. The best that I understand it is that it is where East meets West and during my time in Africa I can tell you that unless you have Malaria or something that their traditional meds work a damn lot better than some of the shit that I have been given by traditional Dr’s. In fact apart from my audiologist and my shrink I try and stay far far away from Dr’s. You go in sick then you come out ten times sicker. My friend wasn’t feeling well, and she thought she just had bad allergies or something turns out she had Cancer. I have had several other friends who have had similar experiences.  And the shit traditional  Drs give you mostly just ends up making things worse. My mom has had antibiotics so much she has to take SUPER antibiotics when she gets sick now. I just wonder what she is gonna do when she becomes resistant to THAT.  Every time I felt bad in Cameroon, I would drink ginger, and that works soo much better than Zofran without making you sleep for 48 hours straight. Hmmph

I also like the chapter explaining what it is that everyone does. Like the aforementioned Functional Dr., I learned some neat things. Like what an energy worker is and how to use I love stuff like this so learning all of this is right up my alley. I also love how she keeps it real. There is no superiority complex with her that i have seen in other spiritual self-help junkies.

 

five-stars

Book Review:What’s Best Next: How the Gospel Transforms the Way You Get Things Done by Matt Perman

Posted July 5, 2017 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Hi!! This post contains affiliate links. If you use them to purchase something you will help support this blog at no extra cost to you! Thank you for your support!.

ISBN: 9780310494225
Book Review:What’s Best Next: How the Gospel Transforms the Way You Get Things Done by Matt PermanWhat's Best Next by Matt Perman
Published by Zondervan on February 21st 2014
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, Professional Growth
Pages: 256
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

Do Work That Matters
Productivity isn't just about getting more things done. It's about getting the right things done--the things that count, make a difference, and move the world forward. In our current era of massive overload, this is harder than ever before. So how do you get more of the right things done without confusing mere activity for actual productivity?
When we take God's purposes into account, a revolutionary insight emerges. Surprisingly, we see that the way to be productive is to put others first--to make the welfare of other people our motive and criteria in determining what to do (what's best next). As both the Scriptures and the best business thinkers show, generosity is the key to unlocking our productivity. It is also the key to finding meaning and fulfillment in our work.
What's Best Next offers a practical approach for improving your productivity in all areas of life. It will help you better understand:
* Why good works are not just rare and special things like going to Africa, but anything you do in faith even tying your shoes.
* How to create a mission statement for your life that actually works.
* How to delegate to people in a way that actually empowers them.
* How to overcome time killers like procrastination, interruptions, and multitasking by turning them around and making them work for you.
* How to process workflow efficiently and get your email inbox to zero every day.
* How your work and life can transform the world socially, economically, and spiritually, and connect to God's global purposes.
By anchoring your understanding of productivity in God's purposes and plan, What's Best Next will give you a practical approach for increasing your effectiveness in everything you do.

I first heard about the book on an ElleChat, and I was all like I MUST READ IT AND BECOME MORE GOLDY PRODUCTIVE.
I have to be honest at first I was kinda irritated when he spent the first half of the book telling that we don’t NEED to be productive to have God’s love. I was all like DUH, but then I thought about it, and a few people came to mind that I would like to shove this book under their noses and be all like SEEEEE….
Then I read on, and I came across one of the best explanations of Justification that I have read in my life. And I have read many. The way this author explains it though blows every other way I have heard it described out of the water. Seriously this man is a genius. For that reason alone I was all ready to buy a bunch of books and pass then on to all of the “legalistic” Christians I know. If only I had that much money.
Then I read on. I could sympathize with the author because I hit the same kind of “snags” that he did wit the Getting Things Done Method. All this time I thought it was just me and that I was too stupid to have a “mind like water, ” but nope it seems that many other people had the same issues that I had faced. That alone made me feel better.
Then we get to the part of the book where he gives us is a way of overcoming the issues that trip so many of us up in the GTD method. I don’t want to give alllll the details away because I want people to buy the book cause believe me this is a book worth buying and keeping near you. I will tell you this much, this man is a genius for coming up with the method that he did. I have implanted it into my workflow, and it had helped me tremendously.
One thing I was glad to have read was that it takes other people a couple of hours of writing or working on something to get into the flow. I had thought since I had read the book ‘Flow” that I was just not great with whatever I was doing and I lacked that something that people talk about when they are in their sweet zone. It turns out I was giving up too soon. He explained that creatives need long stretches of time to work on things and to reach that sweet spot. I had previously only allocated 2 to three hours a day for writing. After reading this, however, I sectioned off whole days just to write. No editing, nothing like that. Just pure unadulterated pouring of words on the page. I can finally say that I have discovered my sweet spot. It turns out that all these years all I had been doing was a warm up and not the actual sport.
Truthfully I feel that this is a book that everyone should read. If you are not a Christian, you can skip over the first part and just read about his methodology. It is genius. It takes GTD to whole new levels. If you are at ll interested in maximizing your productivity, then get this book ASAP!
five-stars

Book Review: The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart Tolle

Posted September 9, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ISBN: 9781577314806
Book Review: The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment by Eckhart TolleThe Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle
Published by Namaste Pub. on 2004
Genres: Inspiration & Personal Growth, Spirituality, General
Pages: 235
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
four-stars

It's no wonder that The Power of Now has sold over 2 million copies worldwide and has been translated into over 30 foreign languages. Much more than simple principles and platitudes, the book takes readers on an inspiring spiritual journey to find their true and deepest self and reach the ultimate in personal growth and spirituality: the discovery of truth and light. In the first chapter, Tolle introduces readers to enlightenment and its natural enemy, the mind. He awakens readers to their role as a creator of pain and shows them how to have a pain-free identity by living fully in the present. The journey is thrilling, and along the way, the author shows how to connect to the indestructible essence of our Being, "the eternal, ever-present One Life beyond the myriad forms of life that are subject to birth and death." Featuring a new preface by the author, this paperback shows that only after regaining awareness of Being, liberated from Mind and intensely in the Now, is there Enlightenment.

my review

 

 

I had read A new Earth and loved it so much that I just had to read more by this authour. I hate to say it, but I did like this as much as I liked A New Earth. However, this is not to say that I disliked this book. I feel that it offers a lot of good insights. Eckhart Tolle explains that the best way to have happiness and enlightenment is to live in the now. I admit it SOUNDS easy, but it was hard to wrap my head around this concept. I keep thinking of the future and what it will bring etc. Eckhart Tolle says this will bring anxiety and I admit I do feel anxious. Ever since I have read this I have tried to follow this. Every time I catch myself thinking about the past or present I remind myself that there is only now and what I have at this moment is enough.

 

Eckhart Tolle spent two years living on park benches prior to writing this book living in the now. I wish I could experience such transmittal joy. Maybe if I try hard enough I can. I have no idea. I did not notice how insane my brain could make me before reading this book. I have a habit of going through things over and over in my mind. I was wondering as I read this book if that is why I have anxiety so bad. Cause I keep worrying about stuff that is in the past or future.

The one thing that I did not like about this book was the question and answer format. A New Earth was written like a typical non-fiction book. The Power of now is written in a question and answer format. I felt that it did not go deeply into any one explanation in the book. Other than that thought I felt that it was a good book with a good message.

 

 

four-stars

Book Review: Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin

Posted August 4, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 0060594667
Book Review: Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom FranklinCrooked Letter, Crooked Letter by Tom Franklin
Published by William Morrow on October 5th 2010
Pages: 274
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Goodreads

Tom Franklin's narrative power and flair for characterization have been compared to the likes of Harper Lee, Flannery O'Connor, Elmore Leonard, and Cormac McCarthy.
Now the Edgar Award-winning author returns with his most accomplished and resonant novel so far; an atmospheric drama set in rural Mississippi. In the late 1970s, Larry Ott and Silas "32" Jones were boyhood pals. Their worlds were as different as night and day: Larry, the child of lower-middle-class white parents, and Silas, the son of a poor, single black mother. Yet for a few months the boys stepped outside of their circumstances and shared a special bond. But then tragedy struck: Larry took a girl on a date to a drive-in movie, and she was never heard from again. She was never found and Larry never confessed, but all eyes rested on him as the culprit. The incident shook the county— and perhaps Silas most of all. His friendship with Larry was broken, and then Silas left town.
More than twenty years have passed. Larry, a mechanic, lives a solitary existence, never able to rise above the whispers of suspicion. Silas has returned as a constable. He and Larry have no reason to cross paths until another girl disappears and Larry is blamed again. And now the two men who once called each other friend are forced to confront the past they've buried and ignored for decades.

why I read this book

This has been on my TBR for ages. I was having a crappy day and wanted a book that would transport me to another time and place. Plus I had heard good things about it.

my review

This book did take my mind off my troubles that day. I was born and raised in the South, and I grew up in the 80’s. Things had improved SOME  from when this story takes place but not a lot. I was drawn into the story, and it was beliviable. It takes place in the 70’s in rural Mississippi and is about two friends and crime that was committed. It alternates between flashbacks from when they were kids to when they were adults. A woman vanished, and  Scary Larry is blamed. We are not given all the details at the beginning so the mystery unfolds. It talks of past sins and how it is passed on from generation to generation.

I could relate to Larry. He is a bookworm and is viewed as an oddity in his community.  He seems to have been undone by the crime that is the main event of this book. Slowly we learn the back story, and the characters come to life. I felt that this was an accurate portrayal of the south. There are many people who try and cover up the sins of the south and it always seems fake and contrived.

Not all hope is lost, though. In the end, there is also redemption.  Maybe not in the way we would like to think of it but given the period, and the people involved it felt right. I have to admit I was hoping for a stronger ending but when I reflected upon the whole book, I realized that it was an almost perfect ending. It also gave me hope that even in the darkest times when it seems that all hope is lost that somewhere there is some salvation in every situation. Which is what I needed to hear on that day.

This was an excellent book for my day of book therapy.

Book Review: Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God by Francis Chan, Danae Yankoski

Posted July 28, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781434768513
Book Review: Crazy Love: Overwhelmed by a Relentless God by Francis Chan, Danae YankoskiCrazy Love by Francis ChanDanae Yankoski
Published by David C. Cook on 2008
Genres: Religion, Christian Life, General
Pages: 186
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
three-half-stars

God is love.  Crazy, relentless, all-powerful love.  Have you ever wondered if we're missing it?
It's crazy, if you think about it. The God of the universe--the Creator of nitrogen and pine needles, galaxies and E-minor--loves us with a radical, unconditional, self-sacrificing love. And what is our typical response? We go to church, sing songs, and try not to cuss.
Whether you've verbalized it yet or not, we all know something's wrong.
Does something deep inside your heart long to break free from the status quo? Are you hungry for an authentic faith that addresses the problems of our world with tangible, even radical, solutions? God is calling you to a passionate love relationship with Himself. Because the answer to religious complacency isn't working harder at a list of do's and don'ts-it's falling in love with God. And once you encounter His love, as Francis describes it, you will never be the same. Because when you're wildly in love with someone, it changes everything.
Learn more about Crazy Love at www.crazylovebook.com. Check out Francis Chan's video blog at francischanblog.blogspot.com.  

my review

I have been aching to get closer to God lately. I thought this book sounded good. It seemed like it was written by someone who is close to God and has some good words to say about it. I did not have any pre-conceived notions going into the book.

I liked it ok. It was a refreshment to the usual do this or go to hell type books that so many of my Christian friends read. It was also extreme. I am not too sure how I would feel if God told me to give away everything and do something. Yes, I have a dream of traveling and writing but to GIVE AWAY stuff and trust God? I am ashamed to admit this, but I am not sure if I have that level of confidence in God yet. That is something that I need to work on.

The book has a message of extreme love. It involves giving away stuff and things like that. Not something most of us want to hear. Many of us want to feel vindicated, or that great material blessings are on our way. This book is the opposite of that. For me, it was a hard book to swallow as it pointed out all my weak spots. Then again that is good as I can now work on them.

it-was-ok

three-half-stars

Book Review:Blog, Inc.: Blogging for Passion, Profit, and to Create Community by Joy Deangdeelert Cho, Meg Mateo Ilasco

Posted June 30, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781452107202
Book Review:Blog, Inc.: Blogging for Passion, Profit, and to Create Community by Joy Deangdeelert Cho, Meg Mateo IlascoBlog, Inc. by Joy Deangdeelert ChoMeg Mateo Ilasco
Published by Chronicle Books on September 19th 2012
Genres: Blogs, Business & Economics, Computers, Entrepreneurship, Interactive & Multimedia, Small Business, Web
Pages: 183
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Goodreads
three-stars

With roughly 95,000 blogs launched worldwide every 24 hours (BlogPulse), making a fledgling site stand out isn't easy. This authoritative handbook gives creative hopefuls a leg up. Joy Cho, of the award-winning Oh Joy!, offers expert advice on starting and growing a blog, from design and finance to overcoming blogger's block, attracting readers, and more. With a foreword from Grace Bonney of Design*Sponge plus expert interviews, this book will fine-tune what the next generation of bloggers shares with the world.Learn how to: - Design your site - Choose the right platform - Attract a fan base - Finance your blog - Maintain work/life balance - Manage comments - Find content inspiration - Overcome blogger's block - Choose the right ads - Develop a voice - Protect your work - Create a media kit - Leverage your social network - Take better photographs - Set up an affiliate program - Partner with sponsors - Build community - Go full-time with your blog - And more!

why I read this book

I am always looking for books that will up my blogging game. I love the Oh Joy blog, so I thought the book would be a good idea to get to know how she does blog stuff.my review I was slightly disappointed in this book. This book is ment for beginning bloggers. I already knew all of the information that this book had. I kept reading on to see if it had any more new info for me, but it didn’t. If you don t know how to set up a blog and stuff, then this book will show you how. It goes in depth in how to set up a blog and hosting among other stuff you need to know. It is written in a fun informal way that will appeal to readers. I did like the way she showcased other blogs. I found a few more to add to my reader this way, but overall this book did not reall teach me anything new.

it-was-ok

three-stars

Book Review:My So-Called Freelance Life: How to Survive and Thrive as a Creative Professional for Hire by Michelle Goodman

Posted June 6, 2015 by Hillary in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review:My So-Called Freelance Life: How to Survive and Thrive as a Creative Professional for Hire by Michelle GoodmanMy So-called Freelance Life by Michelle Goodman
Published by Seal Press on 2008
Genres: Business & Economics, Careers, General
Pages: 225
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Goodreads
five-stars

Tired of clocking in and losing out? Want to pursue creative, fulfilling work on your own time and also make a living in the process? My So-Called Freelance Life is a how-to guidebook for women who want to avoid the daily grind and turn their freelance dreams into reality. Michelle Goodman, author of The Anti 9-to-5 Guide and self-proclaimed former “wage slave,” offers tips, advice, how-to’s, and everything else a woman needs to pursue a freelance career. Confused as to whether you should tell your clients that the odd gurgling sound during a conference call is emanating from the infant sleeping on your shoulder? Goodman answers all of the unusual questions that may arise for women exploring the freelance world. Far more than your normal business guidebook, My So-Called Freelance Life blends candid, humorous anecdotes from a wide variety of freelancers with Goodman’s own personal experiences as a creative worker for hire. Whether you’re a freelance first-timer or a seasoned creative professional, copyediting queen or web guru, My So-Called Freelance Life is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in freelancing.

read book

I have started to take my freelancing career very seriously this year, and I was interested in someone else take on how they had a successful freelancing career.

My Review 2

I loved the tone of this book. It felt as if the authour was an old friend telling how she made her freelancing career work. I found lots of useful tools in this book. Things that I didn’t even think about like timing yourself so that you know that you have enough time to finish all of your work. Since reading that I have been timing myself with Toggl and some things amazed me. I thought that I worked fast, but some things take me longer than others. Luckily I have not had to miss any deadlines but it has made me more aware of how long certain tasks take me.

This is a 101 kind of book. Experienced freelancers might not find a lot to take away from this book, but if you are just starting out this is chock full of information. I am the only one of my friends who I know is freelancing so this kind of book is helpful for me. At first I struggled but after reading a few books such as this one I found my footing so to speak and have been doing better. If you are just starting out, I highly recommend this book.

loved-it

five-stars

Hyperbole and a Half

Posted November 11, 2014 by Hillary in book review / 0 Comments

ISBN: 9781451666175
Hyperbole and a HalfHyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
Published by Simon and Schuster on 2013-10-29
Genres: Adult, Biography & Autobiography, Comic Strips & Cartoons, Comics & Graphic Novels, Form, General, Humor, Nonfiction, Personal Memoirs, Topic
Pages: 384
Format: ebook
Source: Scribed
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads
five-stars

FROM THE PUBLISHER:Every time Allie Brosh posts something new on her hugely popular blog Hyperbole and a Half the internet rejoices. Touching, absurd, and darkly comic, Allie Brosh’s highly anticipated book Hyperbole and a Half showcases her unique voice, leaping wit, and her ability to capture complex emotions with deceptively simple illustrations. This full-color, beautifully illustrated edition features more than fifty percent new content, with ten never-before-seen essays and one wholly revised and expanded piece as well as classics from the website like, “The God of Cake,” “Dogs Don’t Understand Basic Concepts Like Moving,” and her astonishing, “Adventures in Depression,” and “Depression Part Two,” which have been hailed as some of the most insightful meditations on the disease ever written. Brosh’s debut marks the launch of a major new American humorist who will surely make even the biggest scrooge or snob laugh. We dare you not to. FROM THE AUTHOR:This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative—like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it—but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. So I decided to just make a list of things that are in the book:PicturesWordsStories about things that happened to meStories about things that happened to other people because of meEight billion dollars*Stories about dogsThe secret to eternal happiness**These are lies. Perhaps I have underestimated my sneakiness!

My Review 2

When I first found the blog Hyperbole and a Half I thought it was brilliant. However, when she posted about her depression I finally felt that someone put into words just how I feel. I have tried to explain to people the depths of depression, but it seemed that nobody could REALLY get it.

Reading this book felt like I was talking to a kindred soul. She explains herself honestly and with humour. I could so relate to so many things that she said. She explains how she KNOWS what she is doing is stupid but she couldn’t seem to find a way out.

One of the things that really cracked me up was when she talked about deciding to do laundry but only made it as far as her couch then let it sit for weeks. I thought that only happned to me. I felt better reconizing myself in this book. If you want an honest raw look into what depression is then read this book.

five-stars